We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went twice it was so good”
Review of A Reverie

A Reverie
Ranked #4 of 409 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A Reverie is dramatically transformed with a fresh approach and energy. Our dishes edible installations and all is not what it seems! Food can do much more than just fill your stomach. At A Reverie, we are particularly interested in triggering memories through aromas, landscapes, childhood, surroundings and life. Some creations play with aroma, texture and flavour while others are designed to be provocative, tell a story or evoke an emotion. Most importantly, deliciousness! A Reverie is an expression of the evolution of the food on the table and the surrounding environment. We want your experience at A Reverie to be anything but dull. Nothing about a meal here would be humdrum. From our appetisers or sharing tapas plates and main courses to our stunning array of sweet'treats' that round off the meal, there will always at least one dish that makes you feel glad to be alive. At a more profound level, it's about food that resonates on an emotional as well as sensual level and "it demands psychological reflection". In other words, one doesn't come to A Reverie for a meal, one comes for an experience............
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We went twice it was so good”
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Food was absolutely delicious, and well presented. And by UK standards very cheap.

The setting was stunning, very romantic.

loved it!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank adventureJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are really touched with your review and hope we can only get better...we really wish other diners appreciated the same and understood the finer nuances as you have of your dining experience at a Reverie and that this quality of food, setting and service .....Off course comes at a price.
We have a beautiful new menu; can’t wait to have your over for a meal and give us your feedback

Sending our best.....
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    106
    40
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Would love to send Gordon Ramsay here and do a show of "Kitchen Nightmares"”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We were recommended A Reverie by some Indian friends that rated it as the best restaurant in Goa and possibly even one of the best in India. We subsequently met a hotel manager from Australia that just took his whole crew there and also pronounced it as absolutely fantastic, so maybe we just got a really really really bad night, but here it how it went:
Firstly the decor is dated to the extreme, with all this 90's looking iron work chairs and drapery, just awful. The service was nice enough although as typical we asked for sparkling water, but got still instead.
We ordered Nachos with Wasabi Dip as a starter for my daughter, sounds like a nice idea but was actually inedible, the Wasabi so hot that the dip could not be eaten, the nachos were greasy, stale and from a pack. I had some goats cheese thing that was ok, but my husband ordered a Salad that was presented in fancy 90s fashion as "artwork on plate" but had not been spun dry properly so was soaking wet, which with the questionable water in India is not a good idea and he promptly got sick after our meal. Between courses there was a basil-tomato sorbet that was I am sure frozen Campbell's Tomato Soup.For mains one of our kids had Spaghetti Arrabiata, for which you would probably be send to prison in Italy: They were mushy and the sauce had a distinct tomato ketchup flavor. My other daughter had mushroom pasta and that was mushy mushroom as well.I had something so bad that I have actually forgotten what it was in congealed mushroom sauce that tasted like Campbell's mushroom soup this time and the lemon mash that came with it was stone cold (though artfully arranged once again, as this restaurant prides itself to serve "Art on big Plates"). To their credit they took this dish of our final bill, which was still outrageous for what this meal was.
On our way out we saw that the restaurant had just been awarded the title of best fusion cuisine in India by some magazine and I simply can not understand how this could be and must suspect bribery. In short "ce n'est pas un rêve mais un cauchemar"

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HKSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

The ambience is excellent but sadly that's where it stops. The fillet is actually excellent but the accompaniments are in a word awful. The (s)mash potatoes are disgusting as is the salad that it comes with. Real shame, could have been brilliant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jinder1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Sending our best.....
We thank you so much for your feedback ...apologies for the delayed response....to be honest; we have never browsed though trip advisor and when I did today...every bit of my soul urged me to respond....I hope after this you will change your opinion and perhaps bless us with a better new review.....but off course with an opportunity to serve you again.

We have worked very hard over the last 2 years and really improved on our accompaniments with the steak and in fact are brilliant !

Your opinion regards PRICE is indeed valid ....unfortunately we live in a world where establishments such as our’s have to pay a price for pursuing “ethical business practices” and as evident our government laws don’t really value honest principles......
We have no idea and neither do we wish to comment on other restaurants or how they manage and what component of their annual sales, are declared to the VAT authorities. In the same breath we humbly apologise to all fellow restaurateurs if we have offended them in any way- all of them are our colleagues and we share an extremely good relationship with them.

The VAT component of 12.5 % of food & 22% on alcohol is calculated on the “annual sales turnover”; in case the annual turnover is manipulated and shown lesser or if annual turnover is genuinely lower (as it may be in –case of smaller establishments) than it is approximately 8% all inclusive – which by rule cannot be charged to the guest and has to be included in the final selling price.

We are perhaps victims of our own success as our annual turnover is beyond the 8% all inclusive VAT scheme and by rule the VAT has to be chargeable to guests ...as it is most other cities in this country, all hotels and in other countries.

Further, we like to have a large selection of all registered imported wines and spirits available to our guests ...which off course attract huge duties unlike hotels who can procure duty free stocks ....thus our imported spirits & wines are perceived to be “expensive”- having one of the largest bar in Goa ...naturally comes at a price and we buy all our stocks legally through the authorised distributors with excise department verification ........these prices could come down if we were to indulge in malpractices such as procuring “grey stocks” which could be spurious liquor but on ethical grounds; we would never ever indulge in that. Our domestic spirits are however priced on par with all local shacks.

Most restaurants for this precise reason do not accept credit cards so they can reflect lesser sales in their books as all credit card transactions; as you know get immediately registered. Else they too would have no choice but to impose these government taxes. As we see, the government is getting very strict and over the years to come all our fellow restaurateurs would have no choice but to succumb to the same taxation.

We do hope and pray the voices of our customers would be powerful enough to have an impact on the government authorities to reduce this or our country is proactive like many in the west where there is a VAT refund scheme.

Please forgive us for being so transparent ...I humbly apologise and look forward to seeing you and hope you recommend us in a different light...

Much Love...
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Setting”
Reviewed March 25, 2011

A.....mazing. I've ate in top London restaurants but this place beats it for the whole fine dining experience. An amazing setting with food to match, I had the seared tuna starter with Wasabi foam followed by the fillet steak the was the size of my fist and cooked to perfection. My GF had prawns then fillet and she was blown away too. Amazing presentation and accompaniments. We had a bottle of Sula and I got an extra couple of beers, we finished off by going to sit on the comfy seats and had a cherry/champagne mojito, Gorgeous romantic setting, gorgeous food, presentation, ambience, service was all the finest of fine dining quality. Even the toilets were the nicest we used all holiday. It was the most expensive meal we had (£70 inc. tip for the 2 of us) but I really don't mind paying for this kind of quality and let’s face it, the same meal at home would have been upwards of £200.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Hookan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We thank you so much for your feedback ...apologies for the delayed response....
We are really touched with your review and hope we can only get better...
We have a beautiful new menu; can’t wait to have your over for a meal and give us your feedback.

Your opinion regards PRICE is indeed valid....unfortunately we live in a world where establishments such as ours have to pay a price for pursuing “ethical business practices” and as evident our government laws don’t really value honest principles......

We wish other diners would appreciate the same and understand the "value for money"
We have no idea and neither do we wish to comment on other restaurants or how they manage and what component of their annual sales, are declared to the VAT authorities. In the same breath we humbly apologise to all fellow restaurateurs if we have offended them in any way- all of them are our colleagues and we share an extremely good relationship with them.

The VAT component of 12.5 % of food & 22% on alcohol is calculated on the “annual sales turnover”; in case the annual turnover is manipulated and shown lesser or if annual turnover is genuinely lower (as it may be in –case of smaller establishments) than it is approximately 8% all inclusive – which by rule cannot be charged to the guest and has to be included in the final selling price.

We are perhaps victims of our own success as our annual turnover is beyond the 8% all inclusive VAT scheme and by rule the VAT has to be chargeable to guests ...as it is most other cities in this country, all hotels and in other countries.

Further, we like to have a large selection of all registered imported wines and spirits available to our guests ...which off course attract huge duties unlike hotels who can procure duty free stocks ....thus our imported spirits & wines are perceived to be “expensive”- having one of the largest bar in Goa ...naturally comes at a price and we buy all our stocks legally through the authorised distributors with excise department verification ........these prices could come down if we were to indulge in malpractices such as procuring “grey stocks” which could be spurious liquor but on ethical grounds; we would never ever indulge in that. Our domestic spirits are however priced on par with all local shacks.

Most restaurants for this precise reason do not accept credit cards so they can reflect lesser sales in their books as all credit card transactions; as you know get immediately registered. Else they too would have no choice but to impose these government taxes. As we see, the government is getting very strict and over the years to come all our fellow restaurateurs would have no choice but to succumb to the same taxation.

We do hope and pray the voices of our customers would be powerful enough to have an impact on the government authorities to reduce this or our country is proactive like many in the west where there is a VAT refund scheme.

Please forgive us for being so transparent ...I humbly apologise and look forward to seeing you
Much Love...
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Going Downhill”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I have visited A Reverie a number of times over the past few years and have always enjoyed the experience.
However I my latest visit I was sorely diappointed. The place still looks great if a little tired now. It's about time they freshened up the decor and replaced those hideous chairs with the high steel prongs that are extremely uncomfortable. Every time you move the whole chair vibrates. I refused to sit in on one on this last visit.
The menu is very limited with just a small selection. I had the prawn and fennel chowder to start, lots of chopped up prawns but no taste of fennel!
As I was a little curried out I requested a steak. My friend and I asked if we could have chips instead of the mash stated on the menu. We were told no, it came with mash and we'd have to order a side of chips. Which we did.
I also ordered a side salad as there was no mention of salad or vegetables with the steak.
The steaks arrived on a HUGE platter, large enough for the Xmas turkey! Accompanied by onion marmalade, mash and large garnish of salad. Whoever heard of salad being offered with mash? Surely it should have been vegetables as a garnish!
The plate was so large though that everthing just looked lost.
The sides of salad and chips arrived. I think they were oven chips. Certainly not the sort of chips you'd expect from this class of restaurant.
Needles to say I didn't eat my side sald because of the large garnish already on the plate.
I must agree with the previous reviewer. It was defnitely Smash not mash. Both my friend and I found it inedible.
And remember folks A Reverie is NOT CHEAP!!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We thank you so much for your feedback ...apologies for the delayed response....
You would be happy to know that we have a beautiful new menu which is not limited and has 20 more new dishes included which we have developed after 2 years of trials. We do not know what smash is but can assure you that you would love our new mashed potatoes (We slow bake our potatoes on our BBQ and create a fabulous creamy potato mash; can’t wait to have your over for a meal and give us your feedback.
Alos, now we give a choice of french fries or mash ; besides teh steak comes with an onion marmalade and sauteed vegetables......as a side if guests prefer we have a choice of salad, blue cheese mousse, sauteed mushrooms etc.

Your opinion regards PRICE is indeed valid....unfortunately we live in a world where establishments such as ours have to pay a price for pursuing “ethical business practices” and as evident our government laws don’t really value honest principles......
We have no idea and neither do we wish to comment on other restaurants or how they manage and what component of their annual sales, are declared to the VAT authorities. In the same breath we humbly apologise to all fellow restaurateurs if we have offended them in any way- all of them are our colleagues and we share an extremely good relationship with them.

The VAT component of 12.5 % of food & 22% on alcohol is calculated on the “annual sales turnover”; in case the annual turnover is manipulated and shown lesser or if annual turnover is genuinely lower (as it may be in –case of smaller establishments) than it is approximately 8% all inclusive – which by rule cannot be charged to the guest and has to be included in the final selling price.

We are perhaps victims of our own success as our annual turnover is beyond the 8% all inclusive VAT scheme and by rule the VAT has to be chargeable to guests ...as it is most other cities in this country, all hotels and in other countries.

Further, we like to have a large selection of all registered imported wines and spirits available to our guests ...which off course attract huge duties unlike hotels who can procure duty free stocks ....thus our imported spirits & wines are perceived to be “expensive”- having one of the largest bar in Goa ...naturally comes at a price and we buy all our stocks legally through the authorised distributors with excise department verification ........these prices could come down if we were to indulge in malpractices such as procuring “grey stocks” which could be spurious liquor but on ethical grounds; we would never ever indulge in that. Our domestic spirits are however priced on par with all local shacks.

Most restaurants for this precise reason do not accept credit cards so they can reflect lesser sales in their books as all credit card transactions; as you know get immediately registered. Else they too would have no choice but to impose these government taxes. As we see, the government is getting very strict and over the years to come all our fellow restaurateurs would have no choice but to succumb to the same taxation.

We do hope and pray the voices of our customers would be powerful enough to have an impact on the government authorities to reduce this or our country is proactive like many in the west where there is a VAT refund scheme.

Please forgive us for being so transparent ...I humbly apologise and look forward to seeing you
Much Love...
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE



Sending our best.....
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Reverie also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to A Reverie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing