We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,Location and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalston Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Review down to the points
Pros
---Situated in Calaguate Baga road this resorts biggest plus is its location. Main entrance is little off the road but of the other side entrances opens right on the beach
--Sun beds and seats are provided and one can have fun just viewing the sunrise sunset etc without even exiting hotel
--Swimming pool is neat clean and well maintained. So you can actually have a good pool experience.
---Rooms in the annexe area are nice big ones thought little far frm poolside.(Hotel is divided into two parts,one is where you check in other side is more like stand along houses each with 8 rooms kind) Not sure on other pool side rooms
--They have booking through makemytrip where you gets some discounts
--Scooties/Cars on rentals are all nearby and so are all the restaurants. You are staying in the middle of it all but still a little detached.
--Hotel transport for airport drop was neat clean nicely Innova.

Cons
--Hotel is in a lane and goa pretty much gets lonely/dark after 8 so if you do not have your own scooty/car all time you might be stuck inside.Though its safe one might not want to take a 15 minute walk to the main road everytime
--Room are big but amenities are pretty basic. No shampoo,mineral water,TV with bad reception ,AC with no remote.
--No wifi. Wifi is available only in reception area at exorbitant prices.
-- As its a resort style rooms you only have snacks served in the room.We never ordered any though.
--Complimentary buffet breakfast is horrible. Not sure if this was an off season effect or how, We have pav ,chola/alu sabji,omlettes/egg burji with tea and coffee.After first day disappointment,never ate anything here.

Overall this place has a premium only for it location and pool. However if you intend to spend a little more time at the hotel/restaurant and are wifi dependent I would say look elsewhere.Next time I would like to pay a little more price and go for a better serviced place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedazzle76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for Chalston Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 689 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We took 3 large ac sea facing rooms.

Pros: Rooms were pretty big.Balcony was quite big as well and view was also good. Swimming pool was very clean.

Cons: while in some rooms temperature controlled ac was there, in some it was not. Fridge was not working and replaced on request. Geyser was not working and had to call plumber. Tap for cold water was not working. While in some rooms TV provided was LCD, in others it was good old bigger ones. Cushions on the Sofa were full of dirt and could not be used. Food was very bad except breakfast (which was same everyday), sandwiches and fruit juices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sayantandebnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at this resort in November 2011 and weren't too happy with our stay.

Positives:
- Close to Calangute beach
- Room was a good size

Negatives:
- Rooms were dusty and toilet was dirty, even after being cleaned
- The sheets on the bed were stained
- Service wasn't too great at the reception and the bar. The owner made it seem like he was doing us a favour by letting us stay there!

I definitely wouldn't go back and stay there. I felt we got ripped off considering we were there during off peak season and for Rs 3000 a night got a dirty room and bad service!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

THIS IS MY FAVORITE RESORT IN WHOLE OF GOA BECAUSE OF ITS MOST AMAZING LOCATION!
It is not a 5 star property but what makes its so special is the fact that its right on the most famous beach of Goa, the Calangute beach! Though there is more to its opulence as well.

The big question is, " what one really want in Goa"?

THE SUN, SAND, SHOPPING & SONGS!! Also the food & wine:-)!!! The Chalston beach resort is the perfect choice for a perfect Goan Holiday! It has all of the above, in addition to good rates.

The staff is outstanding! Always ready to help, pleasing, charming & smart at their job. I am greatly impressed with their service! It is a huge hotel & almost full all year round( it is open throughout the year ). The room service is quick & at par with the 5 star standards.

The rooms are quite big, spacious, there is plenty of light & cross ventilated. Locker in every room. There is a big pool with a bar, a beautifully located restaurant facing the beach & a spa(coming soon). There is car parking for those driving to Goa, for free!

The best part is, that it is close to all the best restaurants, shopping stalls/arcades, medical shops, bakeries, night clubs, in Calangute! Everything is at walkable distance.

A special mention to the reception guy, Anthony, who is very kind & always ready to help! I highly recommend this resort to everyone visiting Goa for the first time & even for those who have been visiting Goa many times! This is the perfect place to be in Goa!

Room Tip: Take a room near the restaurant on the ground floor so that the commutable distance to the beach is...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank monica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed at this resort in October,2011 along with my family members.The resort is located at a distance of 42 kms from the airport at the border of Calangute & Baga beach at a calm & quite place.One can enjoy the charm of both beaches from this resort.The crowded city centre of Calangute is also within walking distance( ten minutes).Lush green gardens, a multicuisine restaurant almost on the beach and a well maintained swimming pool are other attractions of this resort.The view from the restaurant is simply fantastic.Rooms and service of the staff were very good.
Very ordinary complimentary breakfast is the only weak point of this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saikatashraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Chalston- Great Location, Great service & Great Food
Good customer service, very friendly staffs
Location is perfect to stay in Goa. Lovely resort with beach facing restuarent. Awesome food.
Chalston- I will be back :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancy_chk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This resort is right on the beach... Nice place.. Beach view rooms were good... The resort also has a nice garden around.. The restaurant is also great.. Restaurant always have some entertainment events going on in the evening.. There was this Rajasthani folk dance one night.. The complimentary breakfast is good but they can improve it further.. Overall I would suggest this resort to everyone.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are nice... Hearing the waves lapping at night feels magical..
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barsaikia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.8 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
2.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 116 in Calangute
551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#4 of 116 in Calangute
979 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#6 of 116 in Calangute
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalston Beach Resort

Address: Beach Street , Khobra Vaddo , Calangute | North Goa, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $75 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalston Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalston Beach resort is a family run beach property in Calangute. There are 5 different room categories including standard ac rooms , large ac rooms , deluxe ac rooms , garden cottages as well as beach cottages. All rooms have ac , tv , fridge and a safe deposit box. Rates and tariffs are inclusive of breakfast and taxes. The property also has a beach restaurant , sunbeams by the pool and the sea , a swimming pool all surrounded by lush and extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chalston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalston Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing