We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A-MA-ZING!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Reverie

A Reverie
Ranked #4 of 408 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Reverie is dramatically transformed with a fresh approach and energy. Our dishes edible installations and all is not what it seems! Food can do much more than just fill your stomach. At A Reverie, we are particularly interested in triggering memories through aromas, landscapes, childhood, surroundings and life. Some creations play with aroma, texture and flavour while others are designed to be provocative, tell a story or evoke an emotion. Most importantly, deliciousness! A Reverie is an expression of the evolution of the food on the table and the surrounding environment. We want your experience at A Reverie to be anything but dull. Nothing about a meal here would be humdrum. From our appetisers or sharing tapas plates and main courses to our stunning array of sweet'treats' that round off the meal, there will always at least one dish that makes you feel glad to be alive. At a more profound level, it's about food that resonates on an emotional as well as sensual level and "it demands psychological reflection". In other words, one doesn't come to A Reverie for a meal, one comes for an experience............
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A-MA-ZING!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is the best restuarant I have ever been in and if this was in London I wouldn't even be able to afford to go through the door! It's expensive for Goa but for us, cheaper than a meal at Pizza Express! The place is gob-smackingly gorgeous, set in a landscaped area which goes uphill to a bar at the top, part covered with the highest bamboo roof ever. There are little rivers, bridges and plants, and all the furniture and lighting is spectacular. Oh, and the food......
Every dish was "Wait. Don't eat any yet, I want to take a photo!"
We had 3 starters (between 2 of us) as we couldn't decide and they are only a fiver! I had "mushrooms 2-ways" which consisted of a square white plate, in one corner was a little white cappucino cup filled with delicious mushroom soup, the other corner had a pile of truffle. In the middle was what looked like a fork, but was actually the silhouette of a fork in some sort of
powder.
We are vegetarian and there was plenty of choice.
Usually photogenic food is small and not filling, but this was good portions and we left stuffed!
3 starters, 2 mains an excellent bottle of Indian Malbec and 2 liquier coffees came to £48 including the tip. AND there was a complimentary entree!
A Reverie also has the poshest toilets I have ever been in too! I had had a very bad experience the previous evening in a typical Goan loo and had taken an emergency toilet pack out as a precaution! Not needed here: when i washed my hands the water ran down a bronze leaf and into my hand!
We loved it so much that we went back a few days later with some friends. They had the "prawns 3 ways" for starter which was 3 mini cocktail glasses each filled with differently cooked prawns.
The waiters were all very attentive, the service was great.
I would go back again without hesitation!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank FlickS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,
We are eternally grateful for the pleasure of serving you and touched with your review.
Your eye for detail & noticing our little and large efforts is really sweet and most encouraging.
We wish you a beautiful and a joyous new yea filled with all good things.
Warm wishes,
Aakritee ( Chef & proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    105
    37
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nicest dining experience in Goa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We went to A Reverie for our anniversary dinner, and had an amazing experience. We had heard about this place a number of times, but had never got a chance to visit earlier - but can now say that it was our best dining experience in Goa.

The decor and ambiance is excellent, and they had live jazz music (I think they have this every weekend). The restaurant is very spacious and the lighting and decoration is very classy and elegant. The staff was very courteous, and they went out of the way to make the experience memorable for us (including a celebratory dessert in the end).

But most importantly, A Reverie scores where it matters most - in terms of food and drinks. Whatever we tried was excellent, and left us wanting for more. We will be visiting again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank nirvaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are filled with gratitude, for encouraging us. We value your patronage and appreciate your confidence in us. We look forward to serving you again...

Sending our best...

On behalf of all of us A Reverie, I wish you a very happy new year in advance.

Sincerely,
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Heavenly Gourmet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Chefs here have magic fingers. Try anything and you will be satisfied with the flavour. The food is pricey but worth a meal in lavish gourmet style.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
14 Thank OddtravellerIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are really touched with your review and hope we can only get better...we really wish other diners appreciated the same and understood the finer nuances as you have of your dining experience at a Reverie and that this quality of food, setting and service .....off course comes at a price.

Thank you....we do aspire to be the very gleaming apex of culinary experience in Goa...and work hard at it...with patrons like yourselves...we hope A Reverie can achieve that.

Sending our best.....
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and beautiful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is gorgeous in terms
Of decor. The staff are very welcoming and efficient. The menu is fabulous with very tasty food and big portions. Visited 2 times

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Ellaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are really touched with your review and hope we can only get better...Thank you....we do aspire to be the very gleaming apex of culinary experience in Goa...and work hard at it...with patrons like yourselves...we hope A Reverie can achieve that.

Sending our best.....
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and perfect sizes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

The restaurant have à very nice decorations and you feel completly in another world. The staff are very friendly and very polite. We went there 2 times and the food was very good, the taste and quality are from high level. I would recommend the baileys icecream very delicious, i would recommend it to all only its little bit expensive but its worth every rupie.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are really touched with your review and hope we can only get better...we really wish other diners appreciated the same and understood the finer nuances as you have of your dining experience at a Reverie and that this quality of food, setting and service .....off course comes at a price.

Thank you....we do aspire to be the very gleaming apex of culinary experience in Goa...and work hard at it...with patrons like yourselves...we hope A Reverie can achieve that.

Sending our best.....
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Reverie also viewed

 

Been to A Reverie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing