We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great people”
Review of Cary's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cary's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Hi, we stayed at Cary's Hotel, Calangute from 25th to 30th Dec 2013, we were warmly welcomed by Mrs. Laura & Cary, the owners of the hotel. The hotel is well located and 2 min walk from the beach. The room was very spacious and well provided with all amenities. The food was excellent. Special thanks to Victor who was always around to help us with anything and everything. Looking forward at staying at Cary's again and would always recommend people to stay here atleast once.
Thank you Cary & Laura for the wonderful stay we had at your hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank javeds1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 81 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

You are probably wondering how a two star hotel can be given a five star rating, well Carys Hotel does not have marble floors and staff walking around the pool with cold towels for your face, but it does have lots of other things, making it the perfect choice for me on my trip this January.

There are two things above all else that made this hotel great, one was the staff - Suraj, Shubham, Prakash and all the boys could not have been more helpful and always with a smile and the other is its cleanliness, everywhere was kept spotlessly clean with staff constantly gardening and cleaning. I checked previous reports before writing this review and noticed a complaint about the rooms, well Laura and Cary must have taken heed because we could not fault them, no cobwebs, no dirt, no dust.

Rooms - Each room has a bathroom with shower , which is more like a wet room, clean towels are provided and replaced if requested. There is a sign up saying that the rooms are not serviced daily, but they will clean them providing you ask, so no maids banging on the door after a night out celebrating the New Year. Rooms have, fridge, electric fan over the beds, TV and an AC unit (well ours did), along with a balcony. They dont have telephones, but lets face it we all have mobiles these days so does it matter?

Hotel - Breakfast is only toast and tea or coffee if complimentary, but they offer eggs almost anyway possible including French Toast, all very reasonably priced. In fact you can get most things on the menu from when you get up until 3pm and then again from 7pm, not bad for 2 star. The pool was clean (cleaned several times during our stay) and offers plenty of shade from the strong sun, towels are also provided. Like I mentioned before the staff are very helpful and always on hand until about 10pm.

Area - The hotel is on a relatively quiet road, there are bikes and cars honking their horns all day long, but as the road is a dead end there is not much traffic down it. One review was very concerned about the area, mentioning fights with taxi drivers etc, well I think this was a one off, we didnt see any evidence of this for the 10 days we stayed. If you want to find the hotels location in Google maps I suggest you put in “Hotel Germany, Calangute” as it is opposite Carys and in the right place in Google, whereas Carys pin is in the completely wrong place. As you can see from the maps the beach is only a very short walk, you then turn left onto Calangute Beach which is the busiest of the two or turn right and walk another 5/10 minutes to Baga Beach, which is also busy but much wider, both are lovely sandy beaches with plenty of Beach Shacks and sun loungers.

Christmas and New Year - Just a heads up if you are visiting at this time. This area is the place to be if you are looking for a party atmosphere, people come from all over the world and India to celebrate, this of course also includes opportunists. Goans are very friendly, smiley people but at this time of year a lot of outsiders stay for the celebrations and so you need to be a little careful, if you are white like me and stick out like a sore thumb, they like to bump into you! Just be prepared and it wont bother you too much, or shout out and the locals will shout at them too.

Finally - if you go shopping haggle, its great fun and expected, starting with your taxi from the airport.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back of the hotel. The dogs like to bark at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbutruislip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We got to know about this hotel through Trip advisor and were surely not disappointed. We stayed there from 1st jan to 4th jan and our stay was really pleasant.The rooms are very clean with all basic amenities. It is just 2 min walk from calangute beach. The garden is so beautiful,we loved spending time there. The staff is so cooperative . They helped us arrange a scooty. Cary and Laura are awesome people. We got non pool facing rooms and we loved it. We booked the rooms online and it was made quite hassle free because of Laura mam. We will definitely stay in this hotel in our next visit.

Thanks,
Ankita and Aakash

Room Tip: Non pool facing rooms are better as anyone sitting near pool or the restaurant can peek inside the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anksaakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This pretty little hotel, 3 mins from the beach was so comfortable, very clean and great service. Victor and the boys go out of tbeir way to make your stay comfortable. Their smiling faces, will definitely bring us back. Carys.....you rock!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Dalem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have just returned from an absolutely fantastic 3 week stay at this hotel.
We arrived at 5 in the morning and were shown to our room straight away, with a couple of lads going in front with our cases.
We booked 1 of the 4 pool facing rooms at the hotel and we got exactly what we asked for. The rooms are clean, spacious and have everything you would need in a hotel, even down to a TV. The hotel is exactly as the pictures on the website showed which was a change to some we have stayed in over the years.
All the staff at the hotel from Victor the hotel manager right down to the room boys would always smile at you, say good morning and ask you if you were well.
The rooms were cleaned, fresh linen and towels changed everyday, unless like me you take you room key out by mistake.
We ate at the hotel a couple of times, but as we were travelling with friends we did eat out most nights with them.
I cannot praise the owners and staff enough for making our stay most pleasurable.
In my review I have marked the sleep quality as average. This has nothing to do with the beds or rooms, but with the Russians in the next room who would come in noisily at 5 or 6 in the morning.

Room Tip: Pool facing have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel is one of the well maintained properties, located 3 mins walking distance from beach. (Not the main entrance of calangute). Location, layout, pool and plantings (flowers, bushes, trees) are truly impressive.

We stayed there for 4 Nights. 2 nights in pool facing room on ground floor and 2 nights in pool facing room on 1st floor.(as the 1st floor room was booked on our check in date). Rooms are very neat clean.

The staff were fantastic Mr.Victor (Manager) and his assistant Prakash ensured our stay was perfect! Mr. Cary and Mrs. Laura the owners of the hotel are personally looking after management and reservation, Specially Mrs. Laura is very prompt on replying for emails and thats why the booking process is very easy and hassle free.

The place is located between baga and calangute so all the happening places and food joints like tittos, brittos etc. are easily accessible.

Awesomely beautiful location with very approachable management. All-in-all, a great experience. Will surely visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omkar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I would firstly like to thank Madam Laura for my daughter’s birthday gift. They were very accommodative and everything was taken care, our comfort was their priority at all times. Am sure there would have been no other better place than Hotel Cary's for the occasion. We stayed there for four nights.This is my second family outing here. The experience started from the gate, Mr. Victor, Manager at Cary’s and his team were awaiting to welcome us. Neat and tidy were kept ready for us. It was my niece’s birthday day we checked in, we arrived around 08.30pm they had kept cake ready for celebration. Next day morning they set up a table with surprise for the birthday occasion of my daughter our party started from here the same evening I just requested for a place near pool area for cake cutting ceremony, Mr. Victor got the complete place ready for us and he made the best choice of menu. Food was superb especially the prawn curry was the best I had till date, I doubt if I would have one. This party was like if we were guests and hotel cary’s family playing perfect hosts.We were allowed to use the kitchen to prepare infant food, we used the kitchen like we did in our own house.
About Hotel- its very well maintained property, best location situated very close to beach, between Calangute and Baga , easily accessible to restaurants and other happening joints.
Pool was maintained very well, we spent most of our time relaxing in pool. All in All complete value for money. It’s the best place for family and group outing, very secured and safe.
My experience does not stop here. I will surely run out of space. Be rest assured you will definitely not miss home. I cannot stop thanking You Madam Laura, Mr. Victor and his team – Prakash , Joseph , Suraj and rest of restaurant and kitchen team.
Hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinodjagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.2 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 116 in Calangute
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 116 in Calangute
990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
0.3 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#35 of 116 in Calangute
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Vie Woods
La Vie Woods
#1 of 217 in Calangute
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary's Hotel

Address: Cobravaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Price Range: $28 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cary's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cary's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cary's Hotel Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing