We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is too good, other things are pethetic.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calangute Residency
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

this was worst exp of my life if i talk about goa only.....only 1 thing mark my words only 1 thing " location" very close to the calangute beach its like have a step out from the hotel u will stand on the beach.....BUT there are no other things are good in this hotel.

Pool was totally closed .....tuta futa nd all, all internal premises are shabby nd very dirty , sab kuch tuta futa. No complimentary breakfast, doubled bed are in wrost condition " deemak lagi hui " balconies tuti hui...railings tuti huii...ufff what say more. the price i have paid here is totally a curse for the people who are having bookings online without knowing the facts in real or reviews.
dont ever go to this hotel ...honeymooners bhai log BV gali degi yaha jaoge to.
same price me mast hotel mil jayenge....i strongly recommended ocean palms for honeymooners. what a hotel just go nd feel. u will love it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akkiisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 293 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

Good for a change to stay in the govt. run hotel.well mantained cottages/rooms. The bathroom was clean the beds were well laid and the pool was clean. Though the restaurant was closed for renovation there was places to enjoy lunch and dinner close to the hotel with sea view. overall a place worth to stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank susheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

nice stay
nice and well decorated rooms
good staffs.
govt owned hotel. but well mentained...
good security..
bathroom was clean
good location. on the calangute beach...
we stayed 5 nights...
great experience...
pool was well mentained...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dibyendu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I would say if one prefers to have more frequency of going to the beach (for example, morning walk including sunrise, after breakfast, evening including sunset view and after dinner) then it is probably the best location. During our stay (6 nights) we did the same. We stayed AC Deluxe room and also in Suit Room. Both the rooms are pretty good and spacious, toilet is also spacious.
AC Deluxe rooms have an opening towards garden (however they say it is facing sea but you can just sea some parts), however the Suit has an opening to the beach and the view from the balcony is magnificent. Nice sunset view & enjoy a romantic night in mini terrace of the room (from Suit room). Suit room has an extra sofa-set. Calangute beach is within 2 minute walk.

Advantage:
1. It is the pick-up point of local trip (north/south/cruise/ Dudhsagar waterfalls etc..) if you are availing the Goa tourism bus.
2. It has a small swimming pool.
3. Staff are very co-operative and polite.
4. Can find many good restaurants
5. Taxi's just outside.
6. Nice but small garden.

Disadvantage:
1. No restaurant

Room Tip: If you have the budget and also if the room is available - go for the Suite

Room Tip: If you have the budget and also if the room is available - go for the Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KailashRuwali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a government owned hotel hence it has all the flavours of ill management in everything. its right on the calangute beach hence the view from balcony is mesmerizing. live music at the restaurant in the evening is quite third class and location is superb once again. baga and other beaches are very near to it. for evening and morning stroll by the beach one can choose this place.

Room Tip: choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saloni_vkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

A purely SARKARI hotel....staff not interested in customer. Spent 2 days and found nothing except a good location. no complementary breakfast as it was mentioned . Stayed at Colva residency for 2 days...good experience..good location ............good services and a reasonable restaurant within hotel. better to stay at colva . also if two persons.are there.....better hire a bike at railway station for d period of stay and enjoy by saving hefty taxi fare.

Room Tip: hire a bike at railway station for d period of stay and enjoy by saving hefty taxi fare. also stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sujeet-bth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Oct 2013. Booked it through the Goa Tourism website. Currently the hotel is under renovation so lot of construction work going on hence if anyone is looking for a very neat and clean exterior like you expect in hotels you will not get it currently. Hopefully post all the construction work is over it should be a good property. However the view you get from the sea facing rooms is fabulous which kind of covers up for all the other short coming it has currently.It's the only hotel which is right at the Calangute beach.The rooms though could have been better considering the charges are kind of ok. We were initially allocated a sea facing room at the first floor however on request they changed it to a sea facing room in second floor. The rooms in the first floor seemed to be bigger than the ones in the second floor however the view from the second floor rooms are better. Also in case you are traveling with family it's preferable to stay in the second floor because the balconies in the first floor are not at level with the second floor balconies but a bit forward so people from second floor rooms can watch you directly in first floor balconies from top which at times might compromise your privacy. However the residency doesn't have any lift and they confirmed even after the renovation there won't be any lift facility, so if climbing stairs is a problem better to choose a first floor room. I also had a look at the suite room which are the most expensive ones however in my opinion it would be a waste of money to go for those as it's exactly the same as the sea facing rooms the only difference being it's marginally bigger in size to accommodate a sofa.Currently no food arrangement is there so you have to eat outside however they will provide you with an electric kettle, sugar tea bags inside the rooms for having tea, coffee etc.In case you want to contact the reception you have to call up the number from your cell paying roaming charges as all the phone lines in the rooms have been disconnected due to renovation work. The swimming pool though a bit small was nice and the area and rooms around the swimming pool is also pretty decent. The rooms around the swimming pool are on ground floor and first floor but with no sea view. The hotel arranges for all the GTDC trips like North Goa tour, South Goa tour, Cruise etc. We took the cruise one. The GTDC bus will come to the hotel pick you up around 8 pm take you to Mandovi for the Cruise ride and then will drop you back at the hotel around 11. The only thing I would say is if you have a budget constraint go with these GTDC trips else it's better to hire a taxi and go for these trips yourself but mind you it will be much more expensive. So unless you are a group of people who can share expenses within yourselves it's better to stick around with these GTDC packages. We enquired at the hotel about the renovation work and they informed that as per the information received by them the renovation should get over by Jan 2014, and the restaurant which is being built has been leased to an outside vendor who will run it. So just to summarize we enjoyed our stay in that hotel primarily because of the location of it and the excellent sea view, however like I said given that no lift is there, no room phone and no in house restaurant in case you are traveling with kids, elderly people you might reconsider staying at this hotel however for couples and bachelors just planning enjoy the beauty of Goa and it's lovely beaches this hotel even with these current shortcomings will still be a good proposition.

Room Tip: Go for sea facing rooms in second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Kumar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.3 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#101 of 119 in Calangute
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#14 of 119 in Calangute
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#31 of 119 in Calangute
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
#27 of 119 in Calangute
401 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#10 of 119 in Calangute
619 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#8 of 119 in Calangute
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calangute Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calangute Residency

Address: Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $68 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Calangute Residency 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Calangute Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calangute Residency Hotel Calangute
Calangute Residency Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing