We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place for stags”
Review of O Camarao Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calangute
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
O Camarao Hotel
Ranked #72 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed March 27, 2012

if you are along with your friends this is the place to be!!!!!!!!

pros: bang on calangute beach 100 mtrs max.
100 mtrs from calangute main market.
800 Rs for a room double/triple occupancy.
room service not taken .
rooms are clean .





cons: none

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abhishek1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for O Camarao Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

Visit Period- 23/02/2012 to 26/02/2012

The location of resort- ideally located, around 3 mins walk from the Calangute Beach

The Stay- Decent rooms, but u can get many other options in similar price range

The Food- Very poor

The service- The owner Mr. Jako is makes you feel at home but other staff are indifferent

NOW FOR THE WORST PART OF THE STAY- THEFT

My Mom's handbag got stolen in the middle of the night from the hotel room. The windows cant be locked( no locking facility) and have Nylon kinda Net which was torn using a blade and the bag was pulled out.

Response from Owner Mr. Jako- It is very usual at this place....such incidents happen often (though no warning was given to us while we booked those rooms)


So if u MUST STAY in this place....pls be Careful of your Belongings (insist on a room which has proper locking facilities for all windows n doors) and GOD forbid if such incident happens with you- pls launch a police complaint/ FIR immediately so that the mystery of such recurrent thefts can be solved.


Ritam (Mumbai)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ritz_witz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

i was little anxious not having any reviews on this place but i am so glad i took a chance. this place is perfect if you dont like commercial hotels. i was jumping with excitement when we entered the place. its lush green and the rooms are soooo cute little structures. its a guest house and treats you like a guest in their house. if you want to have lunch and dinner you have to tell them in advance and they make fresh food for you. but we just went to the shacks on the beach which is like 30 seconds walk . literally stone trow away from beach but you are saved from watch the crowd too.

the rooms are individual with a nice patio.
hot water when you have electricity. but i think in such a small property and the price its a luxury if you get hot water whenever you want. small compromises are obvious.
wake up in morning walk to the beach .... go for a boat ride to see the "dolphins" which was the best part of my trip. its very close to the commercialized so dont go for water sports here. walk a bit for quieter part of the beach . there you will get more time for the money.also if you can do water sports during weekdays.

also eat on shacks on quieter sides of the beach ...its cheaper.

all in all..... this place is in middle of all the excitement of Calungate beach and its market but still you get quiet we need to relax on these weekend getaways.

Room Tip: dont expect the service to be great. they have 3 types of rooms. bamboo shacks are very decent and...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barkha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Do not trust the hotel guys, i had booked sea facing rooms a months back during my travel to Goa during Nov2011 and paid advance money. But when i have reached there Mr. Jako owner of the guest house told me that there is no sea facing rooms available and i have to adjust in other rooms. I had booked 4 rooms with advance money!! but they have cheated:-(( do not trust O Camarao guys at all for any thing.. Also place was stinking very bad, beach huts are like nightmare. Not even worth for INR800. Do not trust these guys... you can find better place near to their place.

Room Tip: go for another hotel in the same locality or in candolim beach.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank PS_Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.4 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#43 of 116 in Calangute
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 116 in Calangute
689 reviews
0.3 mi away
NV Beach Resort
NV Beach Resort
#74 of 116 in Calangute
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Beach Hotel
Sea Breeze Beach Hotel
#92 of 116 in Calangute
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calangute Residency
Calangute Residency
#18 of 116 in Calangute
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#98 of 116 in Calangute
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Camarao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Camarao Hotel

Address: Umtavaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $8 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
O Camarao Hotel Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing