We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food great surroundins , lovely staff”
Review of Le Jardin

Le Jardin
Ranked #116 of 410 Restaurants in Calangute
Cuisines: Seafood, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food great surroundins , lovely staff”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

ate here at least 10 times,, stayed in goa for 4 months always very good , would highly recommend great food very relaxed surroundings,,,, great staff ever thing great was never a problem , if you have a need for quality and class it is just what you need to spoil yourself ,,,enjoy

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank argyle1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    29
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

went here for our 25th wedding set in a garden just beautiful. great food cocktails. staff very attentive and friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobbycarter42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Not what it was”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Been going to this restaurant each season for a number of years and always regarded it as excellent and better value than Au Reverie. So when we attended this season we expected more of the same but i'm afraid it has changed. The menu has changed for the worse, the service isn't as good and the food certainly isn't. I think if our visit is representative of the normal standards now the restaurant will soon struggle to attract European visitors.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dyble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What happened”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Always a favourite place of ours for many years.Everything about the place and food was excellent.
The lighting and music were always just right.This year when we arrived the first thing we noticed was the view straight in to the restaurant from Holiday Street. It was hidden from view before .Almost like a retreat from the hussle and bustle.Then the eye sore of a tandoori oven on the left hand side as you go in to the garden was a dead give away, before we started.From then on it went from bad to worse.What used to be a fine dining place is now a run of the mill eatery.It's lost all it's charm and ambiance.Our group actually fit in with the owners wishes and booked a table an hour earlier then we wanted to.Not good practice as far as I'm concerned.However,it took 2 hours to get any food on the table.The menu is tacky, photo stat and plastic and completely changed to an average restaurant anywhere.Noticed the filet steak had increased in value again not a patch on what it used to be like.The nice touch of bread sticks and dips has gone. In the time we had to wait for our food they should have put complimentary starters on the table. The mash potatoes have also go from the menu. This place is scrubbed off my list After many years I and my family and friends will not be going again.We think the man from England behind the scenes has left and taken his charm with him.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank AngelinaGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ambience was wonderful and fresh Fish!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The restaurant is based outdoors and has a very warm feel to it - with candle light on each dinner (ideal for couples).
The staff are friendly and are aware of when to serve the next meal. The fish curry was my favourite with all fresh ingredients.

It is slightly pricey but with other restaurants even more pricier and less quality food, this was worth every rupee!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Naeem P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jardin also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Bardez, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Le Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing