We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay in GOA...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calangute Residency
Ranked #19 of 125 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I lived two days in calangute residency, and I liked it because of the location and very polite staff members. Rooms were also spacious and balconies were big. This is exactly at the calangute beach. So there is always a beach in you reach of 5 minutes..
Other beaches like the Candolim, baga are very near in 3-4 KM range from this. As part of my plan on third day I had to check-in to another hotel in Panji.... And from there I was missing calangute residency.. :(
You can get food from outside restaurant "Sagar" as the kitchen was under consutruction...Also
lots of wine, food and tattttoo shops nearby.
it also has a swimming pool.

Room Tip: Excellent location.. Value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pankaj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 302 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed in goa in Dec '12. weather is excellent. rooms of the Calangute Residency are very nice. if you select sea facing rooms you will be delighted by the view's. food is quite nice. rooms are excellent and clean also service is also very good.

Room Tip: If you want nice sunset view & enjoy a romantic night in mini terrace of the room then go for SE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rakesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed there from 12/1/13 to 14/1/13. The worst hotel I have ever stayed in my life.We have booked three deluxe suite . I have been alloted room no 210. the suite has no lock in the toilet. I have reported to the manager but no response or action taken. The AC has no remote control. Either you have to turn it on or off . no temparature control. The false ceiling of the varandah is totally broken and hanging over head. Any time any major accident could happen. The hotel has no restaurant for long time. Specially the staffs are very rude and ill mannered.
AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ANY COST. The only advantage is its location that is best in Calangute area.

Room Tip: Aviod this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SoumenDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

you can hear the waves in the night & early morning when the beach shacks are shut.
the place is pretty - but not maintained well.
some rooms look like in need of painting outside.
with no restaurant - you have to check out the long array of food joints on the road outside.
some great points -
1) you can be on the beach in less than 5 minutes in a stroll.
2) lovely lawns
3) pickup point for govt tours.

some worrisome points - bad ACs, screeching verandah doors, & fans funnily inset into the ceiling.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor cottage facing the pool or the beachside. the beach end ones are more privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank inias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in June'11. It is considered a off season in Goa, but the weather was good. We were there for a weekend. We booked the Suite Room At Residency at the price of a normal sea view room as it was off season. The view from the balcony was great , and that is the differentiation between a normal privately run hotel and a government run hotel. You cannot expect the best of room service as Goa is a place where you spend most of the time outdoors, if your travel is all about having fun. If a hotel claims its right on the beach , I would say that this hotel is definately on the beach !

Room Tip: If you have the budget and also if the room is available - go for the Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohan2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The only thing going for this hotel is its location - just by the sea.... But in North Goa, there is absolutely no reason for staying in a hotel on the sea.

No Room Service, Breakfast means a limited quote of 1 egg, 1 banana, two bread, 2 puri. no more, no less
Room Cleaning request is like requesting for the moon!
The rooms itself are good enough with a nice balcony setting, overall very clean!

We stayed in the peak time and thus the rates were also quite high an did not justify the experience we had!

Room Tip: Take the cottage rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranaditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

As far as location goes, you can't get any more closer to Calangute beach than this hotel. Step out of the hotel and you are on Calangute beach and Souza Lobo restaurant is a stone's throw away.
The rooms are very spacious. Amenities available are pretty basic. There is a swimming pool available as well but its pretty shabby. Our room booking came with a complimentary breakfast which was great. There is sufficient parking space which is a welcome relief for folks with cars.
The biggest issue we faced was that the room was crawling with bed bugs - and man they were biting. Kept us up all night (and not in the good way). The manager did give us a different room but I am not really sure what actions were taken to fix the bed bug problem.
The entire place does need a renovation (or some Diwali cleanup)

All in all, I would recommend the hotel if you are looking for a place very close to the beach. Not something you should look at if you are looking for luxury or amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruchir_Asthana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.3 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#104 of 125 in Calangute
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#27 of 125 in Calangute
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#107 of 125 in Calangute
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#54 of 125 in Calangute
375 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#7 of 125 in Calangute
582 reviews
0.7 mi away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#14 of 125 in Calangute
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calangute Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calangute Residency

Address: Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $61 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Calangute Residency 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Calangute Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calangute Residency Hotel Calangute
Calangute Residency Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing