We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Bang on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalston Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location - Bang on the beach”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have been to this place 3 times since 2009.

Pros
#Best Location in Calangute.
# The view from the restaurant is mind blowing - right to the sea.
# Good breakfast spread. Excellent fresh sea food served.
# Good staff
# Nice & clean pool.
# Home like feeling , calm & quite.
# Soza LoBo & Brittos the two must go Sea-food joints are walking distance.

Cons
# The linens need to be replaced.
# Very big rooms , but the villas or the supreme rooms are not sea facing.

Please ask for Sydney a local guy who gives 2 & 4 wheeler for hire.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dev_VD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    286
    74
    14
    15
See reviews for
245
204
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went to Chalston Beach Resort during last week of May 2013, from the very first moment of booking till our departure it was all good.
Initially we have gone through lot of good reviews about this resort and tried to book it online but finally we called directly to reception, person named Antony picked up the call and we asked him to have payment online for Hotel booking but to our surprise he replied in modest way that sir your booking is confirmed, you can come anytime and then we will do transactions.
We reached resort on Saturday morning around 9:00 am and found the same person available on reception (who picked our call). Without saying a word he shifted us in room in next ten minute he can let us wait few hours as check in time for resort was 1:00 pm.
Room was fine having clean bed sheets and pillow, the best thing was digital locker where you can safely kept your precious things while your visit on beach. Bed covers were of red color and that was the only thing which I would like to change in room. Washroom was average so overall I could rate room as 3.65 out of 5.
One thing that is unmatchable about the resort was its location, it was bang straight on Calungute beach. You can move 100 mtr left on beach and you will found yourself in crowded Calungute beach and when you move 1 Km right on beach you will reach super crowded Baga beach but adding to the beauty in front of resort there was very less crowd.
Swimming pool was nice having depth of around 4 or 4.5 feet but it was quite sufficient to have fun. We have spent good time in that pool. One thing that Hotel should immediately change is breakfast though available staff was quite courteous and was very welcoming but the pao(Bunn) was reducing the charm of Hotel .
They should serve Fruits, corn flakes, milk & Parantas during breakfast to make customer more happy than ever.

Room Tip: try to have room on First floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PuneetSinghRelhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Bang on the beach

Delivered everything promised

Nice lady owner obliged with the specifc sea facing room I requested for

Yes there breakfast is too simple, but its not a hidden surprise

Overall a decent experience!! Will stay again :)

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank purusethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

On the calangute beach, this shack stood out compared to the others with good decent crowd, a little more exclusive compared to other shacks, super view and nice food. If u wnt to sit at a shack on calagute, this shud definitely be tried.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junkeatarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehra Dun
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Chalston has been my regular stay during my annual 'pilgrimages' to Goa.....the ultimate holiday destination. This year again I was there in the last week of March with my wife and two daughters. We had taken two pool facing ac rooms. Some shortcomings faced this year were: rust colour water in the wc.....unexplained; TV is still the old box type; breakfast is still very very basic.

The pros of course are the location...bang on the beach and yet about 5 minutes walk from great eating joints like Infantaria; sun beds; good though not great restaurant; nice clean pool; friendly staff, large green open spaces.

Despite the shortcomings I would still like to stay at Chalston but request Maria, the owner, to look into the issues and improve the place from 'very good' to 'excellent'!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJDDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The location of this hotel is awesome. It is situated at the Calangute beach overlooking the ocean.
We stayed in the villa and it was really good. The villa was clean and near the pool. The food was good. The hotel staff was very friendly but the room service was very slow.

Room Tip: During the Off Season you'll get a villa at very cheap rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhigyanraghav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agra
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I and my friend was on the tour of goa,my friend insisted of staying at Miramar beach because it was in the center of the city.I kept on saying to go to calangute that is better beach & the view is also nice, but my friend did not agree, in the evening when we were strolling we had talk with the local people,they suggested to go to calangute that is the best beach in goa, my friend agreed to go tomorrow.The next day we went to calangute, after searching a few hotels, we zeroed on Chalstan hotel.We had room at 2nd floor,the view of sea was marvelous. The stay at the hotel was marvelous,food was fantastic & above all the staff was supportive. I will highly recommend this hotel to the tourist visiting goa Manish Agra

Room Tip: go for sea facing room on 2nd floor, the view is nice from 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autotravelagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
2.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 65 in Candolim
248 reviews
2.8 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#8 of 110 in Calangute
535 reviews
3.1 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 65 in Candolim
1,674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalston Beach Resort

Property: Chalston Beach Resort
Address: Beach Street , Khobra Vaddo , Calangute | North Goa, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalston Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalston Beach resort is a family run beach property in Calangute. There are 5 different room categories including standard ac rooms , large ac rooms , deluxe ac rooms , garden cottages as well as beach cottages. All rooms have ac , tv , fridge and a safe deposit box. Rates and tariffs are inclusive of breakfast and taxes. The property also has a beach restaurant , sunbeams by the pool and the sea , a swimming pool all surrounded by lush and extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chalston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalston Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing