We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a proper guest”
Review of Resort Park Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Resort Park Avenue
Ranked #94 of 113 Hotels in Calangute
west yorkshire
1 review
“not a proper guest”
Reviewed August 9, 2009

i have been to goa several times staying at various places but this hotel has been the worst. good location on the baga road and thats the best this hotel has to offer. the room we were in was on the ground floor with no balcony/terrace as there was 3 of us there was no where to sit except on the beds went to reception to see about getting a room change they told us we could change 2 days before we were due to go home as the hotel was full (it wasn't). Spent the first day at the hotel the pool was ok and clean when we got there with a few sunbeds service was good that day, we went out for a meal the first night and had a early night. breakfast the next morning was a joke as it was every morning, we would sit down and be the last to be served even those who arrived for breakfast 20 or 30 mins after us were getting served before us we had to constantly go up to the bar and ask for juice which they never brought or brought as we were getting up to leave when we did get our toast it was like cardboard infact cardboard would have been more appealing (great bakery a min walk down the road). because we spent most days at the beach we were ignored when we got back to the hotel it just made us laugh and we used to say that we were not proper guests even the few nights when we did stay at the hotel for a meal (which i must say was always delicious) the service we got was bad. now for the room boy i have always made apoint of being nice to the room boys in goa as they lookafter you make sure your room is nice and clean, minibar kept fully stocked etc but we noticed that the minibar bill was getting more & more expensive 200/300 ruppes a day when 1 drink costs 20 that is a lot so was started writing down everything we had when we challenged him on this hi just said he made a mistake bills were never more than 100 rupees after. i dont mind paying but dont like to be ripped off needless to say he didnt get the tip we had planned. dont ever get a taxi outside this hotel they charge at least double than if you walk down the street. they wanted to charge 500 to baga beach and back. get a taxi driver who doesnt rip you off and use him all the time. St Anthonys beach shack in baga beach is my fav hangout for days and nights. the beachboys really lookafter you there and we had the same beds waiting for us each day at no charge as we ate and drank at the shack. as for the beach hawkers if you dont want to buy anything dont be rude to them a firm polite no i dont want will do. saying that we always used to have a chat with them and soon we would be surrounded with them arguing between themselves as to who would get a sale we hardly ever bough anything but had a great laugh with them we also bought em ice creams about 20 one day after that they never asked us to buy anything but would often stop for a chat and they also kept other hawkers away. so if you want a great holiday come to goa just dont stay at the park avenue.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    25
    17
    24
See reviews for
26
25
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

good position, rooms very very hot, up 7 flights of stairs, but good value for money

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkJaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2008

As i got a very good deal wasn't expecting much anyway.

When i got to my room I was pleasantly surprised as I had a large bedroom with separate living area, fridge and good size wet room. Balcony overlooked the back and was nice and cool and quiet. The room was good, clean but very tired looking.

This was a B&B booking.... breakfast was nothing to write home about! It was coffee and toast when you were eventually served. I didn't eat at the hotel at all so cannot comment on the rest of the food.
The staff left a lot to be desired as even after two weeks they still didn't know my name or room number. Having said that my room boy was fantastic.

The location of this hotel is what makes it. It is so close to everything and everywhere. If the price was right the location is the main reason why I would go back there again; plus as I was on my own and I felt safe and at the end of the day I had a room and a shower which is what I wanted.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

a very short walk from calangute main street and the beach,very clean and efficient for rating. tends to cater for brits and indian residents.. the dentist in complex is brilliant and technically very good(friend has had teeth done).
re hotel dont expect luxury or quiet and you wont be disappointed

  • Liked — very central
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.5 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#27 of 113 in Calangute
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#35 of 113 in Calangute
252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#43 of 113 in Calangute
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Resorte de Tio Carmino
Resorte de Tio Carmino
#62 of 113 in Calangute
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#96 of 113 in Calangute
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Epitacio's Hotel
Epitacio's Hotel
#58 of 113 in Calangute
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Park Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Park Avenue

Property: Resort Park Avenue
Address: Baga Road, Near Infantaria Bakery | Umtta Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Resort Park Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort Park Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resorte Park Avenue Hotel Calangute
Resort Park Avenue Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing