We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hospitality, Worst Service, Worst Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalston Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst Hospitality, Worst Service, Worst Room”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

0/10 for Hospitality, 0/10 for Service, 0/10 for Room.

Booked Cottage through phone. On Arrival they gave us cottage that was stinky, dirty and mosquitos flying. TV was 18"(Who would like to watch). On denial they gave us another cottage. Entered the cottage went to check the bathroom. Shocked. It had no toilet paper. No water bucket. Called room service. Answer was - 1) We dont have Water Buckets. 2) Toilet paper is in Wardrobe. I had to made them learn that toilet paper should be on stand in bathroom not in wardrobe.

Tried to lock the door from inside and fond, lock was not working. Latch was also not working. Means anyone can open door anytime.. Again Called Room Service to inform that Latch was not working. Answer was: Carpenter is not available.

These are just few of the rude replies..

No one cared to clean the room, not to change the towels.

Not seen worst Resort than this. Price is definitely MORE in comparison to other resorts in nearby area.

I wont suggest this Resort to anyone.

Room Tip: I dont think there are any good rooms.. Neglect this Resort..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SagarGupte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    286
    74
    14
    15
See reviews for
245
204
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Chalston has a great location. A great restaurant. Very friendly staff. Decent facilities. Overall an excellent option for what it costs. The restaurant is the obvious star attraction. The food was good and the views fantastic. The location is within a hop, skip and jump from all the happening places.

The only downer were the slightly dingy rooms. They're slightly old and we even had a lizard in our room. It was quickly driven away upon lodging a complaint. But that's not what you want when staying with a toddler.

But all in all an excellent experience and would certainly like to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuppimpalkhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Check in/out very good - room was spacious and clean and cleaned every day with towels replaced every 2 days. Pool ok and not really used by the vast majority of guests. Sun beds plentiful and clean. Service in the restaurant was excellent and the staff are very quick and friendly. Location is good and only a 7 min walk to the main calangute/baga road and good access to various beach shacks. There is a small eating place called Harrys just outside the front of the resort and the food is awesome there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonymachvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

After lot of experiments by luck in 2005 we ended up being in Chalston...since than year on year we have been staying here ....trust me you will not find a better place than this for the monies spent ..... true value for your money.....this is the best of what you can afford in calangute/baga vicinity ....shore is just 50 mts away from your room .....you can hit water as many times as possible... Room interiors are just about ok and so is the restaurant... If you are one of those guys you expects extra ordinary service and courteous staff than get ready for a disappointment....staff are responsive little push is required though this skill is required in whole of Goa pl remember its a hard core tourist destination !! Another plus point is its slightly away from the over crowded Baga/Calangute beaches but yet not very far not very secluded either....the happening places like Baga/Calangute/titos/mambos are just 5-10 minutes away...extremely disappointed we have not found room this year so out on experiment again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajeshkudva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel, 3 guys, was wonderfull.
The property is ideal in location between Calangute and Baga beach.
The hotel has direct access to the beach which is wonderful and for the price its fantastic.
Complementry breakfast was basic, skipped once.
Lot of russians along with Indians.
Has a small pool which was good.
Every evening theres a cultural programme at the dining area
Cheers

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahulmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here during first week of december. The place is "the" best of what you can afford in calangute. Rooms are good. We stayed in Deluxe AC room which are quite spacious and can accomodate 3 easily. Beach is hardly 50 meters from rooms and near to water sport hub. Best part is their restaurant which serve some great food with cheap price and actually cheaper then nearby shacks. Front desk, waiters @restaurant are well mannerd and courtious. The only thing that hold me to give them 5 * is clenliness of toilet.I did notice small cockroaches roaming around in night. Rest ar all excellent. They also got a decent pool to hang around. Overall a pleasant stay and will surely revisit.

Room Tip: Rooms are of mix bag, but if you need spacious room then Deluxe AC should be youre choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krish199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Its really good to be at Chalston when you are in Goa. A Hotel with a good restaurant attached to it from where you can see the sea while enjoying the delicious food there. The cost of food is costly for we Indians but tasty. Chalston is having its personal area where sun beds for sun bath our simple relation are available in the morning and garden chairs in the evening without any additional charges. You can enjoy sea view as long you want without any disturbances. You can sit at the restaurant as long as you want without ordering anything even. Chalston arranges dance and music for its guests. The Hotel had its own swimming pool but you need to be there in swim sits only which you need to arrange our buy from market.
The rooms are well equipped. The room provided to us numbering S30 had TV, fridge, AC. The bed sizes were considerably big. The Hotel arranges for sight seeing of Goa. Reception is helpful but lacks protectiveness.
Few changes and additions are required in a costly Hotel like this. Wifi should be enabled. Other hotels are providing this facility free of cost. The washrooms should have buckets and hooks for clothes. Daily room cleaning should be done even if guests are present. Currently key needs to be deposited at reception in the morning and if you remain outside then only rooms are cleaned. Guests should be provided free room service. Currently few items from the restaurant are available and that too worth extra cost.
On the whole its luxury staying at Chalston.

Room Tip: For large room sea facings are good. For small rooms, garden facings are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emailrajib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
2.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 65 in Candolim
248 reviews
2.8 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#8 of 110 in Calangute
535 reviews
3.1 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 65 in Candolim
1,674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalston Beach Resort

Property: Chalston Beach Resort
Address: Beach Street , Khobra Vaddo , Calangute | North Goa, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalston Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalston Beach resort is a family run beach property in Calangute. There are 5 different room categories including standard ac rooms , large ac rooms , deluxe ac rooms , garden cottages as well as beach cottages. All rooms have ac , tv , fridge and a safe deposit box. Rates and tariffs are inclusive of breakfast and taxes. The property also has a beach restaurant , sunbeams by the pool and the sea , a swimming pool all surrounded by lush and extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chalston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalston Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing