We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure in Holiday Street ”
Review of A Reverie

A Reverie
Reserve a Table
eazydiner
Ranked #6 of 474 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A Reverie is dramatically transformed with a fresh approach and energy. Our dishes edible installations and all is not what it seems! Food can do much more than just fill your stomach. At A Reverie, we are particularly interested in triggering memories through aromas, landscapes, childhood, surroundings and life. Some creations play with aroma, texture and flavour while others are designed to be provocative, tell a story or evoke an emotion. Most importantly, deliciousness! A Reverie is an expression of the evolution of the food on the table and the surrounding environment. We want your experience at A Reverie to be anything but dull. Nothing about a meal here would be humdrum. From our appetisers or sharing tapas plates and main courses to our stunning array of sweet'treats' that round off the meal, there will always at least one dish that makes you feel glad to be alive. At a more profound level, it's about food that resonates on an emotional as well as sensual level and "it demands psychological reflection". In other words, one doesn't come to A Reverie for a meal, one comes for an experience............
Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

A Reverie is a beautiful setting away from the noise and kaos on Holiday Street. A much higher standard of restaurant than the others in the area. Definitely worth visiting on a special occasion.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 209hayleyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
areveriegoa, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Hello!

We're humbled and grateful for your kind words and it is patrons like you who drive us to create alternative, out-of-the-box, wonderland food fairy tales. A lot of thought and effort has gone in to create an eclectic, exotic ambiance at A Reverie. Our aim to is help patrons seek new adventures in their culinary voyage while evoking emotions, curiosity, and intrigue with every bite.

Warm regards,
Team A Reverie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 765 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2019 via mobile

Food presented beautifully but alas all the sauces cold as was the food itself barely warm. Restaurant itself very unusual designed interior and very large. Hardly anyone in there now we know why!!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank judithappleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

This is one of our favourite spots to go for something to eat which is special & different when in Goa.

We have been many times & never been dissatisfied, however visited 28th March & scammed by the waiting staff, which after posting in a Gos forum have found out we are just one of many.

Our whole experience also wasnt up to its usual standards.
We had booked a table of 6, which was confirmed to be told when we arrived there was no booking. This was then checked & we were sat on the easy chairs at the top of the restauraunt to then be advised this was our table. The table was suitable for drinks & browsing menus but not for eating, so questioned this again, to then be advised our table was af the back of the restaurant which was out ov the way. So without sounding like table snobs we questioned this again asking why?
The restaurant wasnt busy & only had 3 other tables with customers, they then took us to a table for 6 which was af the front & guess what.... the other tables we were offered were never taken through the night & they removed a reserved sign from the table they pig us one, so after much faff we ended up on the table that we had booked in the end.

Putting that down to a bit of a mix up we had our meal, & enjoyed it as we always do.

But... here comes the really disappointing part. We got our bill & as 3 couples split it 3 ways, counted oit the cash a few times making sure it was right & that we'd left a decent tip.
One of the waiters took it away, & returned advising us that the bill was short. Had we been a couple on our own we probably would have thought we had got it wrong, but as a table of 6 & absolutely 100% certain that not only was there enough but that we'd over paid we had no choice to disagree. The waiter was very rude & stuck to the story it was under, so with no other option other than to stand there & disagree (which believe me we did) we had to pay a further amount to pay the alleged short fall. So now not only had someone pocketed a decent tip, but they had also pocketed a further amount.

We had no choice but to be very firm in the knowledge that we knew that they had just scammed us & that given it's high standards & reputation it was very upsetting & a disgusting way to treat any customers, let sking returning custom..

If you do go, & you do pay cash, please sort this with them at your table or till counting out your cash woth the bill, otherwise you will also be pulled for the same scam.

We aren't the only ones & wont be the last.

Date of visit: March 2019
2  Thank MollyMog37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

How do I even begin?
If you're a Truffle lover, the Truffle bomb is a MUST try. My 8 year old daughter enjoyed her soft shell crab Bao with the Madras curry chai - it was absolute bliss. We also tried the pork belly (the husband) and a potato and mushroom dish (currently off meats) which were very good. To top it off for dessert - the Egg but no egg is a MUST try as well because it's an array of styles of cooked egg but that's the catch - they're all different sweet treats.

Date of visit: March 2019
2  Thank Vanessaalmeida2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
areveriegoa, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Hey there!

We type this with a smile in our hearts after reading about your wonderful culinary experience at A Reverie! Our food consists of clever techniques complementing simple flavour combinations, with the menu designed to titillate the palate and the memory rather than confuse the mind. We're glad to know that you enjoyed a great meal with some of our edible creations - Truffle Bon Bon, Pig Out, Couch Potatoes and Magic Mushrooms, along with our bestseller - Egg... But No Egg! Our dishes are playful but our cooking is rooted in classical techniques and the fun never gets in the way of flavour.

We don’t want to be a restaurant that does anything as prosaic as merely feeding people.... Instead, we attempt to conjure the history, landscape and soul of culinary evolution from around the globe in a series of thoughtful, attractive plates of food.

We hope you had a wonderful time and we hope to get a chance to serve you again, soon!

Warm regards,
Team A Reverie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019 via mobile

If you want Fine dinning in calangute area
Definitely it's worth a visit
The way they present food is marvelous
Will visit again if in goa

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank vicky1712002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
areveriegoa, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Hello Patron,

Thank you for reviewing us with your kind words. We're utterly grateful for your recommendation and hope you enjoyed your fine dining experience with us.

Our food is an expression of the evolution of food on the table and the surrounding environment, therefore, quality of food and great precision to ethical and sustainable cooking practices is of utmost importance to us. A meal at A Reverie is at once comforting and yet gastronomically challenging, the food simultaneously artisanal and technical, with references to both the traditional and the avant-garde.

We hope we will get a chance to serve you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team A Reverie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Reverie also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 
Baga, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to A Reverie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing