We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value..Great location”
Review of The White House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calangute
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White House
Ranked #14 of 221 Calangute B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in Whitehouse Calangute for 3 nights, 8 of us took 4 rooms. The place is 100 meters from the beach and very close to Sea Dolphin Shack which is one of the best shack of north Goa. The beach here is very nice and is almost a private beach. The rooms are clean and owners very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abhijeet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 86 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lovey clean room. Laura the manager was so helpful and very friendly. only 2 mins from the beach. sheets changed every few days and daily clean towels. padded chairs on the balcony. i had previously stayed on CSM road in Baga and was reccommended to go to the white house. beautifully decorated and spotless.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleyvalentine61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have stayed at The White House twice in the last 3 years and both experiences have been excellent. The rooms are spacious and airy with the option to have air-conditioning or not (there is an extra charge for rooms with). All rooms have ceiling fans though.
The owners - Alex and Dina- have thought of some great additions, such as decent sized fridges in each room - great for keeping large bottles of water cold and a laundry service, which, for a small charge (approx 150 rupees depending on size of load) will have your clothes cleaned and pressed in about 36 hours.
All rooms appear to have balconies too- fantastic for sitting out and watching the world go by, especially early evening.
While there is no pool - worth noting for families or people who want poolside relaxation- the beach is only about 100 yards from the main entrance of the hotel. It is also located within easy walking distance of a good variety of restaurants and bars - try Nirvana for their outdoor tandoor (6pm onwards), The Golden Eye for excellent fish or any of the many places along Holiday Street.
The White House is a clean, spacious and friendly with a fantastic attitude and atmosphere. I would highly recommend it for anyone who wants the benefits of a more relaxed environment in a central location without the negatives of the riff raff in nearby Baga.

Room Tip: Book early to get a better choice of rooms and rates. The second floor of the Blue building is my pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for four nights, Nov-Dec. The owners Dina and Alex were very friendly and helpful to me. The room was spotlessly clean and cleaned thoroughly everyday. Location is good, you fall out of the front door and you're almost on the beach. Breakfast wasn't too bad either and reasonable price, very friendly helpful guy serving too.
Had the usual powercuts but that is no fault of the guest house, overall would recommend and would be happy to stay there again.
Also there's a nice handcraft wood shop just on the way to the beach where you can pick up some good items

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

i am going back to the Whitehouse in two weeks and cannot wait.
Had a perfect three weeks there last year.
My husband, son and his wife and my five year old grandaughter stayed at the Whitehouse.
I could not fault it. Everything was perfect. Rooms good size, clean towels and sheets nfact everything very clean Ideal location, near beach, shops and lots of restaurants.
Laura and Alex and there family are lovely people, they went out of there way to make it a lovely holiday.
Always stayed in hotels but will never go back to a hotel after staying at the Whitehouse.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillreg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Absolutely fabulous, very good value for money.....Laura is extremely friendly and helpful, she keeps the whole place looking immaculate. Are room was booked very last minute and she showed us around before picking the room we liked at the right price for us. AC was quiet and functioning....better than a lot of places nearby, the decor was bright and cheery and very nicely finished. Breakfast is available from a menu for extra and the beach is only Two minutes walk. The local bar Nirvana is a great place to meet fellow travellers.....especially if travelling alone......would definitely visit again. The bed could have been a tad softer, a foam addition was offered.

Room Tip: Let Laura show you the options, if booking before you get there then go for AC with balcony at back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayb413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at white house with some of my friends for 2 nights.... the hotel is situated at a very good location... its not even 2 mins away from the beach... Its also not too far away from some of the most happening parts of the city...the rooms are nicely maintained and are very clean... Especially the room with the balcony was too good... it had a nice verandah with lawn...and not to forget, the owners Alex and Bina (if i remember correctly) were very helpful during our stay... We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.... Eagerly waiting to visit this place again...

Room Tip: Choose the room having the balcony and the verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utsavshah01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.3 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 117 in Calangute
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Severina
Casa Severina
#11 of 117 in Calangute
549 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingstork Beach Resort
Kingstork Beach Resort
#18 of 117 in Calangute
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 117 in Calangute
564 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#101 of 117 in Calangute
194 reviews
1.4 mi away
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
#26 of 117 in Calangute
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: 185/B Near Goan Heritage | Guara Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 221 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range: $70 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
The White House Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing