We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent thai food”

Oriental Thai-European Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 410 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Decent thai food”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We visited this restaurant mainly for thai food and were not disappointed. However the food could not be rated as top class.The staff were very decent and the prices were also reasonable. Calangute being a very crowded tourist area the quality of food and services were reasonably good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmotpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    53
    13
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“NO! Not for us”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Extremely disappointing, I have been meaning to come to this place for years now as the reviews are always good.
The food service and cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired, we wont be back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry2244, Manager at Oriental Thai-European Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thanks Sir. Just now we are a bid helpless since we do not remember you and there is nothing specific in your critic. (All cannot be so bad - otherwise the majority of the other reviews are mistakes). Up to now in this Season we had only 2 issues. One Problem was with a drunken Scandinavian couple and the other one with a “professional” couple who want to avoid payment. Both cannot be you. We have no doubt that you have been in our Restaurant, but we are very sensitive about a critic (Let´s say the “Alarm Bottom” is going on) and we take everything serious. To our knowledge you did you not complain inside the restaurant? If somebody is so disappointed we wonder why there was no complain at the spot from your side in order to give us the chance to rectify? Thanks, anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant !!!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Visited this restaurant last week reading good reviews at Tripadvisor. Disappointing experience to say the least. This restaurant is inside Hotel Mira @ Calangute.

Menu Card for both food and wine have two full page photo of one lady and one gentleman respectively. Former explaining the ROYAL Thai cuisine and later as an x-barman who served the british royal family it seems.

Ambiance : Nothing royal about it, inside Hotel Mira's entrance, half of the place is open roof and other half is covered.

Staff : No uniform, in shorts and t-shirts, though attended very quickly as we were the only guest for lunch at ~ 01:30pm.

Food : pathetic w.r.t. quality and quantity, priced well.

There are many fantastic Thai restaurant in India, this is the worst for any kind of restaurant. Bad food both in terms of taste and quantity, no ambiance.

Worst part was yet to come though ... by the time we finished our food, a street dog was waiting at our table... so much for Thai Royal ! Don't blame the dog though, he must have guessed that he might get a good lunch keeping in view the quality of food at this restaurant. Please refer attached pic. Even the beach shacks ensure that no dogs are near to customers table.

Snapshot : If you want to waste your time, money and holiday lunch/dinner, please visit this restaurant. There are far better Thai/other restaurants available in Goa.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank LongDrive111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry2244, Manager at Oriental Thai-European Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Sir

Thanks for the review. Please note at the day time we serve mostly for the pool customer and all is casual. The Royal Thai Cuisine means a way of preparing the food and has nothing to do with the ambience. Food? As far as we know you shared a main course and did not complain at all. But since you shared the dish the quantity may not be enough? In the evening there are no dogs in the restaurant and the ambience with plenty of plants everywhere, candles and open fire in the pool, water games and classical music is appreciated by the most of our customer. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“enjoyed it”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Not the best royal starter we thought but fantastic thai green curry and nice fillet steak.
The staff were lovely as well

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Calangute.”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

It is the best restaurant in Calangute, go and you go back time and time again. I am a vegetarian and my partner is a steak lover, so caters for all tastes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jools490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Thai-European Restaurant also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Oriental Thai-European Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing