We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true value for money...”
Review of Calangute Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calangute Grande
Ranked #4 of 210 Calangute B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“true value for money...”
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I had stayed at this hotel for 5 days on a MAP package. I have different feedback for the hotel and the restaurant. The hotel is small but good and is situated at an excellent location. Its hardly 10min (<1KM) walk from Calangute Beach. The hotel staff is also good and was very cooperative. The room services were quick. The rooms are neither big but nor too small. There are two types of rooms available in this hotel. The only difference is the size of the balcony. Road facing rooms are slightly bigger and have a big balcony while all other room have a very small balcony. The small balcony has very limited space and hardly two people can stand. The swimming pool is small but not that bad.
Now we come to the restaurant.... they provide buffet breakfast which has lot of varities. Full marks for that. But the dinner is pathetic. They have a fixed menu for dinner (for MAP package) with very few items. All other things that you order will be billed into your account. And restaurant services for dinner is even worse than the menu. I had to wait at least 30-40 min daily before the dinner is served. This is because restaurant people gives preference to other customer(who actually pay for the dinner) and room service. I fought once with the restaurant people and complained about it to the hotel manager. Next day the things were on track :)
But I would say my overall experience was very good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahajan_Rahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your detailed review at TripAdvisor. Guest feedback plays a pivotal role in our overall progress and as much delighted as we are to have impressed you with our rooms and hospitality services, we have also duly noted your concern. Rest assured, we would discuss your suggestion and provide a par excellence experience when you visit us next. Once again thank you for check in at our hotel and we would love to welcome you on your next trip to Goa.

Best Regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    169
    53
    10
    8
See reviews for
118
197
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

excellant hotel quiet location staff are great good food large bedroom very comfotable would recomend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you for choosing Hotel Calangute Grande and summarizing your pleasant experience at this forum. It is great to know that we could match your expectations and be in sync with the wonderful reviews that are shared here. Your review is a perfect credit to the services we offer and has delighted the entire team.

We thank you again for staying with us and look forward to your continuous support and patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We reached Goa from Mumbai via an early morning flight. The driver was there from the hotel (You need to pay extra for Airport pickup/drop). The driver (Francis) was a friendly chap who gave us good company and information on what to do and what to see on the way. On reaching the hotel to our horror we realized that there was no room empty. So we had to wait from 7.30 in the morning to 11.30 till the room got empty and was cleaned. There are very few rooms in the hotel so we didn't even get a place to rest or freshen up. Plus the lady attendant over there was a little weird. On asking her if they can rush and get one of the rooms ready a little early, she frowned as if I had asked her to give the whole hotel over to me.

Apart from that, the room's were strictly ok. The room we were given (205) needed a paint job for sure. 1 of the light fixtures was not working. The bathroom's were clean and tidy. So that was a saving point. The rooms are small so if you are looking for an extra bed, it hardly has any place to put in something.

The restaurant was pretty good. The Goan Rice and Curry were amongst the best I had in Goa. Much better then places like Fisherman's Cove (Candolim).

The breakfast is simple, bread, butter, toast, eggs to order, one canned juice, tea, coffee, milk, flakes(no cold milk) and one indian disk for breakfast everyday. I would have expected some salami or something, but it was not available.

The location of the hotel can be the saving grace. It's just 5 mins from the Market and another 5 mins to the Beach. If you want a bike you have Damien just opposite the hotel who will give you bikes, which seem to be pretty well maintained since he own's his own garage. The parking space available in the hotel is strictly OK and the lobby and all are nothing but running passages.

The swimming pool is more of a baby pool with a length of around 7-8 meters at max i think. Over all it's a decent place to sleep at night, not spend the day at. If you are looking to spend all day here, then this is not the place for you. The prices are a little steep if you compare the property, but it's Goa almost everything here is overpriced :D

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pratik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you for staying at Hotel Calangute Grande and sharing your reviews at this forum.
We are disappointed to know about your less than perfect experience at our hotel. we are constantly committed to provide excellent accommodation and best hospitality services to our esteemed guest. But the inconveniences you faced during your stay are highly regretted. We have reviewed each observation of yours and taken all the corrective measures to improve the same. Please be assured that we will go above and beyond to address the shortcomings pointed out by you to ensure that they are not repeated in the future.
once again thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome and serve you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2011

This January 2011 I went to goa and stay there. Rooms are very good by ambience but staff is not proactive. You have to make lot of calls for every things. I think tariff is little bit high.. but for couples rooms were good. Breakfast did not have verity. In 2 days we ate idli , aloo partha in morning

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip_Lover03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing the same here.
Its great to know that you found our rooms nice and comfortable. We have also noted your worries, we will take corrective measures to improve the same.
Once again thank you very much for your reviews and We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2010

It's a perfect place if you want a good hotel at an affordable price. I had been with my family and my son liked the place a lot. Though the swimming pool is small, but the place is very clean, friendly staff. We had two rooms booked for us and we needed to check out late, the staff was very helpful to shift us in one room. They charged us for one room and allowed us to check out in the night. The food in their restaurant is not that great. But would definately love to stay again in this place again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank van_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing here at this forum. At our hotel we are committed in providing the best of everything to our esteemed guests. From bespoke service to attention to detail, we ensure that every aspect of a guest’s stay is at par with excellence. It is indeed a delight to know that we could take care of you and your family and extend a pleasant experience. once again thank you for your nice reviews and we would love to welcome you at your next trip to Goa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
location
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days and the rooms,service, food etc beat my expectations. If at all I revisit goa, then I would definitly stay here ONLY.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank prasadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review at this forum.
We are glad to know that we could not only please you with our facilities but also extend a lasting impression with our bespoke hospitality. Once again, thank you for staying at our hotel, and we would love to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I entered directly without any reservation and i got good sea facing room. Hotel is located near calangute beach. Walkable distance. Service is good. Staffs are co-operative. Good rooms with basic amenities available.
I got good tariff package also with walkin directly to hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KapilGodhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you for check in at our hotel and sharing your reviews here.
It makes us happy to know that we could please you with our service and amenities and make your stay pleasant. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#7 of 110 in Calangute
608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 110 in Calangute
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#15 of 110 in Calangute
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Severina
Casa Severina
#6 of 110 in Calangute
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calangute Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calangute Grande

Property: Calangute Grande
Address: Maddo Vaddo | near poriat football ground, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Calangute Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Calangute Grande. Enjoy Calangute Grande luxury with access to the pristine beaches of Calangute. During your stay you could indulge in water sports, play at the world famous casinos, go fishing or hike in unspoiled natural wilderness. Breathe in the fresh air. Marvel at a sky full of stars. And savor exquisite dining wrapped in panoramic beach views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Calangute Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calangute Grande Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing