We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle House
Ranked #2 of 204 Calangute B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Experience”
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We 7 friends went to Goa for the weekend and stayed at this place for just a night. A bit on the inside though, this place was an ideal one to relax. Rooms were quite clean and maintained with all equipments working well. The swimming pool was very clean and pool table, pub next to it was the best we could get.The staff too was very cooperative..esp Dev, the owner and manager of the place. As we had to leave in the evening, he arranged for a room for us at no extra cost. I've been around many resorts across South east asia but for the price, this place is an amazing experience. A Definite recommend to a budget traveller. Will stay there for a longer duration.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vik119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    175
    32
    11
    18
See reviews for
76
182
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Vizag
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

The hotel was quite ok. But the swimming pool was too small. staffs were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank subir_ghosh4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devmails, Owner at Castle House, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
the swimming pool water capacity is more than 100000 ltrs so it comes under big pool category

u dont enjoy the pool un less you enter in it ,it just looks small because of coconut palms in it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

We were moved into this hotel as part of the volcanic ash re-location by Cosmos. We found the staff on the reception charming and eager to help. Our rooms were on the first floor, which I think was a good thing as it reduced the potential noise from the pool, bar, and pool table. Our bed was vast, comfortable, and sheets changed most days. The fridge was rather noisy at times, but useful to have. The food provided was abundant and we were pleased with its quality. Breakfasts were fine, service rather relaxed at times but eventually you do get served. The cushions on the sunbeds seem to be the mattresses slept on by the staff who sleep in the reception area. Towels are changed daily, and are too small to be of much use on the sunbeds, so you should pack your own. It took us 12 minutes to walk down to the beach for our daily sundowner. Although Calangute would not be my first choice destination in Goa, and although we did not have any choice about staying in this hotel I found this little hotel provided welcoming, basic accommodation with pleasant and kind staff who helped us through a difficult time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tranquilnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devmails, owner at Castle House, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
you all came from 5*7 star hotel to my place
,due to volcanic ash problem flight delay

i am happy to be of some help in your difficult times

owner
dev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2010

my wife & i arrived morning 26 of feb,this was our 3rd time to goa ,our first impression on arrival was ah no .its the location of the hotel.on .entering our room we found a very large bed, on it whiter than white clean sheets ,in most hotels in goa they are lighter shade of grey.the room was cool & fresh ac + fan.sheets towels changed every day .room &shower room cleaned every day we did not have one bad meal there..the staff from management to et the dog are brillient.like i said location but all there hotels seem to have this in common. pluss the barking of dogs every night .my advice to anyone reading reviews lok at the + & not the negative.we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lambrto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

i stayed in a five star hotel egypt last june this hotel obviously not got same facilities but the homeliness and friendlyness are second to none cant wait to get back next year

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricky51Blackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed for two weeks in January 2010, 2 double rooms. The rooms were spacious, clean (sheets and towels changed daily) and plenty of hot water. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel dog ET is lovely and we were sad to leave him. Dev the manager is a great guy and very helpful. Its the best breakfast we have ever had in Goa for a 2 star hotel - individual pots of tea or coffee, fresh fruit juice, cereal or two toasts and 2 eggs cooked anyway you like, including omlette, poached, boiled, etc. It was also the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on in Goa!

Things I would think of to improve it would be:
The lovely staff in a uniform (not too formal) - gives them a feeling of pride and customers more of a sense of service,
Dev to finish off the top sun roof - great space, just in need of TLC and finishing off!!
Put menus out on the tables in the evening with lights or candles. Apparently the dinners are very good, but guests need to see what's on offer and how much it is.

Overall, a good stay and we would stay again.
Many thanks

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mambo69cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Stayed at the Castlehouse for 4 weeks in January, found everything to be excellent. Rooms cleaned daily, same with the pool. Our room had aircon, fridge and TV all included in the price.All the staff were great, slight problem with language as I had not bothered to learn any Hindi however we all got by (trouble with brits we expect everyone to learn english)
We ate at the hotel on many occasions and were not disappointed , food cooked to our spec. and it's very reasonable in price and quantity
The location is good, just a short walk to the town centre and a 10 min stroll to the beach.For those who know Calangute, the hotel can be accessed from the road down from the Red lion, this is well lit, or from the road down from Rabbie Burns which is not as well lit due to a faulty streen light.
The swimming pool is a good size although due to its shape gives the impression of being smaller, it's a good swim from one end to the other.
No entertainment which was a blessing, we prefer a quiet drink.
Trips can be organised by the hotel which are cheaper than tour operators who charge more for the same thing.
Only a couple of sun loungers round the pool that catch the sun however there is a roof terrace that has about six beds that offer a chance to catch unbroken sunshine.
All in all a really nice hotel with great staff and management who look for and in fact do carry out ongoing improvements( we had mattress toppers put into all rooms a couple of days beore we left)
We will be returning, hopefully sooner rather than later

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ep6149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.7 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#9 of 110 in Calangute
506 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santiago Beach Resort
Santiago Beach Resort
#21 of 110 in Calangute
381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#95 of 110 in Calangute
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#13 of 110 in Calangute
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#17 of 110 in Calangute
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#4 of 110 in Calangute
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Property: Castle House
Address: Lavina Street Opp. Calangute Panchayat | Naikka Vado, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 24 room hotel is small and cozy Budget place 10 minutes walking to the Calangute beach (Calangute - Baga - Candolim is one long beach). Our hotel has a SWIMMING POOL, a BAR and a restaurant that serves Indian, Chinese, continental and Goan seafood. Other places: Anjuna 15 min, Vagator 25 min, Arambol 40 min, clubs discos 10 min, Panjim 20 min, old Goa 30 min, Donapaula 30 min, Saturday night bazaar 15 min, flea market 15 min, Aguada Fort, lighthouse 10 min, Chapora fort 20 min (in taxi/bike). Rooms: we have simple clean rooms with TV, AC, wardrobe fridge, bathroom hot/cold water, sit out/balcony. We also have safe deposit lockers (free use - you need to bring your own lock). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing