We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place like the plague!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Goan Holiday Resort
Ranked #94 of 217 Calangute B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Rooms were dirty, bathroom was filthy and bathroom towels actually smelt of urine (and no, i'm not exaggerating - it actually smelt like it was washed in urine/used to mop it up off some floor!!).

To top it all of, we were checked out from our room when we went to baga beach for some sight seeing. When we came back, the manager calmly told us that he 'thought we had checked out'. They also threw out all the stuff we had in the room. Luckily it wasn't our bags - just food and some drinks. After about an hour of arguing, we were checked into a different room. The lady staying in that room was asked to vacate the property and make way for us, so it appears throwing guests out is quite common. The room we were then given stank like a stable and there was no water in the taps (much less hot water).

I can go on and on about the place, but to keep it short - avoid this place like the plague!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aravindvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelandrestaurant, Owner at Goan Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

This is for your kind information, we have taken back the management contract from April 2012 on wards and now as owners we are managing the property by ourselves. so we request you to kindly give us an opportunity to serve you in the future as we have taken personal interest in the issues raised by the customers in the past. for further communications in the future you can also contact us at : goanholidayresort@hotmail.com or +917709967505, 0832-2914300 / 2725673
thank you
goan holiday resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 56 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

We had booked 1 room for 2 nights... booked through a website and had done the entire payment in advance.
After the first night, these people wanted to give that room to someone else... so checked us out of that room, removed our stuff and later told us that they dont have a room for us because they assumed we had checked out.. Our identity card was still with them so I hav no idea how could they assume that. ALso after we fought and got another room... there was no curtain in that room.. there was a bed sheet tied in the name of a curtain. Also the towels smelt like urine..

Room Tip: Please DONT book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anusinghs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelandrestaurant, Owner at Goan Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

This is for your kind information, we have taken back the management contract from April 2012 on wards and now as owners we are managing the property by ourselves. so we request you to kindly give us an opportunity to serve you in the future as we have taken personal interest in the issues raised by the customers in the past. for further communications in the future you can also contact us at : goanholidayresort@hotmail.com or +917709967505, 0832-2914300 / 2725673
thank you
goan holiday resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We booked Goan Holiday Resort through Cleartrip for 3 nights on a promotional offer which promised Rs. 1500 cash back within 5 days.....it's been a month and we are yet to get the money and Cleartrip says we did not enter the coupon code (which, of course we did!). Goan Holiday Resort cost us 4800 for 3 nights.... cheap you would say? NO! Coz the room that we got should be worth only half the price! It was a tiny room with a broken AC which had the capacity to only make the temperature bearable! The furniture were dusty and the room was never cleaned in the 3 days we stayed there! Forget room service and restaurant!

The only reason I rated the hotel "poor" and not "terrible" is the Hotel Manager Dinesh who was polite and helpful and arranged for our full day sight-seeing tours to North and South Goa which were good.

Also, the hotel location is excellent, both because it is very close to the Calangute beach and the lane on which the hotel is located is also very vibrant with lots of shops and great eateries.

Overall, I think if you are a young gang of friends, you can stay here.....but do so only after going there and checking the room yourself, because if you make the full payment before going, they will give you a bad room! Definitely not recommended for couples or families!

Room Tip: If you have to book this hotel, do so only after going there and checking the room yourself. Do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller_Couple_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Our trip to Goa was memorable with our stay in one of the beautiful locations "Calangute". We resevered in Goan Holiday Rsort where we enjoyed the true Goan culture. It is such a prominent location that connects good beaches.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sayan06011982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Me with my husband and kid planned for a trip to Goa and booked this hotel. Location-wise it was good as it is very near to Calangute. But our trip turned into misery when after 1st night we found that our valuables(Camera, Purse, earrings, 2 mobiles) have been stolen while we were asleep. Footprints were found on the outside wall and it seemed that the thief entered our room through the skylight and quietly moved out through the balcony door. We found it open when we woke up.

Hotel owner was least co-operative regarding this matter. He did his best to avoid facing us while we were present there. At least Goa police was trying their best to help us out. We have a 3 year old child and I still quiver in fear with the thought that she could have been kidnapped or we could have been harmed otherwise!

Honestly speaking, Goa is truly an amazing place but the way we were greeted (except Goa Police), freaked us out! As you all can understand, after this, I really can not recommend this hotel to anyone!

- AnjanSree
Kolkata

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AnjanSree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

it is good location on the main road connecting both baga & calangute beach day one when we arived in our hotel we got top floor room road side view ,the rom was much bigger and clean ,but as we came by train it was over night travel so v have to fresh , as i entered my bathroom to take shower there was no water,water was coming in tabe but it was were slow and i was an able to take shower ,i called helpline but they were anable to help me they told me sir some work is going on reagarding water pump & that boy than give me bukat full of water this is the way they terat u as a guest i stay there for four days but it was horable i also saw big mosuse in my room as when i have booked this room i select breakfast also but this guy just give us copon of fourty rupees coupon each day for each person what can u eat in fourty so every day i have to sell out cash from my pocket for breakfast also so that makes no sence to take break fast from them, i the night when v should return to room in the entranc there is no light , i ask why u not swtch on a light that guy told me next house there is old man living so he shout on us if v switch on light so this is the way hotel treet with there guest

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickychandowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

This hotel is situated in calangute on the calangute-baga road and hardly 5 minutes walk to calangute beach.The hotel is equipped with veg restaurant though quality of food is good little pricey.As we arrived in monsoons we got ac room for 800 rs amost for half the price as compared to their season price.The room service is good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venkatdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor Bay
Hotel Windsor Bay
#44 of 116 in Calangute
154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lua Nova Hotel
Lua Nova Hotel
#76 of 116 in Calangute
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balaji Calangute Resort
Balaji Calangute Resort
#138 of 217 in Calangute
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Golden Nest - Serviced Apartments
1.0 mi away
Sugar Plum Macedo Palms
2.3 mi away
Alegria - The Goan Village
Alegria - The Goan Village
#24 of 67 in Candolim
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goan Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goan Holiday Resort

Address: Calangute-Baga Road, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range: $27 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Goan Holiday Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goan Holiday Resort - Calangute is an ideal option for discerning tourists, honeymooners as well as leisure travellers visiting Goa. It is located on Calangute Beach Road in North Goa, Goa. The Calangute beach is 5 minute away. Sightseeing trips can be organised by the resort on request.It 20 well-appointed rooms that are categorised as Deluxe Room, Super Deluxe Room and Family Room (6 persons max). Guests have access to in-room amenities like television with cable connection, intercom facility, refrigerator, safe deposit locker, and an attached bathroom with bathroom toiletries, geyser and 24 hours hot and cold water supply.There is a restaurant called Shree Sagar at the hotel that offers a variety of dishes. Guests can also savour their meals in the dining hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Goan Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goan Holiday Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing