We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE BECAUSE OF MR. RAJEEV(CARE TAKER)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy's Service Apartment
Ranked #69 of 260 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The room was good and spacious. But the bedsheets were not changed for 3 days! And towels were not provided for the Bathroom. The guy in charge - "Rajeev" in the pretext of being helpful asked us if we wanted a vehicle for transport, and that he can easily arrange. As Sandys had a good review at Trip Advisor, we went ahead. We came to know that he was charging almost 200% of the actual cost outside.

1) Less than an hour of paying RAJEEV the advance for the vehicle, we told him, not to proceed with the booking. But he started acting indifferent. And told us that if we don't take the vehicle, the money (2000 IN Rupees) is not refunded. This kind of behaviour is completely unacceptable. He was exploiting the vulnerable position that a tourist/guest feels in a different State/Country.

2) The first day, we gave him the keys to clean our room and left in the morning. When we came at night, we found that he didn't lock our rooms, and it was lying open the whole day!

3) On the last day of our trip, we met the car owner, and he himself told the rate we are paying is very high. But "RAJEEV" came in between and kept interfering and didn't let us pay a more reasonable price.

4) Just as we were about to leave, we remembered that one of our friend's mobile phone was left at the room itself. When we mentioned this to Rajeev (this was 2 minutes after locking the door), he was very hesistant to open the door. He started telling that new guests are coming etc.etc.

I would highly recommend anyone to please go to a different service apartment. Please don't ruin your holidays at this place, unless and until they change the care-taker Mr. Rajeev!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SarangN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 53 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were a group of friends who stayed over a this place for 4 days . Right from the moment we entered the place the care taker rajeev tried scamming cash by quoting basless price for renting out bikes the person was a big scamster alwasy after money tried cheating us for money. Its a wonderful place to stay but i do not recomend this place thanks to thief being appointed as a care taker. This person dint even have the sense to lock our rooms stashed with belongings when we were out n he had come to clean the room. DO NOT STAY HERE THERE ARE WAY BETTER PLACES AND BETTER PEOPLE IN GOA!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhatta1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was there with a group of freinds(15ppl).. we took a 2 bedroom apartment. I was in a kios while i was on my way to the hotel from the airport thinking if the hotel will be neat or in a prime location. When rched we had the boy(Raju Bhaiya) to allot us the rooms and give us all the requirements. He also helped us in hiring bikes on a very good price. Rooms were real nice and even the as promised we got rooms pool facing. The whole group was happy in terms of the hotel and the location. We had a grossary shop just outside the main gate, where you can get all your grossary's for kitchen and also beers & petrol at a normal goa price. Talking about the location i would say it was prime location and an awsum n fantatic to plan with frnds. Just exiting the main gate we had a Red light(Signal) which will connect you to all the places like South Goa, Candolim, Calangute & Baga.. Calangute, Baga & Candolim was just like 10mins walk and 3minutes ride.. I myself being a frequent traveller was lil concerned abt the apartment i booked but when i arrived my views totally changed regarding the location of the property, nearby amenities and ofcourse the rooms...
I would always prefer recomending or stay in Sandy's on my next visit.. Thanks Sanford & Raju Bhaiya for all the arrangmnts and attention given during our stay.

Cheers,
Solomon Davis & the Group

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine but taking a Pool face is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolomonDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

It was a pleasant stay of one week in Sandy's service apartments. It has all necessary elements that makes you feel at home...The hospitality too is quite impressive. Expecting to stay there again this year in December...Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amitupadhyay311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I can safely say that every time I got to Goa (which will be alot), Sandy's will be my first choice.... The service is great... The ambiance is even better.... And the location is so convenient.. Enough said

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AditYa304551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hi,

This is Pavan from Hyderabad. It was a wonderful stay at Sandy's Apartments. All six of us were happy with the facilities provided. We stayed in a double bedroom flat for 5 days. This was my third visit to GOA and for the remaining people it was for the first time. We enjoyed the self catering facilities. The owners were very friendy and helpful. The price charged was reasonable; considering the location of the apartments. There is a local vegetable and meat market nearby, and a drinks store next to the apartment. Kitchen has all the utensils including a mixer and even a dish washer. Theres one maid who cleans up everything on a daily basis, which doesnt happen in budget hotels or resorts.

We should not expect star hotel amenties in a home style apartment. This place is all-in-all a budget self-catered stay in Calangute.

We thank Mr. D'Souza and his mom for the attention and care they took to make our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PavanHYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Sandy's is a class in its own. Mr. D'Souza, the warm hearted cheerful owner, was constantly in touch with us to make sure that our stay was perfect. The apartments are spacious, clean, and just like home. It was a joyful surprise for us to find that the kitchen in each of our apartments was fully equipped, complete with a refrigerator, stove and all kinds of utensils. The kitchen saved a lot of bucks as we could cook as per our wish. The pool is also great. The location is fabulous; Calangute beach is just 2kms away. The caretaker was friendly too. He made sure that we faced minimum hardships. He had even rented bikes for us directly, immediately on our arrival.

All in all, Sandy's is the perfect place to stay in Goa if you are looking for insane fun with friends. Its budget-friendly, perfectly placed and a nice place to relax. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: M 01 and M 02. Spacious, close to the pool, and a lot of space in front to hang out or park your car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanket K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.4 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#104 of 124 in Calangute
198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#107 of 124 in Calangute
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Goa
Hard Rock Hotel Goa
#10 of 124 in Calangute
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Gabriels Guest House
Gabriels Guest House
#104 of 234 in Calangute
174 reviews
1 mi away
Vila Goesa Beach Resort
Vila Goesa Beach Resort
#103 of 234 in Calangute
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calangute Grande
Calangute Grande
#2 of 234 in Calangute
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy's Service Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy's Service Apartment

Address: Saldanha Kieran Park,Behind Calangute Post Office | behind Calangute Post Office, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 260 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Price Range: $32 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy's Service Apartment 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandy's Service Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy`s Service Apartment Hotel Calangute
Sandy's Service Apartment Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing