We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Divine”
Review of A Reverie

A Reverie
Ranked #3 of 417 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A Reverie is dramatically transformed with a fresh approach and energy. Our dishes edible installations and all is not what it seems! Food can do much more than just fill your stomach. At A Reverie, we are particularly interested in triggering memories through aromas, landscapes, childhood, surroundings and life. Some creations play with aroma, texture and flavour while others are designed to be provocative, tell a story or evoke an emotion. Most importantly, deliciousness! A Reverie is an expression of the evolution of the food on the table and the surrounding environment. We want your experience at A Reverie to be anything but dull. Nothing about a meal here would be humdrum. From our appetisers or sharing tapas plates and main courses to our stunning array of sweet'treats' that round off the meal, there will always at least one dish that makes you feel glad to be alive. At a more profound level, it's about food that resonates on an emotional as well as sensual level and "it demands psychological reflection". In other words, one doesn't come to A Reverie for a meal, one comes for an experience............
Reviewed October 28, 2011

If it's possible to be in heaven and goa at the same time, this is where u have both. The owners Aakritee and Virender do a fabulous job taking care of their guests, their staff is like family and go out of their way to make it a memorable experience for you and your guests.
Simply Divine food and ambience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank babeontheprowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

We are really touched and almost humbled with your review and hope we can only get better...we really wish other diners appreciated the same and understood the finer nuances as you have ........with your dining experience at a Reverie

We have a beautiful new menu; can’t wait to have your over for a meal and give us your feedback

Sending our best.....
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 549 of 594 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2011

went here after reading the reports on tripadvisor ,and we had a wonderful meal, in a relaxed atmosphere. The prices you can't query as its so cheap compared to back home for something similar
the food was haute cuisine in its presentation and didn't let itself down when it came to taste. we really enjoyed our meal here and would highly recommend this restaurant for a special occaision or if you just want a great meal

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Tets-Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

We are really touched with your review and hope we can only get better...we really wish other diners appreciated the same and understood the finer nuances as you have of your dining experience at a Reverie and that this quality of food, setting and service .....Off course comes at a price.
We have a beautiful new menu; can’t wait to have your over for a meal and give us your feedback

Sending our best.....
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Food was absolutely delicious, and well presented. And by UK standards very cheap.

The setting was stunning, very romantic.

loved it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
10  Thank adventureJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

We are really touched with your review and hope we can only get better...we really wish other diners appreciated the same and understood the finer nuances as you have of your dining experience at a Reverie and that this quality of food, setting and service .....Off course comes at a price.
We have a beautiful new menu; can’t wait to have your over for a meal and give us your feedback

Sending our best.....
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We were recommended A Reverie by some Indian friends that rated it as the best restaurant in Goa and possibly even one of the best in India. We subsequently met a hotel manager from Australia that just took his whole crew there and also pronounced it as absolutely fantastic, so maybe we just got a really really really bad night, but here it how it went:
Firstly the decor is dated to the extreme, with all this 90's looking iron work chairs and drapery, just awful. The service was nice enough although as typical we asked for sparkling water, but got still instead.
We ordered Nachos with Wasabi Dip as a starter for my daughter, sounds like a nice idea but was actually inedible, the Wasabi so hot that the dip could not be eaten, the nachos were greasy, stale and from a pack. I had some goats cheese thing that was ok, but my husband ordered a Salad that was presented in fancy 90s fashion as "artwork on plate" but had not been spun dry properly so was soaking wet, which with the questionable water in India is not a good idea and he promptly got sick after our meal. Between courses there was a basil-tomato sorbet that was I am sure frozen Campbell's Tomato Soup.For mains one of our kids had Spaghetti Arrabiata, for which you would probably be send to prison in Italy: They were mushy and the sauce had a distinct tomato ketchup flavor. My other daughter had mushroom pasta and that was mushy mushroom as well.I had something so bad that I have actually forgotten what it was in congealed mushroom sauce that tasted like Campbell's mushroom soup this time and the lemon mash that came with it was stone cold (though artfully arranged once again, as this restaurant prides itself to serve "Art on big Plates"). To their credit they took this dish of our final bill, which was still outrageous for what this meal was.
On our way out we saw that the restaurant had just been awarded the title of best fusion cuisine in India by some magazine and I simply can not understand how this could be and must suspect bribery. In short "ce n'est pas un rêve mais un cauchemar"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank HKSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

The ambience is excellent but sadly that's where it stops. The fillet is actually excellent but the accompaniments are in a word awful. The (s)mash potatoes are disgusting as is the salad that it comes with. Real shame, could have been brilliant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jinder1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Sending our best.....
We thank you so much for your feedback ...apologies for the delayed response....to be honest; we have never browsed though trip advisor and when I did today...every bit of my soul urged me to respond....I hope after this you will change your opinion and perhaps bless us with a better new review.....but off course with an opportunity to serve you again.

We have worked very hard over the last 2 years and really improved on our accompaniments with the steak and in fact are brilliant !

Your opinion regards PRICE is indeed valid ....unfortunately we live in a world where establishments such as our’s have to pay a price for pursuing “ethical business practices” and as evident our government laws don’t really value honest principles......
We have no idea and neither do we wish to comment on other restaurants or how they manage and what component of their annual sales, are declared to the VAT authorities. In the same breath we humbly apologise to all fellow restaurateurs if we have offended them in any way- all of them are our colleagues and we share an extremely good relationship with them.

The VAT component of 12.5 % of food & 22% on alcohol is calculated on the “annual sales turnover”; in case the annual turnover is manipulated and shown lesser or if annual turnover is genuinely lower (as it may be in –case of smaller establishments) than it is approximately 8% all inclusive – which by rule cannot be charged to the guest and has to be included in the final selling price.

We are perhaps victims of our own success as our annual turnover is beyond the 8% all inclusive VAT scheme and by rule the VAT has to be chargeable to guests ...as it is most other cities in this country, all hotels and in other countries.

Further, we like to have a large selection of all registered imported wines and spirits available to our guests ...which off course attract huge duties unlike hotels who can procure duty free stocks ....thus our imported spirits & wines are perceived to be “expensive”- having one of the largest bar in Goa ...naturally comes at a price and we buy all our stocks legally through the authorised distributors with excise department verification ........these prices could come down if we were to indulge in malpractices such as procuring “grey stocks” which could be spurious liquor but on ethical grounds; we would never ever indulge in that. Our domestic spirits are however priced on par with all local shacks.

Most restaurants for this precise reason do not accept credit cards so they can reflect lesser sales in their books as all credit card transactions; as you know get immediately registered. Else they too would have no choice but to impose these government taxes. As we see, the government is getting very strict and over the years to come all our fellow restaurateurs would have no choice but to succumb to the same taxation.

We do hope and pray the voices of our customers would be powerful enough to have an impact on the government authorities to reduce this or our country is proactive like many in the west where there is a VAT refund scheme.

Please forgive us for being so transparent ...I humbly apologise and look forward to seeing you and hope you recommend us in a different light...

Much Love...
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Reverie also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Vagator, North Goa District
 
Panjim, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 

Been to A Reverie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing