We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up with the Stars!”
Review of Under The Stars - CLOSED

Under The Stars
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not Up with the Stars!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Very average, and to be honest a bit disappointing. Having seen that Under the Stars had good reviews on here in the past, we decided to pay a visit, but we found it wasn't as good as it was made out to be.

The food was so, so and the service poor. The man who appeared to be the owner clearly didn't trust his waiter as he came over an checked what we had ordered. Then at the end of our meal we asked the owner for the bill, he went and sat at the bar and did nothing! We had to ask the waiter again for the bill after being ignored for ten minutes.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guyj2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    28
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, but service needs a pep talk”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Came on a Friday evening for dinner for two. Was immediately seated at a table near the open kitchen and tandoor oven. Also, near musician belting out karaoke tunes.

Food was nothing short of great. Our starters, prawn poppers (melt in your mouth good) and calamari rings (exactly how they should be) arrived quickly, as did our first round of drinks. I had to then look for a waiter for a long time to try and get another round of drinks in. One was chatting to a couple at another table. The others were at the bar area or watching cricket on the TV. It was not a busy night.

Our mains, two different types of fish tikka, were stunning. Complex spiciness, with fish cooked to perfection, served with a lovely fresh-tasting naan. Lovely.

Bottom line: Go for the food, which is brilliant, but be aware you'll have to listen to fairly loud singing, and maybe not get served as quickly as a place this good would warrant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notkaiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Under_the_Stars_Goa, Owner at Under The Stars, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hello.
Thank you for your review and your input. We will take it into consideration.
Hope to see you again.
Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“nothing too much triuble food of very high quality.”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The staff were friendly and helped you choose your courses.
Nothing was too much trouble and you left yearning too return.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2561o7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Under_the_Stars_Goa, Owner at Under The Stars, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hello.
Thank you for your great review and hope to see you soon.
Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Food. A must try in Goa”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I was in Goa for a week and I spent four of those days eating at Under the Stars. The steaks and burgers are simply amazing. And the prawns..... To die for. The atmosphere was so pleasant and Carl and Sylvie, along with their staff are always ready to help. I'd definitely recommend visiting if you are ever in sunny Goa.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neilv16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Under_the_Stars_Goa, Owner at Under The Stars, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for your great review and hope to see you again.
Carl & Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fab place to hang out in Goa. Truly Under the Stars”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Under the stars truly gives you and experience to remember for a long long time. Whether its their continental stuff or authentic indian or just the beautiful music or the pleasant staff, my visit was perfect in every sense. Awesome food, great drinks, live music and most important the hosts. Carl and Silvia ensure you have a great time. They had recommendation to suit each of our needs. Our group was there for 4 days in goa and we were there every night at under the stars. Thumbs up guys you rock.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte_Rodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Under_the_Stars_Goa, Owner at Under The Stars, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for your great review and hope to see you again.
Carl & Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Under The Stars also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing