We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantabulous Hotel”
Review of Sunset Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calangute
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Cottages
Ranked #44 of 253 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Dear Tourists....

It was a pleasant location to enjoy the Goa successfully because it is very adjacent to Baga and Colangute Beaches one is famous for foreigners and other is famous for Desi Guys. I suggest you to have a accommodation in this hotel so that you will save local conveyance expenses very walkable distance to aforesaid beaches.

Sd...
P.Chand Basha
Manager-HR
Lakshmi Group
[--]

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChandBasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 33 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2011

AC rooms available for as low as Rs 1400 - barely 3 mins to the beach and 5 mins to Mambos and Titos!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Shetul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Hotel property:
This hotel is very well located and clean. It's a very small property, but they do have car parking area. The major advantage of staying here is that it is very close to Baga beach and Titto's pub (walkable). They rent out bikes and cars, also they can arrange taxies for you.
Staffs:
Staffs are quite friendly and manager of this hotel is Mr.Lorance(+918806398342). He is very helpful and approachable.
Food:
Breakfast is NOT served as complimentary. I had 2 lunches from hotel's restaurant and it was really over-priced. The quality and taste is just average.
Rooms:
I was staying in room number 107(AC). Daily rent was Rs.1900/-(Diwali season). It was a well sized room with clean bathroom. During my 4 nights stay, most difficult part was lack of power supply. In case of any power failure, it will take 10 to 15 min to get backup power supply.

Overall I will say if you don't want to spend much time in hotel and don't want to spend much on stay, it's a good place to consider and enjoy in north Goa. But you must make use of the restaurants nearby Baga beach. Hotel does not take any advance booking, that is a major issue. Off-season time you will get AC room for approx Rs.800/-

I would like to come back to this place if I get rooms at a best price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skeerank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We arrived at this hotel early in the morning to be told that they only had 1 room remaining. We only booked initially for 2 nights then a further three due to not knowing the costs of the area. We were totally ripped off due to the colour of our skin being white. We paid 1500 rupees per night after some haggling over the price, we than spoke with other residents who stated that they were only paying 500 rupees per night. These were indians. They also tried to rent us a bike for 1000 rupees per day which we found out later to be only 150 per day. The room had A/C but was extremely basic, we found a better apartment 5 mins down the road with A/C, a swimming pool, cleaning everyday not per week with non racist management for only 500 rupees per night. My advice is 'if you are a white tourist do not stay at Sunset cottages unless you are prepared to be taken for a ride on the racist wheel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Backpacker14542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Went here with my wife and friends, we hired a couple of rooms at the place. The place is located very close to TITO's and BAGA BEACH. Its hardly a 30 second walk to the beach. The rooms were clean, they change bedsheets every 2 days. but they will provide house keeping daily since you will end up with a lot of beach sand in your room. If you get the cottage rooms at the ground floor, you'll have a nice veranda to have your breakfast as well.

Didn't try the food at the restaurant, but breakfast was good and prompt. The place is nice and cosy to stay in. The check out time is 10 A.M. They provide Motorbike rentals as well and car rentals too. All in all, a pleasant stay. I'd recommend this place for its location and cosyness. Overall, it wasn't too expensive either!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Review_PU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I was in november 2009 there, it was very good decision to stay there. The place is near to the beach, maybe 30 meters. It is a gated village including small boungalws, the place is very clean, quiet and safe, there is silent at the night time and a guard man is walking around. Nobody hustle you. I would recomend the restaurand, the food tasts very good, they offer world cuisin. The rooms have very basic standart but it`s clean. Some rooms have AC . You pay 1200 Rupia for a double room with ac.The very popular disco Tito is only 100 m away from the hotel. I would stay again there. I felt like at home there, the staff was very helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Noricus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Date: 28 August 2010
We came to this hotel through one of the reference and booked it for 3N/2D stay. Tariff is normal there and rooms are pretty ok.

First of all, where in the world you have to deposit the hotel rent in advance? We gave that. Next day when we asked the room service to clean the rooms, hotel staff told us that only towels would be changed. We asked for clean bed sheet and the answer was no. Somehow we kept our patience and went outside to enjoy Goa. Later in the night while asking for clean blanket, they gave the same answer. We hired two scooters for conveyance and that too was charged in advance.

After such bad behavior, we finally decided to vacate the cottage. Our 1st day of journey turned to hell. Don't ever go to this cottage and its neighboring cottages. They both are looking for money making and no customer comfort, delight. You’ll only get rude behavior and horrible smell. The only good point is the closeness to Baga beach.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank AbhilekhG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
1.5 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#48 of 117 in Calangute
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
0.9 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#101 of 117 in Calangute
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#107 of 117 in Calangute
161 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 117 in Calangute
564 reviews
1.3 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#13 of 117 in Calangute
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cottages

Address: Saunta Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 253 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Price Range: $106 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Sunset Cottages Hotel Calangute
Sunset Cottages Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing