We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Rovers Return Beer Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 409 Restaurants in Calangute
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Wow! The waiters were so welcoming as we entered that we forgot the step motherly treatment we got at aggie's.The food was so gorgeous that we made this shack our permanent venue during our two wks. holiday.Worth a visit.I will definitely Recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank DaveDrummer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    18
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“totally amazing food”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

the rovers return make the best sunday roast and apple pie and custard I have ever tasted . joseph you are one of goas best chefs by far . the prawn salad is a very close second . see you next year for the 11th time

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Stella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beef Salad Butties!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I go to india for my curries,but every so often I pine for something plain, this is when we go to the Rovers for a beef salad butty,oh and chips of course. The beach is spotless and so quiet, and the other visitors to the shack are a great bunch and make you feel so welcome, thanks again Anna, Joseph and staff.

Helpful?
3 Thank flossylil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Visited this shack with friends and family 2 of whom had been twice before and had raved about it and boy we were not disappointed, we had the suckling pig and it was amazing, I'd love to know how he gets his cracking that good, sides were all delicious and served piping hot, well worth the money and will def return

Helpful?
1 Thank fiona118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtown wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect prawns”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

we first went to Joseph's shack 20 years ago when it was one of very few shacks on the beach & the food although limited then was lovely & freshly cooked we have been many times since & the food has always been good & the menu has grown with a wide range of food on offer this year we ate there a few times the Prawn cocktail on plate is to die for so tasty ! we took some friends with us who also ate there & had lobster which they said was delicious i have never had a bad meal at the rovers & have always had a very warm welcome from Joseph & his family who are lovely people . While we were there he had a group of 8 having suckling pig it looked amazing & lots of it ( Joseph actually rears the pigs himself ) the Sunday lunch was very good too . We really can't fault anything about this shack great food & wonderful genuine people

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank june f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rovers Return Beer Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Rovers Return Beer Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing