We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud music, good food”
Review of Cafe Penya

Cafe Penya
Ranked #72 of 474 Restaurants in Calangute
Description: Exotic, breezy hangout for Russian, Italian and Continental dishes, plus cocktails and live music.
Restaurant details
Description: Exotic, breezy hangout for Russian, Italian and Continental dishes, plus cocktails and live music.
Reviewed February 23, 2019

Food here was fresh and tasty, bit more expensive but still priced ok. Place was packed and some people didn't even get the table, We were so happy that we were almost finished when band started to play - music was so loud that we couldn't talk. When we left, we still heard the music after walking a while.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Satuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 44 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2019 via mobile

We have see this place over the years we’ve been coming to Goa but this was the first time we had tried it. From the outside appearance was good, menu looked ok so in we went. We were greeted warmly and ordered a drink while reviewing the menu, placed our order and in a short time our starters came, slightly different from what we expected but not to bad, only have way through eating them we were told our mains were ready and subsequently brought out !!! Then as my wife had finished, but I was still eating, her plate was removed and she was asking if she wanted a dessert even though I was still eating!
Food was average and very rushed and quite expensive for here ! Won’t revisit

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank tap1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2019 via mobile

Right opposite our hotel almost went to RENONDA night before ( not great ) this place however was the best food we had in goa so far hubby had celebration chicken I had veg Shad like beautiful & great music x def be here for remainder of our hols

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Small1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2019

Had what can only be described as a disaster meal here last night! Cafe Penya, formally Fiori, has always been a firm favourite. An advance booking was made(a week in advance) due to it being a large party of 17. Even though the booking was reconfirmed 2 days before they failed to seat us in area together as promised! Okay we could live with 3 different tables as the band and food have always been exceptional! The band didn’t disappoint- albeit a little loud for some- and most of the food that arrived was as delicious as ever. However the taking of the orders and the arrival of the food left a lot to be desired! We arrived before 8pm and 3 people were still waiting for theirs gone 10pm! The food arrived in dribs and drabs and in no particular order, you’d have maybe expected a table at a time? This meant that everyone was eating in shifts. At one point I was the only person on a table of 6 with a meal in front of me, which I’d finished before the others arrived - in fact two other meals never arrived and were cancelled as the cabs were due to pick us up within 15 minutes! One meal that arrived didn’t even have accompaniments that were described in the menu! All this even though we had been chasing up the food. Every table was the same, with late or no arrival. There was a disagreement regarding the bill - which we were happy to pay for that which we had received! The management literally ran and hid in the kitchen and would not face the music throughout the entire debacle. They really need to get their act together! Needless to say we certainly won’t be returning! Such a shame.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Climber588562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2019 via mobile

Booked table for 16, ended up on 3 separate tables. Some of our party got fed and others waited over 2 hours and food never arrived. Manager opted to hide in the kitchen rather then speak to us and deal with the problems. Won’t be returning

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank shar0n1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Penya also viewed

 
Baga, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Cafe Penya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing