We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST Experience: Never go to this so-called Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Goan Holiday Resort
Ranked #90 of 211 Calangute B&B and Inns
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WORST Experience: Never go to this so-called Hotel”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Undoubtedly it is blessed by its location near to Calangute & Baga beach. Other than that it is the worst place in Goa. They make every effort to ruin your wonderful GOA experience. They ensure that you do not get what you see in photographs. We booked a Super delux room and believe me the word "delux" would feel ashamed, if it by any chance get to see the room. In the photographs we have seen that it has a swiming pool & Cafe Coffee Day inside but the nearest place to swim that I could find in the vicinity was the Calangute/Baga beach. Being in Goa you get a little time to enjoy their rotten services, so that is definitely a good thing about this hotel.

Room Tip: Not good to live in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anuragspn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelandrestaurant, Owner at Goan Holiday Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
This is for your kind information, we have taken back the management contract from April 2012 on wards and now as owners we are managing the property by ourselves. so we request you to kindly give us an opportunity to serve you in the future as we have taken personal interest in the issues raised by the customers in the past. for further communications in the future you can also contact us at : goanholidayresort@hotmail.com or +917709967505, 0832-2914300 / 2725673
thank you
goan holiday resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    10
    6
    10
See reviews for
14
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I booked his hotel for new years last year...Thought i will write a review now...It is by far the worst hotel I have ever been to. The rooms were the worst kind you will ever see. The bedsheets were smelling of urine. The toilets were stinking and excement stains were present even on the floor. There is a balcony of some sorts which had needles, alcohol bottles and cigarette butts.
I asked them to clean the place and they didnt at all. I agreed to check out but they refused to pay the money. I created such a big scene there and finally they gave me 10% of the money back.

It was teh most disgusting place in Goa. Please avoid this place and in particular the manager, Guptaji.

They are all crooks.

Room Tip: DO not book here...YOu will regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itsrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelandrestaurant, Owner at Goan Holiday Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
This is for your kind information, we have taken back the management contract from April 2012 on wards and now as owners we are managing the property by ourselves. so we request you to kindly give us an opportunity to serve you in the future as we have taken personal interest in the issues raised by the customers in the past. for further communications in the future you can also contact us at : goanholidayresort@hotmail.com or +917709967505, 0832-2914300 / 2725673
thank you
goan holiday resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Filthy rooms and toilets, uncourteous staff and extremely unprofessional owner Mr. Guptaji. We had a booking at this hotel for two days which had been done through cleartrip and the payment for the room tariff was done online. However the staff decided to check us out when we were at the beach without even informing us and moved all our stuff. When we got back the room was occupied by someone else and we were informed that didn't have any vacant rooms for us. Then the hotel staff asked one of its guest to move out and gave us their room which was even more filthier, didn't have a curtain and everything in the room smelt of urine. Even the staff found it difficult to find my ID which I had given during check-in, as the owner Mr. Guptaji had it and was out sightseeing. The people and the service of the hotel is terrible and should be avoided.

Room Tip: Dont even try
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhishekduta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelandrestaurant, Owner at Goan Holiday Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
This is for your kind information, we have taken back the management contract from April 2012 on wards and now as owners we are managing the property by ourselves. so we request you to kindly give us an opportunity to serve you in the future as we have taken personal interest in the issues raised by the customers in the past. for further communications in the future you can also contact us at : goanholidayresort@hotmail.com or +917709967505, 0832-2914300 / 2725673
thank you
goan holiday resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Rooms were dirty, bathroom was filthy and bathroom towels actually smelt of urine (and no, i'm not exaggerating - it actually smelt like it was washed in urine/used to mop it up off some floor!!).

To top it all of, we were checked out from our room when we went to baga beach for some sight seeing. When we came back, the manager calmly told us that he 'thought we had checked out'. They also threw out all the stuff we had in the room. Luckily it wasn't our bags - just food and some drinks. After about an hour of arguing, we were checked into a different room. The lady staying in that room was asked to vacate the property and make way for us, so it appears throwing guests out is quite common. The room we were then given stank like a stable and there was no water in the taps (much less hot water).

I can go on and on about the place, but to keep it short - avoid this place like the plague!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aravindvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelandrestaurant, Owner at Goan Holiday Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
This is for your kind information, we have taken back the management contract from April 2012 on wards and now as owners we are managing the property by ourselves. so we request you to kindly give us an opportunity to serve you in the future as we have taken personal interest in the issues raised by the customers in the past. for further communications in the future you can also contact us at : goanholidayresort@hotmail.com or +917709967505, 0832-2914300 / 2725673
thank you
goan holiday resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We had booked 1 room for 2 nights... booked through a website and had done the entire payment in advance.
After the first night, these people wanted to give that room to someone else... so checked us out of that room, removed our stuff and later told us that they dont have a room for us because they assumed we had checked out.. Our identity card was still with them so I hav no idea how could they assume that. ALso after we fought and got another room... there was no curtain in that room.. there was a bed sheet tied in the name of a curtain. Also the towels smelt like urine..

Room Tip: Please DONT book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anusinghs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelandrestaurant, Owner at Goan Holiday Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
This is for your kind information, we have taken back the management contract from April 2012 on wards and now as owners we are managing the property by ourselves. so we request you to kindly give us an opportunity to serve you in the future as we have taken personal interest in the issues raised by the customers in the past. for further communications in the future you can also contact us at : goanholidayresort@hotmail.com or +917709967505, 0832-2914300 / 2725673
thank you
goan holiday resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We booked Goan Holiday Resort through Cleartrip for 3 nights on a promotional offer which promised Rs. 1500 cash back within 5 days.....it's been a month and we are yet to get the money and Cleartrip says we did not enter the coupon code (which, of course we did!). Goan Holiday Resort cost us 4800 for 3 nights.... cheap you would say? NO! Coz the room that we got should be worth only half the price! It was a tiny room with a broken AC which had the capacity to only make the temperature bearable! The furniture were dusty and the room was never cleaned in the 3 days we stayed there! Forget room service and restaurant!

The only reason I rated the hotel "poor" and not "terrible" is the Hotel Manager Dinesh who was polite and helpful and arranged for our full day sight-seeing tours to North and South Goa which were good.

Also, the hotel location is excellent, both because it is very close to the Calangute beach and the lane on which the hotel is located is also very vibrant with lots of shops and great eateries.

Overall, I think if you are a young gang of friends, you can stay here.....but do so only after going there and checking the room yourself, because if you make the full payment before going, they will give you a bad room! Definitely not recommended for couples or families!

Room Tip: If you have to book this hotel, do so only after going there and checking the room yourself. Do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_Couple_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Our trip to Goa was memorable with our stay in one of the beautiful locations "Calangute". We resevered in Goan Holiday Rsort where we enjoyed the true Goan culture. It is such a prominent location that connects good beaches.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sayan06011982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.1 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#34 of 112 in Calangute
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor Bay
Hotel Windsor Bay
#35 of 112 in Calangute
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sodder's Svelton Manor
Sodder's Svelton Manor
#86 of 211 in Calangute
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albenjoh Guest House
Albenjoh Guest House
#26 of 211 in Calangute
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Theresa
Hotel Villa Theresa
#99 of 211 in Calangute
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shelsta
Hotel Shelsta
#58 of 211 in Calangute
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goan Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goan Holiday Resort

Property: Goan Holiday Resort
Address: Calangute-Baga Road, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Goan Holiday Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goan Holiday Resort - Calangute is an ideal option for discerning tourists, honeymooners as well as leisure travellers visiting Goa. It is located on Calangute Beach Road in North Goa, Goa. The Calangute beach is 5 minute away. Sightseeing trips can be organised by the resort on request.It 20 well-appointed rooms that are categorised as Deluxe Room, Super Deluxe Room and Family Room (6 persons max). Guests have access to in-room amenities like television with cable connection, intercom facility, refrigerator, safe deposit locker, and an attached bathroom with bathroom toiletries, geyser and 24 hours hot and cold water supply.There is a restaurant called Shree Sagar at the hotel that offers a variety of dishes. Guests can also savour their meals in the dining hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Goan Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goan Holiday Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing