We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get any better in Goa!”
Review of A Reverie

A Reverie
Ranked #4 of 414 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A Reverie is dramatically transformed with a fresh approach and energy. Our dishes edible installations and all is not what it seems! Food can do much more than just fill your stomach. At A Reverie, we are particularly interested in triggering memories through aromas, landscapes, childhood, surroundings and life. Some creations play with aroma, texture and flavour while others are designed to be provocative, tell a story or evoke an emotion. Most importantly, deliciousness! A Reverie is an expression of the evolution of the food on the table and the surrounding environment. We want your experience at A Reverie to be anything but dull. Nothing about a meal here would be humdrum. From our appetisers or sharing tapas plates and main courses to our stunning array of sweet'treats' that round off the meal, there will always at least one dish that makes you feel glad to be alive. At a more profound level, it's about food that resonates on an emotional as well as sensual level and "it demands psychological reflection". In other words, one doesn't come to A Reverie for a meal, one comes for an experience............
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Well I've been in Goa for the last four weeks and have had some fantastic nights in A Reverie. We're off tonight with 10 of my new friends for another fantastic experience. You honestly won't find better food, service and ambience in the whole of Goa. Akriti is a fantastic chef who genuinely takes pride in her menu. She's constantly trying new and innovative ideas.

She is also the owner and an amazing hostess. Needless to say I've told as many people as I can about the restaurant and they've all come back and thanked me for telling them about this. I just wish there was a better way to advertise but in Goa word of mouth means everything on the beach so I try to tell as many people as possible.

It truly is fine dining at it's best but slightly casual in it's approach which works wonderfully. And you can have for example Prawn Three Ways to start followed but a a beautiful succulent filet steak for main (she sources local organic produce only) and Chocolate Three Ways to finish. With wine you are looking at approximately £25 per head maximum. It seems expensive for Goa but come on people.......£25 for an amazing experience. I sent a couple of friends there last week who got engaged that night and they had a fantastic night made even better thanks to Aktriti's fantastic extras (rose petals on the table and a beautiful cake for them). They thanked me so much the following day I had to tell Akriti right away about their fantastic experience. I really can't see how you wouldn't enjoy the experience of an night out in A Reverie. You can eat at the beautifully furnished dining tables on the lower level then retire to the fantastic sofas for drinks and desserts and conversation.

Thank you once again Akriti from myself and Ricky for all the wonderful nights we've had at your restaurant.

If you don't try this restaurant then you are missing out of Goa's best hidden secret. If you can get there on a saturday night they have a fantastic live Jazz singer and musicians but try to book early if you can.

Bryan

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank UpForItScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear guest,
We don’t have a culinary genial reputation & heritage that precedes us; it is an endless continuous pursuit of learning, nourishing one’s love of food & its improvisation whilst maintaining a youthful enthusiasm, energy & dynamism.
We express our gratitude for encouraging us and are ever so touched with your review.
We are obsessive about the culinary details and fundamental techniques that are the foundation of an exciting culinary imagination but more than that we are obsessed with diner feedback and making friends like you ....thank you....
Warm wishes,
Aakritee (Chef & proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for A Reverie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 491 of 588 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

A beautiful setting, décor that's eclectic and original. Fantastic food and presentation and polite courteous staff. Would definitely recommend this place! Starters in particular were excellent and a great menu choice for vegetarians too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Raj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest,
We’re lucky to be surrounded by enthusiastic and appreciative diners like you.
Our dishes are re-visited, re-interpreted & re –invented ...new creative routes to explore the search for a signature cuisine in its own right...the need to say something in a very special way.
But in the end.....all that is intangible....what our diners say is precious.....thank you ever so much!!
Warm wishes,
Aakritee (Chef & proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were told about this restaurant by friends who frequent goa regularly.We were told it was pricey but we would love the experience.
Wow we walked in and I had my mouth open for the first 10 minutes as the place was spectacular. There was no way you would think you were in Goa!!!!
Yes it was pricey but the food was exquisite especially the trio of strawberry dessert.Thanks Ricky and Bryan for recommending this fab place. Roll on next year when we can again experience sheer luxury.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
10  Thank petuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Beloved guests.....

Sending our best.....
We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us..
Eating ...one of the most often repeated human rituals.......the key is to make this most oft repeated act interesting. For us this is both a challenge & an inspiration..... guests like you inspire us....and we thank you for that...

Sincerely,
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Exelente food,service and design was just beautiful. Higher price level,but worth it. If you really want a great foodexperience,and a great night this is a place you must try.

10  Thank norwayOlafsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
When you acknowledge, as you must, that there is no such thing as perfect food, only the idea of it, then the real purpose of striving toward perfection becomes clear; to make people happy. That’s what cooking is all about....
We thank you for encouraging us… and are delighted to know that you had a pleasing dining experience at A REVERIE.
Your affection so lovingly exhibited...is really appreciated by all of us at A REVERIE.
Sincerely,
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We visited this restaurant based on trip advisor reviews and we were not dissapointed the setting is I would say one of the best in Goa and the service and food were of the highest quality .I can only say please visit you will be stunned by the ambience and the setting. The menu is extensive and all our food was of the highest quality . Hats off to the owners for making this one of the finest restaurants in Goa. One small criisism is that VAT is added to the bill I know that it is stated on the menu but in most restaurants the price you see is what you pay

10  Thank PDREDRUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Sending our best.....

We’re lucky to be surrounded by enthusiastic and appreciative diners like you.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us..

We thank you so much for your feedback ...apologies for the delayed response..I hope after reading this response .....you will change your opinion with regards to the perception of us being expensive.....but off course with an opportunity to serve you again.

Your doubts are indeed valid ....unfortunately we live in a world where establishments such as ours have to pay a price for pursuing “ethical business practices” and as evident our government laws don’t really value honest principles......
We have no idea and neither do we wish to comment on other restaurants or how they manage and what component of their annual sales, are declared to the VAT authorities. In the same breath we humbly apologise to all fellow restaurateurs if we have offended them in any way- all of them are our colleagues and we share an extremely good relationship with them.

The VAT component of 12.5 % of food & 22% on alcohol is calculated on the “annual sales turnover”; in case the annual turnover is manipulated and shown lesser or if annual turnover is genuinely lower (as it may be in –case of smaller establishments) than it is approximately 8% all inclusive – which by rule cannot be charged to the guest and has to be included in the final selling price.

We are perhaps victims of our own success as our annual turnover is beyond the 8% all inclusive VAT scheme and by rule the VAT has to be chargeable to guests ...as it is most other cities in this country, all hotels and in other countries.

Further, we like to have a large selection of all registered imported wines and spirits available to our guests ...which off course attract huge duties unlike hotels who can procure duty free stocks ....thus our imported spirits & wines are perceived to be “expensive”- having one of the largest bar in Goa ...naturally comes at a price and we buy all our stocks legally through the authorised distributors with excise department verification ........these prices could come down if we were to indulge in malpractices such as procuring “grey stocks” which could be spurious liquor but on ethical grounds; we would never ever indulge in that. Our domestic spirits are however priced on par with all local shacks.

Most restaurants for this precise reason do not accept credit cards so they can reflect lesser sales in their books as all credit card transactions; as you know get immediately registered. Else they too would have no choice but to impose these government taxes. As we see, the government is getting very strict and over the years to come all our fellow restaurateurs would have no choice but to succumb to the same taxation.

We do hope and pray the voices of our customers would be powerful enough to have an impact on the government authorities to reduce this or our country is proactive like many in the west where there is a VAT refund scheme.

Please forgive us for being so transparent ...I humbly apologise and look forward to seeing you and hope you recommend us in a different light...

Much Love...
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Reverie also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Vagator, North Goa District
 

Been to A Reverie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing