We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit expensive but worth it”

Oriental Thai-European Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 410 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a bit expensive but worth it”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

delicious food, service ok. a bit more expensive for goa but worth it for a good meal. lobster and steak a delight.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanne1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry2244, Manager at Oriental Thai-European Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Hanne

Thanks for the review. Seeing your other reviews we come away pretty good. Please allow us one comment to the prices. We like to pay our staff properly and they return this with quality. We try to avoid compromises – which is coming not cheap as well.
It´s may be like the old saying from the south Wales Shepherd:
Live is beautiful – but expensive. Of course you can get it cheaper – but then is not so beautiful any more..
thanks and see you again4
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    53
    13
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Food!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just come back from Goa and my friends (a group of 14) were all staying at Molly Malones so this is how we came across this jewel of a restaurant.
The Molly malones irish feel doesnt really lend itself to the thai restaurant - but its only the first year the restaurant has been inside Mollys, so maybe changes will be made to make the restaurant more authentic.

The food was incredible definately on par with any Thai restaurant back in the UK.
Its a bit more pricey than other restaurants in Calangute but definately worth it.
One of girls in our party is Thai and she said the food was amazing and cooked exactly as she would cook it or how it would be done in Thailand. The continental choice was also good - the steaks were the best i have eaten in Calangute.

On my birthday there was a party of 16 of us and they laid the tables out with petals and a lovely table arrangement of flowers. The food again was fantastic and the menu had enough choice for everyone to find something they liked.

Our group ate here more than a couple of times on a 2 week holiday in Goa - so that just shows how good the food was.

I would like to say thank you to Bernard and keep up the good work! Hope to return soon x
and thank you to Leslie who got me a birthday cake x

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry2244, Manager at Oriental Thai-European Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Hamilton
Thanks for the lines. We remember you very well and wish we have more customers like you and your friends. We agree with your friend from Thailand. We are 100% authentic since our head chef was personally trained from one of the best international chefs for Royal Thai cuisine. We remember your birthday party of course. If my memory serves me right that has been 14 steaks by 16 customers. Hope to see you next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tai Restaurant”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Superb service, nice food,quite location, value for money tucked away in Molly Malones there are some interesting pics on the walls only fools and horses and dads army

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davedlb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

excellent authentic food in very nice surroundings the service was excellent with good entertainment and very reasonably priced

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PDREDRUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Oriental never fails to deliver. The restaurant has moved so it's worth finding it. Thai food to die for but also deservedly famous for their amazingly tender and tasty steaks. We make a point of always eating here, several times when we visit Goa. Can't wait for next year!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Thai-European Restaurant also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Oriental Thai-European Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing