We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money but Scope of Improvement ..”
Review of Cap's Corner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cap's Corner
Reviewed August 26, 2013

It was my 3rd Visit to Goa and first Stay in Cap's Corner Hotel. we were 4 friends and booked 2 Rooms (Non AC). There are mixed review about Cap's corner with 70 % (Good) and 30 % (area of Improvement).

Positive:

Nice Locality
Near to Beach (Calangute and Baga)
Clean rooms (Yet TV arrangement in room pathetic)
Supportive and well behaved staff
Nominal Charges

Area of Improvement:

Complimentary Breakfast time (till 10:30 AM) .. I mean who does breakfast at 10:30 when u are on vacation in City like Goa. Time need an extension.
TV arrangement in room. (Seriously need to be change location as it was fitted at roof so you need to lay down to watch TV) and please increase no of channels.

Overall It was good experience during my stay in Goa.

I would recommend it for those who are thinking for a value for money stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saurabh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capscorner, Guest Relations Manager at Cap's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hi Saurabh!.
Thank you for your patronage and having taken time to pen this very honest & constructive review.
We appreciate your positive as well as negative points highlighted , beginning with the negative: Our breakfast timing has been thoughtfully laid down after checking the average complimentary breakfast timings within the small hotel /guest house / budget guest house category (mostly non-existent or between 8.am. to 10.00 a.m.). Your points regarding the television are duly noted and will be addressed as soon as possible.
Saurabh, we are a small but ambitious guest house which believes that its success is partly the outcome of constructive criticism taken seriously.
Thank you once again for the same; we hope to welcome you home again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 308 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

A load of thanks to Mr. Gomes, Melissa and the entire staff of Cap's corner for an fantastic time..from the outset these guys were very friendly and helpful..
to summarise our trip: Amazing location. Very courteous staff. Good service. Leads to freaking awesome holiday..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gourav_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capscorner, Guest Relations Manager at Cap's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi Gourav!. Thank you for your crisp review. We're all glad you had a good time along with your friends at Cap's Corner & we're looking forward to welcoming you home for some more good times. Until then, all the very best to you!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A bunch of us stayed 3 nights and it was awesome. It was simple, clean, safe and very home-like. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The place is in a great location and you can hire cars/bikes from the front desk. Only wish they had better complementary breakfast options for vegetarians. Overall we had a wonderful experience and I would definitely recommend Cap's Corner to my friends and will visit again as well. A to-go place if you are going with friends !!! :D

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shilzgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capscorner, Guest Relations Manager at Cap's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you Shilpa, for your kind review ! We are glad to have had you and your friends stay with us. We will surely look into the breakfast especially the vegetarian section. We hope to welcome you all home, again, sometime in the near future!.

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We really loved the staff. They were friendly, smiley and really wanted to help. The place is really well located and rooms are clean. We loved the view from the room and Melisa and the team were professional and unobtrusive.

For people looking for somewhere with character and a base for further exploration I would recommend this hotel. Bear in mind however that this is a budget hotel and this is reflected in areas like the bed linen and the complementary breakfast.

In terms of areas for improvement I would say that although the rooms themselves were clean the minibar/fridge in the room needed either a deep clean or to be replaced. The bedding could have been better. It was just basic sheets and old blankets, which is fine, but what was less good were the pillows which do need replacing – they were brown. Finally the breakfast - yes it's complimentary but if you don't like eggs (one of us didn't) you are stuck with toast and jam. On our last day they ran out of jam.... However I can recommend the Mocha cafe bar just down the road for a more filling breakfast. The point is it doesn't matter if its complimentary or not - most holiday makers want filling up in the morning and would probably be happy to pay for more choice... Orange juice, pastries, or even just Indian fare would improve it. It's clearly a point raised by other guests and it needs focus.

Otherwise this place does things very well indeed and the staff are fantastic - the place just needs a little investment to get five stars from me. I would stay here again however!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capscorner, Owner at Cap's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hello Phil !

Thank you ever so much for your kind yet frank & constructive review. Overall we are all glad to have read of your pleasurable stay, not to mention your gracious recommendation. To ensure a complete acknowledgement of your points;
1) Linen & pillows - We are overtly particular about this and assure you that we changed the blankets & the pillows even though their original colour was brown.
2) The Complimentary breakfast - I would like to humbly disagree to your point and reinstate our email bearing our quotation and room description to you, which describes an extensive breakfast in detail, vegetarian options as well! Furthermore we have an extensive breakfast menu on a chargeable basis , please accept my apologies if the menu wasn't brought to your attention.
Sir, you can be assured of a confident 5 star allotment for us from you the next time around as we look forward to welcoming you home again, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed 2 nights and it was great! Melisa at the front desk is extremely friendly and helpful and even greeted me with a flower upon my arrival and arranged for an all-day driver to show me around Goa as well. I was also greeted with a fresh lime soda and flowers on a tray after I got to my clean and large room. The place is in a great location and is definitely worth the stay (and it includes breakfast!). The only downside was that the terrace restaurant wasn't open because it is off-season and I was looking forward to trying their food. But if you go next door to Indian Spice, you'll get a discount on your meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SloaneStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capscorner, Owner at Cap's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Hello Sloane!

Thank you so much for your patronage and kind review, we are all glad your stay was peaceful & pleasurable. We're also sad that you did not get a chance to experience our great cuisine, mainly due to maintenance which is usually carried out during this period.
Having said that, we hope to welcome you home, in the near future, with all our services at your beckon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Ok, I'm sure you'll have stayed at more so-called upmarket expensive hotels but if you're looking for the warmest welcome, the best service and the friendliest staff on your trip to Goa then stop searching now. Capy, Carmen and Clayton are the best hosts you can imagine, they will tell you that their hotel is a 'home away from home' and that's exactly what it is, nothing is too much trouble for the super attentive staff (A particular mention here goes to Chandru who's attentiveness and quality of service is exceptional and Melissa who greets you with a warm smile and makes sure your every need is seen to during your stay). The rest of the staff - Kumar, Prakash, Vishnu, Gautam (sorry if I missed anyone) are also excellent. If you want a relaxing holiday where you can just put your feet up, enjoy the Goan lifestyle and be looked after in a way that you wouldn't get at hotels costing five times the price then look no further

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveHalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capscorner, Owner at Cap's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear David,

A BIG thank you for the kind review! It was indeed an our pleasure to have served you. Thank you for your patronage & kindness. Here's to many more of those to come in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you want to experience Goan hospitality at its very best, this is the only place to stay. The motto of Cap's Corner is 'Home away from home' and we agree with this wholeheartedly. Two of us stayed for the final 6 nights of our three week India trip and it was an inspired choice on our part. Capy, Carmen and Clayton are exceptionally warm and welcoming, Add to this the wonderful, attentive and friendly staff and it all adds up to a dream location which offers excellent rooms at excellent prices with great service and great food. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone at Cap's Corner and we fully intend to visit again when we are next in India. Special thanks, not only to Capy and his family, but to Melisa, Kumar, Chandrew (wrong spelling) and Prakash. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goaphjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capscorner, Owner at Cap's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Phillip,

Thank you ever so much for the warm review! We are all very touched by the same. It was indeed an awesome pleasure to have served David & you. Thank you for the wonderful conversations & kindness. Here's to many more of those to come in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.4 mi away
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
0.4 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 116 in Calangute
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
0.3 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
0.9 mi away
Zostel Goa
Zostel Goa
#1 of 247 in Calangute
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap's Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap's Corner

Address: Calangute - Baga Road | Cobrawaddo, Goa, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 247 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Price Range: $24 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap’s Corner is a family run guest house & has been in the business for over 16 years.Our motto is “Value for money at attractive prices”. Centrally located in the ever popular town of Calangute yet nestled away from the busy Calangute — Baga road, Cap’s Corner is only a five minute walk from the beach, the market etc.. We also pride ourselves of regular guests from India & as we as Denmark, Sweden, Germany, the U.K, Ireland & many more .Cap’s Corner has 14 rooms, so everybody is treated as a part of the family, with our warm staff & individualized service. Our objective is to make people feel at home & satisfied by caring for all our guests.Right from our well reputed kitchen to the careful cleaning of your room & to our exquisite individually arranged excursions, we’re sure you feel at home from day one.We are happy to welcome you to sunny Goa & are looking forward to seeing another member of Cap’s Corner’s universal family!. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cap's Corner Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing