We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle House
Nearby Hotels
Citrus Goa(Calangute)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Calangute Goa(Calangute)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Palms Goa(Calangute)
$45
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$131
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little India Beach Cottages(Calangute)(Great Value!)
$29
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primo Bom Terra Verde(Calangute)(Great Value!)
$48
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveler rating
223
178
32
11
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
178
32
11
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hoteltandoori nightsvalue for moneyswimming poolcalangute beachkaraoke nightplace to stayrooms are cleanair conwet roomwalking distancevisited this hotelmain roadroom servicecleaned dailytaxi driverpleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 463 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks over new year, as our friend pauline quite rightly said! we are not sure how other people can write a poor review of this great hotel. From the minute you arrive till the minute you leave which is always too soon, everybody does everything to make it a great stay. The hotel is situated close enough to enjoy the busy strip!!! but far enough away to be in a relaxed and very friendly enviroment. The fabulous beach is just an easy 10 minute stroll away. There are only a few sun beds but in 2 weeks we never found a problem in getting a couple to recover from the excess that always seem to come with a fantastic holiday! The food is fabulous and allows you to try different culinary tastes you might not at home. If you book this hotel without any preconceptions you will have a brilliant time. Thank you all for a great holiday Andy and Suzy

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank andy19690806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had Goa trip in Dec-2012, we stayed in this hotel. The location is good as callanguate beach is just a few minute walk.Food was good, Staff was good, but the hotel manger was anoying, when I asked him to give me the bill, he said get it from tripadvisor because he gave it to them, so he can't give the another copy or I pay him toatal amount again to get the copy of that bill. Swimming pool, restaurent and bar are together at one place so not private and very cozy.
The rooms are old, elctric wire's are join the masking tape even in the toilet, the pilow was smelling very bad I threw it in the mid night and above all manager's attitude was awful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hillvij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dev m, Owner at Castle House, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

mr vijay b u first of all ucan not book through tripadvisor

and if u have paid an agent for booking , the agent will give u receipt of your payment
u can not get 2 receipts for the same stay to get your money twice from your company
u cannot bribe me for a another receipt ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 weeks and loved it. This is not a 5 star establishment so I am not sure why other reviewer would be moaning about dress codes and training!!! I found ALL of the staff amazing. if you treat people well then they will reciprocate( no matter how little they may be paid by european standards). Our room was cleaned very well every day - thanks boys. Breakfast was served every day with a dazzling smile by a well educated staff. - hope you get the government job soon.Try the Indian breakfasts they are all great. Going for 6 weeks next year so I have the e.mail address. Big thank you to everyone

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a well run rather basic hotel, with friendly staff, pleasant and quiet.
It says that there is free Wi Fi, but over 21 days it was on for i-2 days, and slow. There is a set up on the end of the bar, which uyou use, but are surrond y loads of people, not very private.
Also there is sometimes a dawn chorus by loads of dogs at 1, 2 , 3, or 4o'clock most mornings.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic stay at the Castlehouse over Christmas and New Year. It is a peaceful little hideaway with a personal feel. The rooms are large, quite basic (this is Goa), but have good air con and TV, phone, cleaned every day with clean linen. Beds comfy and very large. The food was excellent, good choice for breakfast and everything at a very very good price. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. Dev the Manager was fantastic, he even helped us organise a party for my friends birthday with live music and tandoori man. The hotel dog was amazing and accompanied us and other guests to the beach. We loved it and would definitely return. Thank you to all the lovely staff and management.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews