We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Service”

Sunflower Beach Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunflower Beach Resort
Ranked #142 of 204 Calangute B&B and Inns
BLR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel suitable for only Gujurati.Very poor room service.Not properly maintained.They only look for money not service.Room condition are very pathetic.Close to calugute beach is the only criteria meets by hotel to stay.Everything else is very poor.Peoples behaviour are also very poor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Arun20112012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    6
    4
    9
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

In the first place this was not the hotel that was booked and we were forced to stay here as the hotel we had booked in was under going renovation which was brought to our notice only half hour before reaching there...

the rooms were very dirty.. Bathroom was dirty and stinks.. the linen and towels were dirty .... the room that we were given first was Infested with insects and rats.. hence asked for a change of room... The room we got was also dirty but was better than the previous.

The corridors were always dirty.. with used cups and plates as they don't clear the dishes on time after providing room service.. the pool was dirty so we chose no to use it...

It is impossible to expect room service before 8 am..

the only USP is the locating around 5 mins from the Calangute beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DipRo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Bangalore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We had booked this hotel through an online travel site and despite the mixed reviews here on Tripadvisor, we took a chance.
Note that this hotel is more like a dormitory. All the rooms are on the first floor.
We had booked a Super Deluxe Room. On arrival, I requested for a pool facing room and was provided one just near the staircase. The room was extremely dirty when we entered and the bathroom was stinking. The bedsheets were not even properly cleaned. We immediately asked for a change of rooms but were notified that there are no more super deluxe rooms available but only deluxe riooms (twin sharing). Fortunately, they made some adjustments and joined the beds.
After around 3 hours we realized that the Air Conditioning wasn't really cooling the room. I asked them to check it out and change the room if A/C can't be sorted out. Initially, the lady at the reception refused saying that this is not possible. However, they did call a technician who after inspecting the machine said that we need to keep the A/C switched off for a few hours before it can cool. The receptionist thankfully changed the room this time, but it was not a poolside room but rather towards the main road. The bathroom was very dirty and had no window...so basically no ventilation!!!
While changing the room I also noticed that the bedsheets (used ones) in the room that we were vacating , were not being changed. So the next occupants definitely were going to get a used bed!!!
While checking in at 11AM, they had not provided any towels and I had repeatedly reminded them for the same. Each time they said that the laundry hasn't arrived...Finally, the towels were provided around 6PM in the evening.

They don't clean the corridors or clear the plates (from room service) very frequently. The corridor stank of cigarette smoke always. Floor cleaning mops were lying around the corridor at all times.
Btw, do not even ask them for water in the room. They probably wash/clean the mopping clothes in the water cooler kept at the end of the corridor (near Room#119/118). Better get your own bottle of water purchased from outside.

Overall, I would say, avoid the hotel. The only good thing is that it is very very close to the beach (about 5 minutes walk). Oh, and they also arranged for a taxi when I checked out. had requested for the same a night earlier.

Room Tip: Ask for the pool side room away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BivasMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Good : Near to calangute beach, lots of shops around. Hanuman and Shanbhu will help you where ever possible, Pure veg ok types food.

Bad: pool was not clean; Rooms were stinking; Some times water goes off; Cabel TV connection is not proper(No signals most of the times) A/C's were not maintained properly./ Clara(The lady at the reception) is a liability to the hotel she was very rude and not fit for the customer relation executive and Mr. Gupta (Owner) is least bothered about his hotel and guests.No manager no customer service, Over all a bad experience. IT IS NOT AT ALL a 3 STAR HOTEL you can compre it with some kind of dharmshala.
It would be good to check other properties with better feedback.

Room Tip: dont try this hotel, there are better places around. not value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nitin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

The hotel is fine. The rooms are clean but not exceptional. The hotel is well located and has a nice pool and patio with an all right restaurant. The beach is only a couple of minutes down the road.

There is an internet café in the hotel, but it is a bit pricey (there's another one just up the street for half price).

The hotel is fine, but there are very likely better options in Calangute if you look around a bit.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool-side room to be off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyne-et-Gael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

Hi This is saili & Sandeep
We are giving you this review bcoz we don't like this hotel, they charge so much for A/C rooms but you will not come to know that whether you are in A/C room or Non A/C room, when we enter in the room it was stinking very badly. Not clean properly. tab's are not working properly. Food quality also not good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saili22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

I was travelling with my wife so searched a lot over the net for a budget hotel with good location,and finally decided to book this hotel.However before reaching this hotel was very worried as hardly there is any review about this hotel.So finally when we reached was very much satisfied with the hotel as the rooms were nice,location was great only 5 mins walking distance and moreover they have this veg restaurant which was very nice So if you are looking for a good budget hotel definitely you can opt for this.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bitadru G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.1 mi away
Popeye's Guest House
Popeye's Guest House
#84 of 204 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Calangute Grande
Calangute Grande
#5 of 204 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.1 mi away
BR Holiday Resort
BR Holiday Resort
#50 of 204 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Camelot Beach Resort
The Camelot Beach Resort
#50 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Theresa
Hotel Villa Theresa
#81 of 204 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Queen Guest House
Beach Queen Guest House
#76 of 204 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Beach Resort

Property: Sunflower Beach Resort
Address: | Umta Vaddo, Opposite Football Ground, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunflower Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sunflower Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing