We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hospitality, great place to stay”
Review of Casa Severina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Severina
Ranked #11 of 119 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I chose Casa Severina after reading all those TripAdvisor reviews and I must say that within my budget it was one of the best experiences. This is my fourth trip to Goa and I always stayed in different places around Calangute-Baga and my next time, I will still go to Casa Severina.

This so-called heritage hotel is a rather new building with Portuguese architecture. The location is good - it's away from the sound but still near to the main road and just five minutes walk to Calangute beach south side. All rooms are well-appointed and have got all that amneties you look forward to - kettle, safe locker, cable TV (CRT), air conditioner, minibar, hair drier. The staff - be it t the front desk lady, the manager (Johnson Pereira), restaurant staff, bar man, the security guard, cleaner lady, room boy, driver - are extremely well behaved and polite. Food and bar items are cheaper and nice. The pool, though a bit small in size, is always clean and tidy. Another specialty is that they have provided 6 to 8 free bicycles that you can use for your short trips to ATMs or to the beach side etc. The security guard will help you with your scooter/motorbike rentals which is a cheaper and effective commuting mechanism in Goa.

If I have to write about improvement areas, I would have liked to have a better breakfast spread. Whatever they have was good, but would help if they had a few more items. Also, probably it lacked a clearly marked kitchenette in Deluxe rooms. Perhaps it's there in the suite variations. The property is small in size and amidst the residential houses. Hence if you get into your balcony, you can see others' houses which is probably not too much of a privacy issue in places like Goa.

I would recommend this property any time to Indians as well as foreigners.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edassery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 551 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

This one is WOW! Beautiful hotel. The staff are amazing. So friendly and attentive. The food was awesome. We only ate in the buffet and were never disappointed.

The property is beautifully maintained, each room has its own distinct charm and is decorated very tastefully. Very well appointed rooms with clean linen, mini bar stocked with variety of wine & beers, very clean and hygenic washrooms. There is a small, nice and very clean pool with lots of sun beds to relax.

Each member of the staff is very cordial, helpful, and gets things done for you with a broad smile. Special Thanks to Mr. Jhonson, who is always eager to help guests. He got our safe lock opened twice which got locked due to some technical snag, he came all the way from his house at 10 in the night to get it opened for us, really a very nice helpful person.

Looking forward to see you guys again in October.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaurav4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Excellent , well appointed and clean rooms. The GM Mr. Malcom D'melo extremely accomadating to all guest needs and very effecient. We had a great stay and looking foward to go back again.. thank you for the wonderful experience

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashrafmerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Along with my spouse and son, I stayed there for 4 days. Its really a good experience. Architecture of this hotel is really praiseworthy. Other facilities like pool was also mentionable. Beach was just a walking distance from hotel. Staffs were cooperative.
Breakfast quantity was good but lesser variation everyday. Few recommendations- Facilities for kids, a business center may be added to current amenities. But overall experience was great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baul_154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

we stayed 2 nights in south goa and 2 nights we booked in north goa.we wanted to stay in calangute as we were familiar with that area.so we decided to stay here after looking the ranking of this hotel on trip advisor.the hotel website gives a feeling that its a vintage property so we were very excited.first shock came when we reached the hotel ,they told us that hotel will charge 2% extra if we make payment by card.as we did not have any choice so we paid extra charges.the room was ok but hotel is located in a periphery neighbourhood.the hotel looks bigger on website.the breakfast was unimpressive and not much of choice was given.the hotel stay was expensive as compare to our other stay in goa.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikb4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

This is a gorgeous hotel and great value for money. The room was lovely and very comfortable.

The location was great (5 mins walk to the beach).

The pool was lovely to sit by all day, and we were there at the back of the season, so there was no fighting for beds (alhough I don't think that would happen in season either).

The staff were very friendly, always smiling and saying hello to you. We fell in love with the barman.

The food was ok, but with so many great restaurants on your doorstep, I would recommend that you venture out for dinner.

My only frustration with this place was the girl on reception was a bit dim, but the manager was so lovely and helpful that this did not matter.

Room Tip: They are all nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventureJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Awesome hospitality by Mr. Malcolm and his team made us feel very special. Even before we checked in.
Very well knowledged and helpful staff.
Suites spacious with appropriate amenities.
Well located...away from busy roads.
Delicious food, starting from Breakfast to Dinner.
A very delightful ambience.
In short an experience of lifetime.

Room Tip: Access to all North Goa beaches and Panjim city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhirajmhatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#8 of 119 in Calangute
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 119 in Calangute
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 119 in Calangute
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort- An AccorHotels Brand
0.6 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#4 of 119 in Calangute
1,017 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Severina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Severina

Address: Senhor Francisco Road, near St. Anthony's Chapel | Gauravaddo-Calangute-Goa, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#11 Family Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $95 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Severina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Severina is an architectural Endeavour, conforming to the orthodoxy yet refreshing & surreal... An attempt to re-incarnate a lost glory of vernacular heritage, ethos, culture & architecture... that’s Casa Severina for you, a charming boutique retreat in Goa. This Hacienda with all its luxurious trappings is located in Calangute.This unique property is situated on a quiet street away from the clamor... The Casa is not a hotel, it is a gracious residence …an experience.Like a family house... guests are received here as a part of the family.True Goan Art de vive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Severina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Severina Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing