We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and homely.”
Review of Kismat Mahal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calangute
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kismat Mahal
Ranked #31 of 113 Hotels in Calangute
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice and homely.”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Very warm service from owner and staff.We found it much better than expected.Hotel is tucked away from crowd and traffic but at a walkable distance from the beach.Rooms are clean and with spacious balcony.Breakfast and food was just amazing.Try it out you will love it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank prakash d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    52
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
26
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The location is great (and a 5 mins walk to Calangute beach) and the price super. Its cheap, but the service and cleanliness is great. The family which owns and runs it stays next door and there is a strong homely feel throughout. The small restaurant gives a hostel common room type vibe and the rooms are clean and well done, though not super.

If you’re on budget, and don’t crave luxury you would love this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harkirat_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dibrugarh, India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was our first trip to Goa and I went with my spouse on oct13. staying was pleasant at Kismat Mahal as all the amenities are very near from the hotel, i.e: beach, market, sight seeing etc. we enjoyed a lot and spent 4 days at Kismat Mahal. Rooms are nice and economical,Management and Staff all are friendly and helpful. The owner Mr. Frazer and his helping hand Innocent0the little boy much caring and not to forget Mr. Ullash for his help to get the transportation facility, Scotty and car. Surrounding is nice and calm and the hotel is very near to a quite and less crowded beach where we enjoyed a lot. All indian Couple and Family Should Try Kismat Mahal.

Room Tip: First floor Front side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOURABHGOSWAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

During the mornings the hotel reception is like a beehive. Everyone is milling around. It is also the time of check-ins and check-outs. But once everything is settled down Frazer, the manager of the hotel, will tell you about Goa and the huge paintings in the reception area.
The hotel is 2 minute walk away from the beach and a 1 minute walk away from the main road where all the restaurants are. Pretty comfortable.
The hotel is good. Clean rooms and lenin. Room service is an issue but doesn't stick out like a sore thumb. In any case, who comes to Goa to spend the day in the hotel room. Better to go out and explore the beaches.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhiredukhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dibrugarh, India
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our first trip to Goa and I went with my spouse on oct13. staying was pleasant at Kismat Mahal as all the amenities are very near from the hotel, i.e: beach, market, sight seeing etc. we enjoyed a lot and spent 4 days at Kismat Mahal. Rooms are nice and economical,Management and Staff all are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bondita1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I came to know about Kismat Mahal from tripadvisor only. Frazer Noronha was very co-operative and received prompt reply from him in response to my each mail with queries. Booked the hotel immediately for 5 days considering three things: tripadvisor rating and reviews, response from hotel and budget.

On 30th October 2013, me and my wife reached Goa from Bangalore. It was bit difficult to reach the hotel first time. It is not exactly on the road, but a bit inside. At the front there is a dispensary, hotel is behind it. Though the appearance of the hotel was not very attractive, but once we reached the reception desk, we did start feeling their hospitality. Innocent, the boy, deputy of Frazer, had all kind of solution for any of our problem. I must thank Ulhas, the driver, for all his support (bike arrangement, tour planning etc.). The narrow lane behind the hotel took us to the seashore within 2 minutes in Activa.

We didn't take any lunch or dinner at hotel though they provide same at nominal cost. We liked the tea pot at most. One pot tea cost us 27rs(with tax) which actually serves 5 cups.

I have already suggested many of my friends and relatives for Kismat mahal. Few of them had booked and stayed and praised me for giving reference.

Room Tip: Room with Balcony on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank milandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is a great place to stay at. We were 10 guys who stayed in Goa for 4 days and 3 nights.
We booked the big room on 2nd floor with 3 bathrooms and 8 beds (+2 mattresses) It is very close to the Calangute beach (3 minutes walk). Staff is very friendly and helpful. The rates are very economical. Our driver from Madgao had trouble finding the place initially. We called the owner and he directed the driver correctly.
There's no telephone for service and the reception wasn't always-on. But hey, it wasn't promised, so it's okay.
All in all, this is a nice hotel and recommended for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Karishma Grand
Hotel Karishma Grand
#21 of 113 in Calangute
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#15 of 113 in Calangute
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#27 of 113 in Calangute
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Severina
Casa Severina
#10 of 113 in Calangute
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingstork Beach Resort
Kingstork Beach Resort
#17 of 113 in Calangute
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Resort Goa
Osborne Resort Goa
#40 of 113 in Calangute
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismat Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismat Mahal

Property: Kismat Mahal
Address: E-1/221,Gauravaddo | Near St. Anthony Chapel Bus St, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Kismat Mahal Hotel Calangute
Kismat Mahal Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing