We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!”
Review of Hotel Shelsta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shelsta
Ranked #72 of 213 Calangute B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Visited Goa during the IRFW in December 2012, we stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Since it was still quiet hot in Goa we decided to take an AC room which was very decently priced. We were suggested this place by a friend who is from Goa, and like he said it is a very cozy hotel indeed. Location is just perfect, near the market, restaurants and beach. there is a restaurant that is bang opposite to the hotel and is open 24 hrs.

The rooms were very neat and clean not even a single sign of any dust. Very well maintained and well kept place. The owner Shiela aunty was very helpful.

We will highly recommend this place to anyone who is visiting Goa and is looking for a quiet, peaceful and clean place to stay at a very decent price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank princessjournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shelsta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 42 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

Had a very good stay. Rooms were sparkling clean and well maintained. The owner, Ms Sheila was very kind and helpful attending to our small requests very promptly. The rooms are well appointed and the garden in the premises is very well maintained making it very tasteful and the area dust free. The lady also helped us giving small details about close by places and what to buy, where to buy and how much to spend. As it was a trip with friends we had our car and she allowed us to park it in her own house behind the hotel due to space constraint. the other add on feature was the 24 x 7 open Subway outlet next to the place.

Room Tip: Book in advance as the rooms are always full and book their deluxe rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We came across Shelsta purely by chance, we had a booking at another guest house which didn't work out and our hunt for accommodation brought us to Shelsta. We took the Deluxe AC rooms..they are very spacious. We were very happy with the cleanliness. Each room had a large private balcony, tv and fridge. They also have a restaurant attached so we had room service..and the breakfast and coffee were quite good. But the best part easily was the location, the church next door or the chemist, atm, provisional store down the road were just great. There is a very nice restaurant De Baga Deck right opposite open 24 hours which is simply perfect, as is the 24 hour Subway attached to Shelsta. Calangute beach is down the road and Shelsta is just two lanes away from the Tito's lane, so all in all the location is just awesome, in the middle of everything. But the noise doesn't reach the rooms which are tucked away from the main road by a garden so waking up late and lazy worked out all too well. Loved it here :) and will definitely stay here on the next trip to Goa. So happy with this find!!!

Room Tip: The Deluxe AC rooms are about 12" x 15" while the the Regular AC ones are about 11" x...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RaaginiLalwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

If you are looking for clean rooms, good bathrooms with good hot showers (just what you need after a day at the beach), then Shelsta is the place. It's economical too. We stayed here for 10 nights in Dec 2011. The rooms have spacious balconies where we enjoyed our morning cup of tea, everyday. We found out on the 2nd last day that aunty also provides breakfast - which was also very good.
It's conveniently located, right next to a 24 hr subway and an alleyway that leads you down to the beach. So you don't have to walk at all on the ever-crowded road!
The staff is friendly but non-interfering. Courteous.
The rooms have an option of AC / without AC. We took the one with AC, but AC wasn't really required. The rooms also come equipped with a small size fridge.
If I have to give any feedback to Aunty Sheila - I would only say that put bedside lamps to give the rooms a more complete look. But again, there won't be many people who go to Goa and want to read a book at night! That's just me.
All in all - thumbs up. We have stayed here 3 times over a period of 7-8 years. Never regretted it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rasna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Shelsta is run by Aunty Sheila Martels and her pet alsatian. Rooted at a walking distance from Both Baga & Calangute beaches and Calngute bus-stand, it is a clean and economical place, which has something for everyone: Rooms for back-packers, rooms for couples who'd like thier privacy or a bunch of friends who had a raucus night in a night-club and want to sleep late into the day without being disturbed. Right next door is a church which lends you a rare glimpse into the real Goan life on early Sunday mornings, when the street seizes to be touristy and returns to its roots. 10 mins' drive away are multiple super-stores and a classy spa. A 24 hour (season only) Subway right outside and a 24-hr Chemist and utility store just down the road make it very convenient to stay in all seasons.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anibaddh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LizaTikhonova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Владислав М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.7 mi away
Adamo The Bellus Goa
Adamo The Bellus Goa
#15 of 116 in Calangute
502 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anjuna
610 reviews
24.1 mi away
Joecons Beach Resort
Joecons Beach Resort
#3 of 15 in Benaulim
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Orritel Village Square
Orritel Village Square
#4 of 66 in Anjuna
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zostel Goa
Zostel Goa
#1 of 236 in Calangute
349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Veronica Guest House
Veronica Guest House
#26 of 213 in Calangute
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelsta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelsta

Address: Opp .Casa Goa/ Baga Deck Restaurant, | Cobravaddo, Calangute-Baga road, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range: $29 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shelsta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shelsta Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing