We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was our base for a Wedding in the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crystal Beach Resort By Cambay
Ranked #61 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was our base for a Wedding in the family”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed at Cambay Beach Resort which we realised later was actually known as Crystal Sands Resort (in fact most of the locals still know it as Crystal Sands and have no idea where Cambay is) so initially was a bit of a problem to locate - since we're first timers to Calangute. Had booked three rooms to accomodate my extended family who were atending a wedding in the family and later on booked another larger one as we realised the rooms were small and would have become claustrophobic on the wedding day. Getting the extra room and an upgrade as well was easy but had to do it by phone from the head office in Gandhinagar since it's now run by a Resort chain based there. Loved the pool and the location viv-a-vis the beach (the back gate opens out onto open sands whcih lead right to the beach which is around maybe 40-50 feet away. This was a welcome distraction for the kids while the adults were pre-occupied with the wedding events. The staff were pretty nice and helpful - especially the lady at the reception during the day. Rooms are basically small hotel rooms with nice fixtures. Amenities are basic. The AC in the larger room wasn't very effective and unfortunately that was the one that saw all the visits by family and friends so we were a bit upset about it - but the other rooms were smaller so the ACs were effective there. The pool was small and cosy and just about enough for our group though if all the guests in the hotel had to use it at a time I guess it would become a trifle congested. All in all a good experience though I think this sort of establishment would be best for those wishing to be out most of the day sight seeing and need a comfortable base for R & R before the next day's sight seeing. Biggest USP is the fact that it's bang on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stanleyfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jaipur
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2011

The resort is beautiful and very well maintained. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The beach is just five mts walk and that too looks like a private beach with no crowd around. The food is delicious of course a bit costly but going thru all other hotels and restaurants in north goa i found the food is expensive everywhere.The swimming pool is a nice place for kids. On the whole a nice experience though all other cambay resorts are very huge but a nice and small property in Goa is good enough.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeptimathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samalkot
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We went to the resort expecting a 5-star hotel as the gandhinagar hotel is googd and found out to be a small hotel with basic services. There was a problem with the booking on their end and instead of solving the problem the manager behaved rudely. So service is a big zero. Rest of the staff were ok. The price is very high compared to the competition.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaheshNemani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

The "deluxe" room was anything but...and only a 'higher power' enabled us to upgrade to a much better room! The a/c was inadequate and we had to resort to keeping it on even when we were out to ensure that the room was cooled sufficiently on our return. The breakfast is adequate...nothing to write home about...and our fellow guests were noisy ...nothing was done despite our complaint. Car parking is outside the hotel and the watch man does anything but watch. On our last morning the electricity disappeared...we weren't informed either why the genset didn't kick in or when the power would return...in disgust we checked out way before our scheduled time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerbob55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The first and foremost thing that attracted us to the property was its close access to Calangute Beach. The resort has a private access to the beach which is a 50m walk. Hence, its almost a personal beachfront. The food is standard and the service satisfactory. Overall it was a pleasant experience

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gujralbaljit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2010

i had a visit to cambay.
the portal shows very good pictures which are actually to trap the customers , actually the hotel is a very small hotel . i realized this when i reached. it is very interior from the main road with just 2 small boards directing to the hotel , it took the cab driver almost 45 min searching for the hotel though we were in the same area , nobody was aware of this hotel. i reached there around lunch time and my first impression was very pethetic.
dining area having only few tables with a brick roof and when i went for the lunch i found dust on the table sprinkling from the roof , the reason provided was that when the fan runs the moist roof sprinkles some dust.
entered in my room & the worst sight , cockroach inside the tea kettle , tea & sugar bags were almost 1 month old with small insects all around. worst service faced ever.
the view from the balcony was very unhealtly and unnatural .
the path to the beach is unsafe and mostly ventured by pigs and stray dogs.
the hotel was unhigenic with frequent power failures.
2nd day started on the worst note , no water in the hotel in the morning for almost 1.5 hour. i had to rush for sight seeing . finally i preferred vacating the hotel immediately and took another hotel nearby.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imtiazali_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The hotel is around 23 KM from Thivim station. According to their website it is just 16 KM which is false information.

The hotel was previously Crystal sand resort and now taken over by Cambay Hospitality.

The restaurant there is just a few tables under shade. The prices are really very high. You can get far better food near by. Location is good as it is near by Calangute beach. So lots of options of food, shopping etc.

I would rate this hotel really very low on cleanliness. The towels, glasses, stationery, toiletries etc were dirty and not worth using.

The rooms are small with unmaintained interiors and furnishings. On the first day we experienced problem with cable TV and electricity. On the second day morning there was no water in the hotel. We had to wait for an hour to get the pump repaired and fill up water tank.

The spa was closed for maintenance and restaurant service is lethargic.

The Calangute beach connected to the hotel is at distant location from main Calangute beach, is dirty and not worth visiting. The actual Calangute beach is nice though. The approach way to the beach from hotel is filthy with lots of pigs and dogs running around and is unsafe at night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mihirshah161281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Windsor Bay
Hotel Windsor Bay
#40 of 110 in Calangute
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#86 of 110 in Calangute
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#34 of 110 in Calangute
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#95 of 110 in Calangute
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santiago Beach Resort
Santiago Beach Resort
#21 of 110 in Calangute
381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Epitacio's Hotel
Epitacio's Hotel
#55 of 110 in Calangute
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Beach Resort By Cambay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Beach Resort By Cambay

Property: Crystal Beach Resort By Cambay
Address: Holiday street, Kerkar art gallery lane, Near little italy rest Gauravado, Calangute, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Beach Resort By Cambay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Crystal Beach Resort By Cambay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Beach Resort By Cambay Hotel Calangute
Crystal Beach Resort By Cambay Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing