We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raman Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Citrus Goa(Calangute)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Park Calangute Goa(Calangute)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$70
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Palms Goa(Calangute)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$83
$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
33
31
13
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
31
13
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate paradiseoff seasonsmall poolnorth goabasic hotelrooms are cleanmain roadwalking distancebeach sidecalangute beachbangshackpropertyprosmattressesconslaundry
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 92 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The good:
It is right on the beach and walking distance to the main stretch of calungute beach, without being so close you can hear it. The cottages close by the beach are nicely decorated, tho don't get a view. It is open in off season.

The bad:
Service was abominable, couldn't even manage to call us a taxi, didn't know what restaurant's might be open and didn't have phone numbers for us to call
No hot water, and room had obviously been closed up for a while as it smelt extremely musty (tho it was off season)
They didn't make up the bed, and provided only single sheets for the king size bed. I received sheets on request, but they couldn't provide large blankets
Food was average and bar wasn't stocked
Cats everywhere - including at dinner table, and used restaurant floor (which was sand) as a litter box

Won't be going back

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I travel to Goa 2 times before but this trip was definitely the best so far. Loved our Villa at Raman Goa. It's a very romantic, laid back and quaint resort in between calangute and baga. Location couldnt get better. The staff went out of the way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The rooms are spacious, cosy and we had a great night's sleep every night. Chilling at the pool and in the beautiful setting of the tresort was the perfect way to spend our days. The owner Manoj is a super cool and fantastic host. I would love to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niladry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had been to Raman Cottages last weekend with my husband. Our reaction at first, was a "wow!". And nothing after that lived upto it. Its a great property. Very nicely done. Perfect for a private stay. The cottages are very basic, clean but undoubtedly overpriced. The 'beach villa' as they mention, has absolutely no beach view. There is nothing called as 'service'. Extremely disappointing and hence I mentioned overpriced! They have a handful of staff.... Maiti, Naik and the one who greeted us at the reception... who are unnecessarily overfriendly, SMELL of alcohol when on duty and an absolute turnoff!!! The restaurant has a lovely view of the beach. Food is decent but very little variety/choice. The whole place looks shady and I would not recommend it to couples/ newly weds. Its good when your in a big group.
However, full marks to the owner of Raman's for the great property, the way he has maintained it. He surely was very helpful and kind all through the reservation/directions to the hotel episodes.
Am done with this place. Not going there again for sure. Not even when am in a big group.

Room Tip: The is no television in many rooms (incase anyone specifically needs it) The pool side cottages seemed better.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anujajoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Raman Cottage is a quaint little resort on the beach. Just about 100 mtrs. The resort is located just about half way between Calangute and Baga beach. The resort has 15 rooms and 3 cottages. The owner of resort Manoj and his family stay on the resort and his personal attention ensures great service. The staff is very courteous and provide personal attention. The resort has a small beach restaurant overlooking the beach .. or rather on the beach yet providing escape from the constant haggling hawkers on the beach shacks.

The rooms are either garden facing, pool facing or just about 3 of them beach facing. We took the beach facing rooms to avoid our young kids walking into the pool. The beach facing rooms are the best and offer privacy as well. Each rooms are tastefully designed with high ceilings, wooden furniture and neat / clean toilets.

The location is quiet good, with Baga Beach Road being 5 mins walking distance giving you easy access and ample opportunities to explore the markets.

The only thing that may bother you is noise from nearby beach disq, which sounds loud during late evenings. And yeah no fitness center.

I will highly recommend this resort to those who love being on the beach. The personal attention from staff like Maity, Naik and Manoj, the owner himself makes us want to return back again.

Room Tip: Cottages are the best choices with superior furnishings. In rooms, would recommend beach facing or pool facing. The restaurant menu is limited, but the chef will happily take orders for your choice or preference. Try the Indian style Massage by Naik. He usually would make it interesting with his interesting conversations and health tips.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayank211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

It was my first visit to Goa in the year 2007 and ever since I stay in the same resort every time I visit Goa.

The location is excellent, it is right on the Calangute-Baga Road and just 100 meters away from the beach. The quality of service is good and have a very courteous staff.

Rooms and cottages are beautifully designed with good space, clean linen and shower rooms.

Would suggest everyone to try at least once.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews