We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A class apart”
Review of Amavi by Sumera

Amavi by Sumera
Ranked #1 of 474 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Description: Amavi is a fine dining restaurant in Goa that combines exquisite food with incredible architecture for the best dining experience
Restaurant details
Description: Amavi is a fine dining restaurant in Goa that combines exquisite food with incredible architecture for the best dining experience
Reviewed May 28, 2019

Beautiful spacious restaurant located in a quiet residential area in a corner. Order was taken by Sumera herself whom one of the servers mentioned was the owner and chef herself. She gave good advice and helped us select our dishes. My beef wellington done just a little less than medium was perfect. My wife's assessment was different but I am giving my own rating here. She is vegetarian and ordered some grilled vegetables which she said and I agree were oily, not just grilled.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank analytic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 188 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

When you are sitting in your hotel looking for somewhere to eat and you come across this restaurant then it’s a winner.

The service was amazing and the food was just sublime. I can recommend the beef wellington. Such an amazing plate of food. Uncover this restaurant you will not regret it ❤️

Thank you Sumera for the amazing food and hospitality of your staff.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank cherylberylhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019 via mobile

After reading so many good reviews about this place, we drove all the way from South Goa just to get disappointed by the taste of food. Found all the dishes to be below average. Staff was excellent with good knowledge of each item on the menu. But food taste neither sangria taste couldn't satisfy my taste buds. Extremely disappointed.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank ajinkyaprabhudessai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

We were told to try Amavi by a group of girls in our hotel, so pleased we did, the restaurant has very tasteful decor, the young team serving are very nice and attentive and the food is wonderful, we also tried the cocktails which were excellent, a nice touch was meeting the very talented lady chef who came out to speak to us, we told her how much we enjoyed the evening and would definitely recommend Amavi when you are in Goa....Superb

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

First of all I would dissuade anyone from going her. Its a highly hyped place, nothing extra ordinary. Let me start by systematically telling you why you shouldn't head here. On our entry the Staff made us feel very unwelcome. A Stout North Eastern man bluntly yelled that it will take 45 mins for food, the Kitchen is busy. Agreed, but there is a better manner of welcoming guests, the wait wasn't an issue at all for the food arrived in 10 minutes. Now coming to the Food Itself, We went for the Special (Nothing Special About It) Spice Rubbed Grilled Chicken and the Grilled Chicken Stuffed with Smoked Cheese. Both of these dishes were disgusting. Extremely Salty, The Chicken was Dry and In Both the Dishes, the Main Protein, The Chicken Tasted the same. Every dish they serve only a few drops Carrot Puree and Balsamic Glaze which doesn't complement the meat in any manner. I also tried the Stir Fried Velvet Tofu. Rubbish! The Tofu was not velvety, In fact it had a serious chew to it. It was served without and Sauce with plain rice, which doesn't make any sense.

In the end, one of the worst experiences with regards to fine dining. So much so that we left after this disgusting food without Dessert. An Absolute Waste of money, the Prices are unreasonable. We have no issues paying a high price for Delicious and Fine Food. This was simply not worth it. Please do yourself a favor, Save your Money, Save Your Time. Go Somewhere Else!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShaunakSamant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amavi by Sumera also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 

Been to Amavi by Sumera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing