We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location, Value for Money, Nice rooms.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shelsta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shelsta
Ranked #39 of 202 Calangute B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Value for Money, Nice rooms.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I've stayed in Shelsta twice. Its a really nice hotel with a superb location - very close to the beach, and Titos road.

There is a 24 hours bar & restaurant 'Baga Deck' just in front of the hotel, so you'll never have to worry about food and drinks - even at 4:00 am.

The owner Ms. Sheila is a very nice lady, always gives you a warm welcome.

Rooms are relatively small but definitely an excellent value for money proposition.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RavishChhabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Shelsta is one the best options when the agenda is to get soaked on the beach. Neat, clean and very warm. The place is bursting with energy, the staff is very welcoming and the stay is near perfect!
The place is beautifully kept, its full bloom garden is the prettiest sight. One can spend all day reading in their garden and not get bored of it.
The rooms are nicely kept and are worth every penny spent. Had a great time in goa!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarimaGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed in an AC room with a balcony last early this year. The location is ideal , located between baga and calangute, and the rooms are clean and medium sized. There is adequate hot water in the shower, and the ac is decently effective. The garden is lovely. There's Baga Deck right across the road from the guesthouse which is open 24 hours and provided for all irregular meal timings! Planning to stay here again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDureja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice in two weeks. First found out by chance, loved it so much that stayed there in my second trip. Its right on Baga Road, 10 mins walk off the Titos and Baga beach. Has a 24 hours bar and restaurant 'Baga Deck' so never have to worry about food and drinks. Rooms are for budget travellers with an aircon, TV and small balcony. There are taxi services and bike rental services in front of the hotel. Only downside is that there are quite bit of mosquitoes and small red ants, so better carry a mosquito repellant.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DrunkenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Visited Goa during the IRFW in December 2012, we stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Since it was still quiet hot in Goa we decided to take an AC room which was very decently priced. We were suggested this place by a friend who is from Goa, and like he said it is a very cozy hotel indeed. Location is just perfect, near the market, restaurants and beach. there is a restaurant that is bang opposite to the hotel and is open 24 hrs.

The rooms were very neat and clean not even a single sign of any dust. Very well maintained and well kept place. The owner Shiela aunty was very helpful.

We will highly recommend this place to anyone who is visiting Goa and is looking for a quiet, peaceful and clean place to stay at a very decent price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank princessjournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Had a very good stay. Rooms were sparkling clean and well maintained. The owner, Ms Sheila was very kind and helpful attending to our small requests very promptly. The rooms are well appointed and the garden in the premises is very well maintained making it very tasteful and the area dust free. The lady also helped us giving small details about close by places and what to buy, where to buy and how much to spend. As it was a trip with friends we had our car and she allowed us to park it in her own house behind the hotel due to space constraint. the other add on feature was the 24 x 7 open Subway outlet next to the place.

Room Tip: Book in advance as the rooms are always full and book their deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We came across Shelsta purely by chance, we had a booking at another guest house which didn't work out and our hunt for accommodation brought us to Shelsta. We took the Deluxe AC rooms..they are very spacious. We were very happy with the cleanliness. Each room had a large private balcony, tv and fridge. They also have a restaurant attached so we had room service..and the breakfast and coffee were quite good. But the best part easily was the location, the church next door or the chemist, atm, provisional store down the road were just great. There is a very nice restaurant De Baga Deck right opposite open 24 hours which is simply perfect, as is the 24 hour Subway attached to Shelsta. Calangute beach is down the road and Shelsta is just two lanes away from the Tito's lane, so all in all the location is just awesome, in the middle of everything. But the noise doesn't reach the rooms which are tucked away from the main road by a garden so waking up late and lazy worked out all too well. Loved it here :) and will definitely stay here on the next trip to Goa. So happy with this find!!!

Room Tip: The Deluxe AC rooms are about 12" x 15" while the the Regular AC ones are about 11" x...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RaaginiLalwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.5 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#35 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Windsor Bay
Hotel Windsor Bay
#38 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Goesa Beach Resort
Vila Goesa Beach Resort
#70 of 202 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fraddie Guest House
Fraddie Guest House
#23 of 202 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shining Sand Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sea Gull
Hotel Sea Gull
#49 of 202 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelsta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelsta

Property: Hotel Shelsta
Address: Opp .Casa Goa/ Baga Deck Restaurant, | Cobravaddo, Calangute-Baga road, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shelsta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shelsta Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing