We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Casa Severina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Severina
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Forest, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The staff is excellent -- we had an issue with the room that was assigned to us, but the resort manager, Mr. Johnson Perriera very graciously took care of that. He made sure we had a great vacation, and we enjoyed our stay in Goa. Calangute beach is nice, quiet beach and not too crowded. Loved walks at sunrise and sunset on the beach--- wide flat beach.

Room Tip: Room tip-- if you need more spacious hotel room, do not select their standard boutique size. Rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank magical123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

We are contented to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Severina. Thank you, for taking the time, to write a review.

The entire team of Casa SeVerina ,utter gratitude to you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to serve you again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    194
    29
    6
    6
See reviews for
56
357
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Calangute is about one hour,s drive from the airport. Avoid the Rental Car office which also offers taxi rides as they overcharge.Walk out of the airport and the pre- paid taxi stand is in front to the right. Beware that November and December are high season. We paid 900 rupees for the drive to Calangute.Casa Severina is situated within an enclosed property. As the main gate, guarded by a very efficient yet smiling young security guard, opens, we felt welcomed by the beauty of the garden with a fountain in the middle and the building itself.
The Managing Diector is Johnson Pereira. He is a highly capable person, adept in PR, and gentle of heart. He has forged a very good team which works very closely and together to make Casa Severina a charming , restful and peaceful place.
Formalities were completed quickly by the receptionist and we were given a room on the ground floor overlooking the swimming pool.The room was beautifully decorated with furniture reflecting the Portuguese era. The bed was large and very comfortable.The toilet was large,extremely clean and well provided.
Breakfast is from 8.30 to 10.30. The breakfast area overlooks the garden. The food was ample. We are not believers in wastefulness. The personelle at the breakfast lounge were polite and eager to serve the guests as were the young ladies who worked at Reception.It was not difficult to realize that we were dealing with people to whom Engllish is a second language.As a result, we spoke to them kindly, calmly and above all with a smile.
A problem with the safe deposit was dealt with efficiently by Reception and to our complete satisfaction.We were completely satisfied with our stay at Casa Severina and would happily recommend it to all.
airam
Sydney

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the swimming poor or the front garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airamSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mr.Juanito & Mrs. Maria,

We are enthralled with your quick comprehensive review. Thanks, for choosing Resort Casa Severina for your stay (holiday) in Goa, India.

The entire team of Casa Severina looks forward to being of service to you both again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The place is absolutely wow, everything starting from the check in, the rooms, ambiance, staff everything was just excellent.

The location is little off the main road, but that adds to the hotel advantage as you get a very peaceful stay.

The check-in was smooth and in no time we were in a different era in the truly heritage room. The room itself was spacious and opened in a private balcony. The bathroom was neat and clean. A new design with the towel everyday was amazing and always forced me to click some pics before using them. The bed was very comfy.

The only problem in the room was that the table provided is very small and it's difficult to dine in the room, if you order a couple of dishes.

The well at the entrance offers a mud pot and you can pose for some snaps. There is also a lovely fountain with fishes right behind the reception. The retro style telephones placed at the corners were a delight.

The dining area was done very tastefully and the breakfast served was very good. There is a small garden with a good fountain and chairs to sit and enjoy facing the dining area.

Elita was always there to help right from the check-in to check-out.

Overall a very good stay with memories to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viator_iter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

We, all at Resort Casa Severina, THANK YOU for staying with us and for your valuable comments; we have noted your observation and already considered.

I am pleased that you have mentioned our staff, since it encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our GUEST.

Look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for five days in November 2011. The rooms was outstanding for the price, and the service and helpfulness of the staff was second to none. The food in the restaurant in the evenings was excellent, I would highly recommend Casa Severina to anyone looking for a quiet and relaxing break.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrGrobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Dr.Grobby,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

WE, the entire Casa SeVerina Family thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward for an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for six weeks in January/February this year and loved every moment. The staff, especially Johnson, the General Manager, were very attentive and friendly. Any minor problems were dealt with speedily. Our room was very comfortable. Unlike some of the more recent visitors, we found the breakfast good - especially the Indian food. We are looking forward to a return visit in the New Year. R and M, Cumbria, UK

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R and M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

MANY THANKS for staying with us for six weeks and taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. It gives us great pleasure to share your positive feedback with our Team.

We are looking forward to welcome you both again in the year, 2013.Rest assured.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

they say 74% of the people do not sleep well when at a hotel . well, casa severina proved that , that stays a notion. lemme start with the location of the hotel- best placed. we did not have any trouble finding it. all knows St. Anthony's Chapel but i suggest that the hotel have a sign board on the road side next to the chapel to make things easier.
The check in was not so smooth. the lady at the reception did not bother to even say hello when we came in as she was busy on the phone for almost 15 min , during the time which we received face wipes nd a welcome drink. she reminded me ,after her long chat on the phone ,that we did a mistake coming in too early and that we will have to wait to check in. ( check in at 1pm, we came in at 11.30). she took our id cards and left it on the xerox copy machine and even we for got to take it back. thankfully when we got back later it was still there and she took the xerox then and gave a sheepish smile. Rest of the staff was just great ( friendly and very helpful).
while waiting , Mr. Johnson , came in to greet us. he was very particular that we had a good stay and he made sure he would do his best to help us. he got us the room as fast as he could and thoroughly apologized since we had to wait. he is the best person to ask if you want to know the places around.
now the room ( pool facing , ground floor) was quite nice. huge enough, nice and comfortable bed ( had a gr8 sleep) and like the site says, colonial style archi, yellow lights all around with the switches spread here and there. bathroom was clean and spacious. had a small prob with hot water on the second day but was rectified immediately. there is a balcony that faces the pool .
the complimentary breakfast, i must say, need a huge overhaul. very less choice and the not really on the tastier side.
all the happening places are very near from the hotel premises.
overall i must say its a great place to stay but i wish there were more managers like Mr. Johnson around. Thanks to you and you team.

pros-
location
room
nice bed

cons
desk staff
breakfast
l

Room Tip: try and get a room on the first floor, pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

We THANK YOU for taking the time, to write a review. Glad to know that you were pleased with the location, structure, rooms, facilities and the resort in general; noted your observations and have taken required action

Thanks for choosing resort Casa Severina, for your holiday in Goa; sincerely anticipate welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Casa Severina. The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from the beach. The entrance to the beach is a bit dirty with discarded bottles and some glass, but once you are past this, it's a clean enough beach to enjoy in Goa (it's not as bad as it sounds).

There are a selection of restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk which we ate in every night. However the 'hustle and bustle' of the main strip of Calangute is a bit further so would require a tuk tuk or scooter. 

The room was comfortable and the grounds around the hotel were very nice - a decent sized pool, decorative fountain out the front and a large fish pond in the main building. 

The staff were mostly friendly and helpful. The only real negative to note was the rather basic breakfast buffet. Some of the hot food was unappetizing and often cold. The staff at breakfast were also rather distant. 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on the trip advisor. We have noted your remark in reference to breakfast and assure you that we have taken corrective measures so that it does not repeat again.

Secondly, we have documented your comment in regard to entrance to the beach and forwarded to the competent authority for necessary action.

All of us at Resort Casa Severina thank you, for choosing our resort for your holiday in Goa-India.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
1.0 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 110 in Calangute
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
0.2 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#14 of 110 in Calangute
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#6 of 110 in Calangute
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#8 of 110 in Calangute
522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Severina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Severina

Property: Casa Severina
Address: Senhor Francisco Road, near St. Anthony's Chapel | Gauravaddo-Calangute-Goa, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#11 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
#11 Family Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Severina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Severina is an architectural Endeavour, conforming to the orthodoxy yet refreshing & surreal... An attempt to re-incarnate a lost glory of vernacular heritage, ethos, culture & architecture... that’s Casa Severina for you, a charming boutique retreat in Goa. This Hacienda with all its luxurious trappings is located in Calangute.This unique property is situated on a quiet street away from the clamor... The Casa is not a hotel, it is a gracious residence …an experience.Like a family house... guests are received here as a part of the family.True Goan Art de vive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Severina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Severina Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing