We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Bachelors but needs to be maintained better.”
Review of O Camarao Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calangute
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
O Camarao Hotel
Ranked #71 of 117 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were a group of 8, stayed in 4 rooms. Each costed us 600 per day for a room of 2 between 21st-23rd June.

Positives:
-Not like a typical hotel, so good for city guys who want to get away from the city life completely.
-Very close to the beach, hardly 30 seconds away. The back gate leads you straight to the beach.
-Calangute Bus Stand is hardly a 3 minute walk.
-A lady who runs the whole thing by herself will always be ready to help up to 6 PM

Negatives:
-No AC(like I said, away from city life), but they have a fan.
-Lots of Mosquitoes(but they provide coils)
-Serious lack of maintenance, they let plastic be around everywhere which led to water stagnating and hence more mosquitoes.
-They have like a mini-pool which has water stagnated I don't know for how long. If this was cleaned and maintained properly it would have just been amazing.
-No one to help you after 6 as the main lady leaves at 6.
-No built in Restaurant/bar, but the beach is close by so you'll get it all there.

I would surely go back here, but if they cleaned up and maintained the place a little more I would suggest it to all. So until then I'll suggest it to only guys.

Value for money, but could have been better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karthik119913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 18 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Its a nice place to stay if u just want a place to rest in night...no fancy facilities like TV/AC/Restaurents etc. Its USP is its location. Just few seconds walk and you are at the Calangut beach, one of the most happening beach in Goa. Owner is always ready to help you with his honest opinions but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shri2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Its a basic accomodation near calangute beach.. (20-25 mtrs).. they provide clean simple rooms / huts (Cabanas) with bed and a almirah.. bathrooms are average size. best part of this property is that.. its nr to the beach.. lots of fresh air and light.. rooms are clean... its a very value for money accommodation.. they may not clean your room every day but if u request then brooming will be done :).. this was my second stay at this property.. i knew what all i would get hence had no expectations.. nd i loved my stay.. like always.. go Goa!! its a nice stay for stags but family looking for services may not like it..

Imp: Their restaurant is not open all time.. u need to tell the cook in advance should you need any meal!!...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mukeshtibs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Hotel is on the calangute Beach...Its just a min from the beach..the bamboo cottages with simple furnitures adds to a very natural feeling...its a awesome break from the city life living in sky scrapers..Its worth the money....in the evening you have candles lit on the tables in the open air sitting area where you can have a very personal and silent dinner with a couple of drinks..the staff is very friendly..I will be staying here when ever i visit Goa in future..and have recommended the hotel to my friends as well..

Room Tip: Go for the bamboo cottages to get the real essence
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koeli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Yes, this should be your Plan 'Z' and only because its so close to the Beach.

The Managing 'Aunty' is very strong headed lady, don't trouble her too much she seemed to be the only person doing anything there, be kind to her she will help you out.

Go with your own set of lock and keys avoid leaving valuables in the rooms. Perfect for a crash pad and a shower.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kumar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Except the location of this hotel(not a resort for sure), no other elements will bring you back to this. Beach is in near sight.
Locating this hotel in calangute was a big challenge for us. Rooms are very small, i bet no 3rd person can be accomodated. No A/C, TV, just a bed and bathroom.
When we are not satisfied and asked for checking out before the reserved schedule, the Staff started threatening us not to give the ID cards unless we make a full payment(we have given our IDs for their security purpose). Out of staff, one lady was there, and she was very rude and dont know how to talk or convince the customers. They were not polite to us as we requested to change the reservation.
Overall except the location which is near to beach, everything else is not good.

Room Tip: If you are with friends, you can find so many accomodations lesser than this price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank anand y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

if you are along with your friends this is the place to be!!!!!!!!

pros: bang on calangute beach 100 mtrs max.
100 mtrs from calangute main market.
800 Rs for a room double/triple occupancy.
room service not taken .
rooms are clean .





cons: none

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abhishek1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.3 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#35 of 117 in Calangute
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#101 of 117 in Calangute
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Osborne Resort Goa
Osborne Resort Goa
#42 of 117 in Calangute
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#32 of 117 in Calangute
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#3 of 117 in Calangute
701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calangute Residency
Calangute Residency
#19 of 117 in Calangute
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Camarao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Camarao Hotel

Address: Umtavaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $8 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
O Camarao Hotel Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing