We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent (again)”
Review of Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle House
Ranked #3 of 225 Calangute B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Our second time at the Castle House and like the first visit we found that it ticked all the boxes. Location is good, rooms are cleaned daily and all linen/towels changed.We enjoyed the food so much we tended to eat at the hotel, it is tasty( spiced to your requirements) and very reasonably priced.( thanks to Suren and chef for the chicken 65 recipe). Dev and all the staff are all fantastic, like meeting old friends.Since last year, the roof terrace has been tiled and offers unbroken sunshine without the hassle of the beach. Also, the trees have been cut back round the pool area giving a bit more sunshine to that area. If you think these reviews are being managed then feel free to contact me via trip advisor. It really does deserve the reviews it gets.Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ep6149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 453 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed there for one night on 23rd January. It is the worst hotel in my life so far (i go for vacation twice in a year).
The owner is very very arrogant and had put us in a room near the bar. I had booked it from makemytrip and charged Rs.1800/-.
But i think people who came directly paid much much lesser. Also, the rooms were not worth more than Rs.400/-, in a very
very bad condition. Even though i was with my family, they didnt change my room and whole night i had to bear the noise from
the bar (well that is not a bar, it is like a small shady place of the lowest quality, from the look itself one can make out
that this is a negative star hotel.). This hotel is never neve recommended for family, bachelors can go there directly and if
they can negotiate it for Rs.400/, then it is okay.
No one can take bath in swimming pool, i have not seen anybody. The water is very bad and they dont change the water also.
Only using fishing net, they clean any weeds/leaves present, thats it..
Luckily next day i had a booking at 'calangute residency' and that covered up the earlier night bad experience.
I would rate this hotel as zero star.
And one more thing, this hotel is atleast 1km from the beach and no one knows about this hotel from the main road. After reaching,
i had to call them to send somebody as no one knows about this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbhattac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devmails, Owner at Castle House, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

thank u so much for your review
i am so glad u wer not happy with the hotel
when u give respect , u will get respect
u give love u get love back ,
thats the motto of our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Castle House has to be one of my fave hotels in North Goa. Perfectly situated behind the Calangute Road tucked away from the noise. It is accessible through two entrances, the first being by Bombay Bazzar by Calangute Panchayat and the other by the road down the side of the red lion (by Colonia De Braganza).

The staff are amazing. The manager/owner is hands on and always around. the hotel is only small as is the sunbathing area and pool but the beaches are very close so this is no bother.

The bar staff and room boys are brilliant. They are extremly trusting and look after you immensly.

The rooms are basic but come with a fridge and free air con, a TV and reasonable storage space. The bathroom has shower toilet and sink and is fine for your needs.

The rooms have a small balcony which is nice to sit out and look at the street below if your on the outside of the hotel.

They have free safety boxes you just need to get your own padlock.

I had to come home early from my holiday due to a bereavement. the hotel staff were outstanding. It was New Years Eve so very busy and the manager offered to take me to the airport if we could not raise a taxi. He also offered to take me to Bambolin whre I had to collect my new flight tickets from. he let me use the reception phone and internet and was extremly concerned about my situation.

I have stayed here three times now and all the guests get together before going out and all have a good natter.

I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StellaLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Castle House, especially because of the wonderful owner DEV n hotel staff SATYA, UTHAPPA, SUBRAMANIUM n all who are always helpful, caring, and always around for a friendly chat. You feel like you are staying with a big family when you come to Castle House. The hotel is in a good location (a short walk to beaches, food, taxis, etc.), the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the price (we booked through cleartrip.com) was fair. Most important the bathroom was very neat and clean with hot n cold water shower.Overall, it was a great place to stay and we'd recommend it to friends. Castel House Rockzzzz

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anuj1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

From the day we arrived to the day we left Castle House we had a fantastic stay.

We weren't looking to stop in a 5* holiday resort and were simply looking for somewhere to come and get our heads down, spend a little time around the pool and have a few drinks and the odd bite to eat.

For these reasons the hotel suited us perfectly and the prices were also more than reasonable.

I felt breakfast and food in general was good, the staff and manager could not do enough for you including taking you out to eat at some of the local indian food venues and going out in the middle of the night to get you medication if you idn't feel so well.

This was our first time to Goa, however if and when we return I am certain we will be going back to Castle House.

Even when complaints were made about the palm trees shading the pool area, the next day the local gardner was round to remove some of the palm leaves. They really couldn't do enough for you.

Steve and Jenna (Coventry, England)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flanagans323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

This B&B was just perfect for what we needed on holiday. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, and the staff went out of their way to do what they could to help. We arrived really early in the morning, and even though check in wasn't til 12, our room was ready and we didn't have to sit on our suitcases :)
Great food and bar service, clean rooms, towels and sheets changed every day, lovely location and brilliant staff. I'd recommend the Castle House to anyone who is looking for a good value B&B with lovely staff.

Oh, and if anyone is staying there now, can you please put suncream on Snowy the kitten's ears? Ta!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claret_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Castle House, especially because of the wonderful owner DEV n hotel staff SATYA, UTHAPPA, SUBRAMANIUM n all who are always helpful, caring, and always around for a friendly chat. You feel like you are staying with a big family when you come to Castle House. The hotel is in a good location (a short walk to beaches, food, taxis, etc.), the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the price (we booked through cleartrip.com) was fair. Most important the bathroom was very neat and clean with hot n cold water shower.Overall, it was a great place to stay and we'd recommend it to friends. Castel House Rockzzzz

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank anuj1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.1 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#97 of 119 in Calangute
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort- An AccorHotels Brand
0.7 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#48 of 119 in Calangute
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#26 of 119 in Calangute
130 reviews
0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#105 of 119 in Calangute
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 119 in Calangute
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Address: Lavina Street Opp. Calangute Panchayat | Naikka Vado, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range: $15 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 24 room hotel is small and cozy Budget place 10 minutes walking to the Calangute beach (Calangute - Baga - Candolim is one long beach). Our hotel has a SWIMMING POOL, a BAR and a restaurant that serves Indian, Chinese, continental and Goan seafood. Other places: Anjuna 15 min, Vagator 25 min, Arambol 40 min, clubs discos 10 min, Panjim 20 min, old Goa 30 min, Donapaula 30 min, Saturday night bazaar 15 min, flea market 15 min, Aguada Fort, lighthouse 10 min, Chapora fort 20 min (in taxi/bike). Rooms: we have simple clean rooms with TV, AC, wardrobe fridge, bathroom hot/cold water, sit out/balcony. We also have safe deposit lockers (free use - you need to bring your own lock). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing