We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value For Money...”
Review of Calangute Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calangute Grande
Ranked #2 of 221 Calangute B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Honestly, the rooms were a surprise, excellent room with spacious and clean bathroom, location a bit away from the action spot, but not too far also. The service was prompt and excellent. pool is small and the overall hotel seems to be cramped for space. Overall, one of the finest hotel around Calangute beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Anjan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at Calangute Grande & taking the time, to share your holiday experience at Calangute Grande on trip advisor, have conveyed the same to our associates.
Sincerely look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 436 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Calangute Grande is a small hotel close to the Baga circle. It is a relatively newer property so the rooms are done up nicely and gadgets are modern -LCD panels as opposed to CTVs, split air conditioners etc. The rooms though are not very spacious and already showing signs of wear. The suites are definitely better.
The hotel serves a buffet breakfast with a limited spread. The hotel does not have a proper restuarant though room service is good. The hotel has a lounge bar that sees no action ever. It was deserted even on Christmas Eve. The lounge bar seems to have been carved out of the lobby and is a complete waste of space.
Staff is friendly and courteous and go out of the way to take care of you. The hotel could be a good choice for a short trip or for someone who is averse to renting a bike because a lot of eateries and the beach are within walking distance fro the hotel.

Room Tip: I would recoomend the suites on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2015

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thanks for taking the time, to share your holiday experience at Hotel Calangute Grande on trip advisor

Sincerely look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Extremely good seafood.the right place to stay in goa. The loungebar "blue tranz" is truly amazing for loud music lovers n drinkers .the rooms are quite spacious and offer very good amenities.kids enjoy in the swimming pool. New massage spa, free wifi.it is just next to the calangute and baga beach.gthe staff is well trained and trustfull.

Room Tip: Deluxe room facing the swiming pool and a view of football ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yohanth_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thanks for taking the time, to share your holiday experience at Calangute Grande on trip advisor. We are delighted with your review, have conveyed the same to our associates.

Sincerely look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were big, clean and airy and the staff very attentive. The spa treatments my daughter and I enjoyed were wonderful and reasonably priced. The pool was a bit small but we mostly had it to ourselves as most of the residents seemed to opt for the beach which is only minutes away. The location is excellent - only five minutes walk from the centre of town. We would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank falkirkshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2015

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thanks for taking the time, to share your holiday experience at Hotel Calangute Grande on trip advisor. we are happy to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant.

Sincerely look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Calngute Grande for three weeks and really enjoid our visit!
The service was excellent, the staff was indeed serviceminded and creative! Their towelart is unforgettable!
The restaurant offered real gourmet diners, they made what we asked for and it was allways fantastic!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pitepyret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at Calangute Grande & taking the time, to share your holiday experience at Calangute Grande on trip advisor, have conveyed the same to our associates.
Sincerely look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at the Calangute Grande from 14th Feb - 18th Feb, 2013 with my wife...Calangute Grand has an excellent multi-cuisine restaurant called "Diners", that serves a wide variety of delicious and wholesome dishes. The hotel also has a coffee shop, and a poolside restaurant that serves a wide range of kebabs and cocktails. In-room amenities include: LCD screen satellite television, direct dialling telephone, tea/coffee maker, mineral water, mini bar, and an attached washroom with 24 hour hot/cold water.. Hospitality was the main theme.. The staffs were very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay there again..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supersecure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for staying with us; have conveyed your holiday experience - uploaded on the trip advisor to all our Associates, who are delighted to be of service to you and thanks for appreciating all other things served you from our end.

We all at Hotel Calangute Grande- Goa, look forward for an opportunity to serve you once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I don't know where to start from. The misery was more than the bliss / ecstasy for sure. I had stayed at the Calangute Grande from 3rd Jan - 8th Jan, 2013 with my wife and her family.

The pictures on their website were much different than in reality. A lot of changes had been made and when asked, they informed us that it was done a year back.

When we checked-in, we were assigned to our rooms, but the bedsheets were stained yellow with marks of more yellow / coffee-like stains. We asked them to change these bedsheets immediately and this took an hour. Still not satisfied, as the sheets were slightly better than the last, we asked them to give us new sheets, which took them another half hour.

Some of the rooms were not given thicker bed coverings like the other rooms and we found that out only later in the evening after coming back from the beach. This they promptly delivered, but it was not a well organized service that we were hoping for.

Breakfast was decent and one had the choice of limited Indian and continental options. When asked for toasted bread, which they would deliver at our table, it took forever. We saw piles of burnt toasts one above the other since no one was monitoring the temperature of the toaster.

The location was one of the only plus points on the visit along with Savio, who was there when we had problems, which were almost always. The rooms were large with big windows and the bathrooms clean. The room chairs though, need to be shampooed (which I don't think has ever been done).

The reception was always confused with our room numbers and this added to the long check-out procedure, where we had to call Savio again to intervene.

Unless I am desperate, I will not chose this hotel. The price package offered was nice and hence we readily agreed.

Room Tip: Make sure that they offer you clean linens. I don't know if it's ever alright to have not-so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chipalkatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank u for writing a review on trip advisor.
The photos of rooms shown on the website are the same as the hotel rooms. We will definitely improve the areas which you have mentioned, next time when you visit calangute grande, you will see the difference.

Sincerely look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.1 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#101 of 119 in Calangute
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#10 of 119 in Calangute
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#14 of 119 in Calangute
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#16 of 119 in Calangute
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
0.2 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 119 in Calangute
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calangute Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calangute Grande

Address: Maddo Vaddo | Near Poriat Football Ground, Calangute 403516, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 221 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range: $58 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Calangute Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Calangute Grande. Enjoy Calangute Grande luxury with access to the pristine beaches of Calangute. During your stay you could indulge in water sports, play at the world famous casinos, go fishing or hike in unspoiled natural wilderness. Breathe in the fresh air. Marvel at a sky full of stars. And savor exquisite dining wrapped in panoramic beach views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Calangute Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calangute Grande Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing