We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most awesome food and presentation”
Review of A Reverie

A Reverie
Ranked #3 of 424 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A Reverie is dramatically transformed with a fresh approach and energy. Our dishes edible installations and all is not what it seems! Food can do much more than just fill your stomach. At A Reverie, we are particularly interested in triggering memories through aromas, landscapes, childhood, surroundings and life. Some creations play with aroma, texture and flavour while others are designed to be provocative, tell a story or evoke an emotion. Most importantly, deliciousness! A Reverie is an expression of the evolution of the food on the table and the surrounding environment. We want your experience at A Reverie to be anything but dull. Nothing about a meal here would be humdrum. From our appetisers or sharing tapas plates and main courses to our stunning array of sweet'treats' that round off the meal, there will always at least one dish that makes you feel glad to be alive. At a more profound level, it's about food that resonates on an emotional as well as sensual level and "it demands psychological reflection". In other words, one doesn't come to A Reverie for a meal, one comes for an experience............
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We live in Delhi and there is no dearth of excellent fine dining places but I swear on any thing this this is the best in all ways,be it food quality and authenticity ,ambience and pricing topped with most efficient service.we visited on the last day of our visit though we were staying only a stones throw away at THE PARK and regret not having visited earlier else we would frequented it more more often.once again many many thanks for a grand finale to our trip to GOA.
MANINDER

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank BITTOO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are filled with gratitude, for encouraging us. We value your patronage and appreciate your confidence in us. We look forward to serving you again...
Sending our best...
On behalf of all of us A Reverie, we wish you a very happy new year.
Sincerely,
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 520 of 606 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

lovely place. we arrived around 8pm the night before New Years Eve and they were able to accommodate us quickly. Prices are expensive for India standards but not compared to Sydney. They had a decent wine list which we enjoyed.

A small and strange criticism was that the food arrived too soon after ordering. we weren't able to enjoy our drinks before the first course arrived. I know it's odd to complain about the food arrive too soon, but they could have made a lot more money from us in drinks as by the time we'd finished our first, we were too full or order anymore!

however, can't fault the attentive service. food was lovely. would go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Kara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your review.
All of us at A Reverie look forward to seeing you again and hope you enjoy our new menu and your dining experience as much as you did the last time.....
You are absolutely right about the courses arriving too quickly ....it’s just that it was a 5 course menu and we were really trying our level best to ensure all dinners finish their meal before 12’oclock so they can ring in the new years and enjoy the rest of the night dancing and enjoying the fireworks.
Regards the pricing; our 31st Prices were much higher than our regular prices as would be in any establishment including hotels as our costs such as labour, seafood, entertainment etc are also three times the regular....hope you understand.
Sending our best....
Much Love,

Aakritee Sinh ( Chef & proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very nice food, and great service!
I had orderd a dessert, but could not finish, because I had eaten too much - but the waiter thought that I disliked the dish, which I didn't, and brought me a different dessert "on the house".

5  Thank Phj78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear guest,
We thank you for your review.
We want all our guests to be elated ; hence the server brought another dessert .
We wish you a beautiful and a joyous new year .
Warm wishes,
Aakritee ( Chef & proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were a group of 10 people who visited for dinner. What a lovely ambience. Even though it is on a busy street, once inside you are transported to a different world.
Starters : chicken wings - really innovative a succulent
sun dried tomato bruschetta - smoked cheese gave a brilliant flavor.
wasabi prawns- very refreshing
chicken liver pâté - lovely
Main course: lobster Thermidor - excellent John Dory - the best dish of the evening ( we ordered a second dish as we enjoyed it so much !!!)
Pork 2 ways - ok a bit tough and a lot of fat

We had a lovely experience. Service was a bit disorganized, but probably this was due to the fact that we were sharing dishes in a restaurant which is used to doing individual portions.

Price was a bit on the steep side. Worked out to about rs 1800 per person. While this might be quite acceptable in delhi or Mumbai, but for Goa a bit steep. Nonetheless I would gladly go back again !!

Well done and keep it up.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Sumeetchopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Sending our best.....

We are delighted and grateful that you enjoyed your dining experience with us...
We thank you so much for your feedback ; We are glad that you enjoyed the Tapas and are touched that you understand that serving sharing portions on a large table can sometime be tricky.
Regarding the Pork chops ...we will definitely look into your feedback...but must explain that chops are always supported by a fat mass on 1 side along with the bone which is invariably chewy as it is meant to protect the tender side lean meat part soft....however please know your point is well noted )
We wish you a beautiful and a joyous new year filled with all good things.

Your observations regarding the PRICE are indeed valid ....unfortunately we live in a world where establishments such as ours have to pay a price for pursuing “ethical business practices” and as evident our government laws don’t really value honest principles......
We have no idea and neither do we wish to comment on other restaurants or how they manage and what component of their annual sales, are declared to the VAT authorities. In the same breath we humbly apologise to all fellow restaurateurs if we have offended them in any way- all of them are our colleagues and we share an extremely good relationship with them.

The VAT component of 12.5 % of food & 22% on alcohol is calculated on the “annual sales turnover”; in case the annual turnover is manipulated and shown lesser or if annual turnover is genuinely lower (as it may be in –case of smaller establishments) than it is approximately 8% all inclusive – which by rule cannot be charged to the guest and has to be included in the final selling price.

We are perhaps victims of our own success as our annual turnover is beyond the 8% all inclusive VAT scheme and by rule the VAT has to be chargeable to guests ...as it is most other cities in this country, all hotels and in other countries.

Further, we like to have a large selection of all registered imported wines and spirits available to our guests ...which attract huge duties unlike hotels who can procure duty free stocks ....thus our imported spirits & wines are perceived to be “expensive”- having one of the largest bar in Goa ...naturally comes at a price and we buy all our stocks legally through the authorised distributors with excise department verification ........these prices could come down if we were to indulge in malpractices such as procuring “grey stocks” which could be spurious liquor but on ethical grounds; we would never ever indulge in that. Our domestic spirits are however priced on par with all local shacks.

Most restaurants for this precise reason do not accept credit cards so they can reflect lesser sales in their books as all credit card transactions; as you know get immediately registered. Else they too would have no choice but to impose these government taxes. As we see, the government is getting very strict and over the years to come all our fellow restaurateurs would have no choice but to succumb to the same taxation.

We do hope and pray the voices of our customers would be powerful enough to have an impact on the government authorities to reduce this or our country is proactive like many in the west where there is a VAT refund scheme.

Please forgive us for being so transparent ...I humbly apologise and look forward to serving you again.

Much Love...
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My then boyfriend asked our taxi driver for a 'special' restaurant as it was Boxing Day and our first night in goa. This restaurant doesn't get more special!
The decor was stunning! Nicer than any restaurant at home! And the toilets were so nice I had to take a photo!
The service was brilliant, the staff explained all the dishes we were unsure of and spoke good English. We had a bottle of champagne and both had fillet steak. It was the biggest fillet I've eaten, at home I couldn't afford a fillet that big at home!
My boyfriend proposed to me- I had no idea but all the staff knew and made our night so special! They presented us with a letter to congratulate us and a complimentary dessert which was beautiful, some kind of chocolate mouse!
If you want a restaurant that has that wow factor and excellent value then you have to go here!
It only cost around 3600 rupees!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank han43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear guest,
We are eternally grateful for the pleasure of serving you and touched with your review.
Our staff are most encouraged with your feedback.
We wish you a beautiful and a joyous new year filled with all good things.
Warm wishes,
Aakritee ( Chef & proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Reverie also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 
Vagator, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 

Been to A Reverie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing