We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Reverie

A Reverie
Ranked #4 of 408 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Reverie is dramatically transformed with a fresh approach and energy. Our dishes edible installations and all is not what it seems! Food can do much more than just fill your stomach. At A Reverie, we are particularly interested in triggering memories through aromas, landscapes, childhood, surroundings and life. Some creations play with aroma, texture and flavour while others are designed to be provocative, tell a story or evoke an emotion. Most importantly, deliciousness! A Reverie is an expression of the evolution of the food on the table and the surrounding environment. We want your experience at A Reverie to be anything but dull. Nothing about a meal here would be humdrum. From our appetisers or sharing tapas plates and main courses to our stunning array of sweet'treats' that round off the meal, there will always at least one dish that makes you feel glad to be alive. At a more profound level, it's about food that resonates on an emotional as well as sensual level and "it demands psychological reflection". In other words, one doesn't come to A Reverie for a meal, one comes for an experience............
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Must visit!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

More upmarket by Indian standards, but you just can not miss out on this experience of the senses. A most attractive Restaurant with very high standards and a absolute joy for the Foody's on Holidays.The creations by the chefs are multilayerd to spoil your senses, so that we went back three nights in a row.
We have the highest regards for this Establishment and the people working there.
Thank you all!!!!!!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest
Apologies for the delayed response... we are really touched with your review and hope we can only get better...we really wish other diners appreciated the same and understood the finer nuances as you have of your dining experience at a Reverie and that this quality of food, setting and service of course comes at a price.
Thank you....we do aspire to be the very gleaming apex of culinary experience in Goa...and work hard at it...with patrons like yourselves...we hope A Reverie can achieve that.
Sending our best.....
Aakritee Sinh(Chef & Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    105
    37
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
257 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“WOW! WOW! WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

What lovely interiors and 3 levels of the restaurant! Must congratulate Viren Singh (owner) for this lovely thought of design and great service. This is innovative food and a great style to serve it. We ordered all veg options (3-4) must say except for the Tapas (generous portions please), all was mucho delicioso!!) A drink at the bar or the 'lounge' area kicks off a good evening. Dinner can be served at table if restaurant is not full upon checkin. Pity it closed the next day for the off-season.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Prince71272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest
Apologies for the delayed response...thank you for your review...we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience at A Reverie...a lot of thought and work went into the design and making of our restaurant and we are so glad that there are guests like you who understand and appreciate this effort...thank you for your feedback...we apologize that are servings were not to your satisfaction...the only reason the portion of our tapas is slightly smaller is because it is intended to be a serving for one person as we understand that shared servings can be quite tricky as per the etiquette of fine dining...anyhow we love to hear any suggestions our guests have to offer to make their experience even more enjoyable so thank you for that...we hope to see you soon
Much love
Aakritee Sinh (chef and proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, Goa, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We came to A Reverie for my birthday dinner and the place did not disappoint us. The food was delicious, the service impeccable and the ambiance pleasant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Jbrandl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest
Apologies for the delayed response...thank you for taking the time to write us a review...we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at A Reverie...we are also grateful that you picked A Reverie for an occasion as special as your birthday...the A Reverie experience awaits you for more such occasions...hoping to see you soon...
Warm regards
Aakritee Sinh (chef and proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Briliant!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We are retired Restsuranteurs and as a Chef trained in Switzerland and loving food I was totaly impressed to the extend that I was dreaming about the experience the whole night trying to analyze the various flafours that lingered on.The Chefs talent to capture the harmony of the multilayerd flavours shows real passion for the food she creates and is complemented by the well trained staff.
I would come back to Goa judt to eat her food again all the way from Tsmania.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest
Apologies for the delayed response...thank you so much for your wonderful review... We express our gratitude for having had the opportunity of serving you and we are very touched with your review.
Your eye for detail & noticing our very little and some large efforts.... is really sweet and most encouraging.
It is indeed a pleasure cooking for connoisseurs like you.
Looking forward to seeing you again!
Aakritee Sinh (chef and proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A cool and classy experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

With a superb physical environment with good live music that does not disturb the dining experience, this restaurant seems to have it all. The cost of your meal will be well above the local average, but so is the quality. If you want to impress your friends (and wife) this is the place to go and it is in the quiet area of Calangute. The cuisine is international but does not include Indian meals which is a bit of a shame as we both love the food. In the three months we spent in Candolim/Calangute, this was the best overall experience for that special moment or simply a change of behaviour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank bryngafel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear guest
Apologies for our delayed response...we are very touched by your review and hope we can only get better...
‘A great meal is not one that merely fills you up; a great meal is a journey that returns you to sources of pleasure you may have forgotten & takes you to places you have never been…..”
A Reverie is not just a meal, it is an experience...it is an expression of our torrid love affair with food...it is enthusiasts like yourself that inspire us to always to get better...thank you for your love and encouragement
Sincerely
Aakritee Sinh (chef and proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Reverie also viewed

 

Been to A Reverie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing