We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont bother!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Over the Flames

Over the Flames
Ranked #54 of 408 Restaurants in Calangute
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Italian, Seafood, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dont bother!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place is over priced with a dismal service and sub standard food. The bar staff are pig ignorant and seem to sneer at you when you ask what the poorly spelt menu actually means.
We ordered several courses just to give them the benefit but all were equally crap. We asked to see the manager to tell him about the vinegar (Wine they said) and was told he was too busy, Not one to make a fuss, we just left and will never be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ASA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    46
    22
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
U.K.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely if you don`t mind the Mossies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

A very good restaurant with very good service & food, some nights there is traditional entertainment. better if you can sit inside, as you can be eaten alive outside unless covered in Odomos, & it stinks lol. The Odomos that is not the Restaurant, that is very well decorated with very comfortable furniture.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SUNSCREENZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Karaoke with Pilkie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you are looking for a good time go on a Friday night when Pilkie is there to entertain you. She is WONDERFUL. Food is average but the entertainment is the best.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KiraMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
185 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A mixed bag..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

It's right by the main and has an inviting signage, but at the same time they have covered the entire outer boundary wall with tarpaulin which is all covered with dust due to being right on the main road hence it can seem quite uninviting as well. Anyways, we used to cross it a lot and decided to take our chances one evening. Tired after a long day at the beach and a drive, while we were immediately welcomed and given a table, but there seemed to be some kind of condescension in the attitude of the European lady owner. She was going about in a strict and impatient manner with the staff which seemed to make them most/all a nervous wreck. Didn't come across as friendly, spoke only to select guests, wanted to go all put to please a big group of around 15-20 people ignoring others which resulted in delay in service on almost all tables. Maybe she was nervous herself, but instead of managing the situation she was making the staff really jittery.
The waiter serving us did a good job although overall the service was a little disappointing since the orders took a lot of time. We'd ordered wine and beer and the wine took a long time. We ordered chicken tikka for starters and it took really long, although I must say there were really well done. The food too took it's own sweet time to come although again I must say the food quality was excellent.
The ambience was nice, music good in spurts and the service a mixed bag.
In terms of price it definitely borders on the expensive side as compared to eateries in Goa, maybe it's targeting customer only for formal dining alright with shelling out some extra money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellerNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Fantastic Steak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Visted last week and met by Dawn - after some 'cheeky' exchanges we were shown our table - best steak in Goa and my wife enjoyed her Pomfret, Service was a tad slow but it was busy and one table of 14 were quite impatient and to pacify them the staff went out of their way to get them served quickly - you can only cook so many meals at one time!! HAd some friendly banter with Dawn and had promised to return but Food poisoning from a Beach shack in Mordrem Beach put paid to that! Overall dining experience - very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoanCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Over the Flames also viewed

 

Been to Over the Flames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing