We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend it!”
Review of Le Jardin

Le Jardin
Ranked #105 of 409 Restaurants in Calangute
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Recommend it!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This restaurant is 10-12 mins walking distance from Resort Terra Paradaiso. The menu provided great variety with Mughlai, tandoori, north indian options. We chose lamb, chicken and shrimp preparations and they were all tasty. We enjoyed the food. The service was fast and staff were friendly. The price is okay for foreigners, but may be considered expensive by the locals

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amynaadi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    30
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Change of ownership”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have visited this restaurant for many years. It was a special treat to eat there. We visited this year and realised as soon as we arrived things were different. Gone was the meet and greet, gone was the smart waiters. We were eventually seated and after 10 mins we asked if we could order drinks. These arrived and we had to ask the woman who seemed to be in charge if we could order our meal. When it arrived there was no presentation of the food as before. The fillet steak was inedible, even with the steak knife you couldn't cut through it. We called the owner over and she said her husband who cooks the steaks had thought that they were not very good but still sent them out!!!!! We were told we could reorder but by this time it was 10pm. We left still hungry and very disappointed. We will not return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CurtainKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Everything as it should be”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Nice arrangement here with a number of tables set out on the lawn and a number on a covered verandah. The restaurant is enclosed so there is none of the hustle and bustle outside noticeable. All very calm and pleasing. Service attentive with the lady in charge certainly on top of things.

The range of dishes on offer was perhaps fairly typical of the area with a mixture of Indian, oriental and continental dishes. We stuck with Indian and I had the Chicken Kohlapuri which was just as it should be and my wife asked if a lamb & spinach dish that was not on the menu might be available. The chef was consulted and it duly arrived, also as it should be and very pleasant. Portion size was certainly adequate; we could have shared a rice accompaniment and there would still have been plenty.

The great bonus was that Le Jardin provided a good, young, Indian Sauvignon Blanc that is the best we have come across in India so far this trip. White wine is expensive in India and the temptation is to keep it too long if it hasn't sold. Not here - it was 7 months old and still had all the scent and taste of a decent kiwi sauvignon blanc.

Price wise Le Jardin is maybe a few rupees more expensive than some of the competition in the area but we felt it worth the extra and overall we were very pleased.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesMcLeish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D-Langen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice location , very good food”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went there twice. The staff is very frindly, food excellent. You sit like in a little garden with tables on the grass, very romantic.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Avoid ... It's changed hands”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Please don't Waste your money on this place. It is living off it's old reviews from the previous owner. Food was laughable and inedible. Needless to say we left hungry. Go to a reverie across the road... The prices are almost the same.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Emm3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jardin also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Le Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing