We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food and stay”
Review of Calangute Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calangute Grande
Ranked #4 of 217 Calangute B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Nice hotel. Close to beach..and impressive service. Specially Ritual Sharma from Resturant.
We enjoyed our stay mainly bcaz of restaurent food and the service......
Do stay here for food and awesome hospitality

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anand D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thanks for taking the time, to share your holiday experience at Calangute Grande on trip advisor. We are delighted with your review, have conveyed the same to our associates.

Sincerely look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 432 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our last hotel on the trip ( others being in kerala ) and it was truly awesome ending for us. Room was spacious, toilet cleaned. Restaurant food is great and when you have great service to compliment it, you have a perfect meal. I would surely prefer to visit again whenever i come back to Goa. Good job Calangute Grande.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are good to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_k0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at Calangute Grande & taking the time, to share your holiday experience at Calangute Grande on trip advisor, have conveyed the same to our associates.
Sincerely look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Overall experience was awsome..Nice location of hotel. rooms are clean. walking distance from Calangute Beach...Food is really good.. Staff very helpful,Specially Mr. Ratul Sharma... Overall Pleasant experience...

Room Tip: all rooms are clean & peaceful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anand A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thanks for taking the time, to share your holiday experience at Hotel Calangute Grande on trip advisor

Sincerely look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights well satisfied with hospitality all staff including management excellent,location great within reach of 2 wonderful beaches,private taxi for tour of south goa ,salil,most informative&very courteous,arranged by manager ,it's a must,wonderful tour.over all recommend it to all,and lastly enjoy a few night caps on calangute beach.. Sailesh.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saileshgohil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at Calangute Grande & taking the time, to share your holiday experience at Calangute Grande on trip advisor, have conveyed the same to our associates.
Sincerely look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in the month of November. I had a terrible experiences. I was in MAP plan. At the time of checkin front desk lady explained every term and conditions except fine details about the payment mode and the hidden charges.
When we entered the room, hotel staff started counting items kept in the fridge infront of us one by one. I felt that they might be dealing with cheap people who steal the items and don't inform at the time of checkout. It was pathetic to count mini bar items infront of tired guest who just want to keep their luggage and retired on bed.
At the restaurant, staff gave me sheet of items that can be served to people booked on MAP plan. Only basic things were mentioned and than too they did not serve one item and changed the dessert from costly one to the item made of rice.
In the morning, when i asked to refill the soap in the common toilet near restaurant, staff told me that it can not be done and you have to wait.
During the breakfast timings, they closed the toilet that can be used in restaurant. On repeated request it was not opened. I had to take my 3 years son who can not control for long to open area to urinate. Their service is really pathetic. I request all of you, avoid this hotel.
Only bachelors and people who do not care about self pride, can go there.

Regards,
Amit

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amit17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear Sir,

We are disappointed to learn about your less than perfect experience at Hotel Calangute Grande. It is our constant endeavor to ensure that our guests experience the best of hospitality and the inconveniences that you faced during the tenure of your stay are highly regretted. We have reviewed each observation of yours and have taken cognizance of key observations which can be improved for a better experience at the hotel. Please be assured that we will go above and beyond to address the shortcomings pointed out by you to ensure that they are not repeated in the future.

Thanks for staying with us and sharing your feedback on this forum. Sincerely look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future, without any complaints.


Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I visited goa with my wife and 1yr old daughter for the first time, and was recommended Calangute grande and it was indeed a great choice.

We were greeted by Ratul, who offered us a good deal with complimentary breakfast. The room were well maintained and had quick and attentive room service. We had a great experience, the staff are exceptionally friendly, specially Suk Kumar and Prakash.

the food here was the best we had eaten among every where else. Specially the Tandoori Fish grill and tiger prawn masala.

I would recommend this hotel and plan on revisiting it soon..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saif_Shakir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at Calangute Grande & taking the time, to share your holiday experience at Calangute Grande on trip advisor, have conveyed the same to our associates.
Sincerely look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I just returned from a week staying at this hotel. It is nice but could be improved just by changing a few minor things!

Firstly everyone wants to know about location. It is about a 5 minute wander to the beach and about a 5 minute wander to the main area. Taxi to Baga is about 150 rupees (Currently about £1.75)

The room was nice. Quite large, nice bathroom. There was a phone outside the room down the corridor which didn't stop ringing which could be heard clearly in our room! Annoying! Also we would often get a call at 10.15am to remind us about breakfast again, annoying as we know the time and knew we didn't want breakfast.

The pool area is tiny. I wasn't a fan of the beach (crowded and a bit dirty and wouldn't feel relaxed down there. Too many people bothering us plus we are pool people anyway) Now with the pool being so small was ok all the time we was the only Western people there relaxing by the pool... all it needs is a couple more people staying there and they would hit a problem. 4 sun loungers isn't a lot.

Receptionist wasn't too friendly. A female who wasn't impressed that Agoda had us down as breakfast included when they don't normally offer that. Think that is between them not us!

Food was nice at the hotel, but could be a tiny bit slow on the service.

We had a mini bar in the room and this was not overpriced like I would expect a hotel to be. Only thing was they never topped it up. Once it was used it was used! Missing a trick there I think! Also we tried to pay the night before we was checking out as we didn't want to be dealing with it at 4,45am but they said no.

They also have a spa and my friend had a pedicure. The lady isn't always on site so they had to call her and she didn't have a huge selection of colours. Three I think it was, so my friend even donated a bottle of her own polish to her! But my friend said it was nice up there and the lady was nice.

I think I have remembered everything!

If the hotel reads this I hope it takes away the following points:
1. Sort out the tiny pool area. Few more loungers and could be tidied up a bit
2. Restock the mini bar
3. Friendlier Receptionist
4. If someone isn't at breakfast that is there issue!
5. and finally stop calling the phone on the 1st floor! It wakes us up at all hours!!

But these are minor issues!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sair1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear Madam/Sir,

We thank u for your valuable suggestions, and our team already started working on areas suggested by you.
We look forward to welcome you again to this room with all necessary changes.
Hope to welcome u soon at Calangute Grande.


Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
0.2 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 116 in Calangute
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#100 of 116 in Calangute
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#7 of 116 in Calangute
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 116 in Calangute
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 116 in Calangute
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calangute Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calangute Grande

Address: Maddo Vaddo | Near Poriat Football Ground, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range: $49 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Calangute Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Calangute Grande. Enjoy Calangute Grande luxury with access to the pristine beaches of Calangute. During your stay you could indulge in water sports, play at the world famous casinos, go fishing or hike in unspoiled natural wilderness. Breathe in the fresh air. Marvel at a sky full of stars. And savor exquisite dining wrapped in panoramic beach views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Calangute Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calangute Grande Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing