We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate gateway to India”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benaulim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heaven Goa Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 28 Benaulim B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norge
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The ultimate gateway to India”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

My girlfriend and I arrived here Dec.15. after a long flight from Norway. We were greeted by Sunils´s big smile and open arms, then shown to the quite big and nice room with proper bath and a nice big bed with proper mosquito net. We stayed for 6 nights, and had, I think, the best start on an Indian vacation. Benaulim is a nice and (after Indian standards) quiet town with everything you need to have a pleasant beach holiday, and Heaven Goa is THE place to stay while you´re there. Nothing´s a problem, you get help with anything you need and there´s always someone to talk to on the terrace in the backyard. Good simple breakfast on the same terrace with costume made omelets, and Saturday night is pizza-night with Sunil in front of the wood-fired oven. On all fronts a very nice and pleasant place, and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMToben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    13
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
53
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chernex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

I had a very happy stay there during six weeks, and it was not the first time. Such a peaceful place, green and birds all around, a few minutes from the beach.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gufette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Heaven Goa

If you want a high quality budget guest house with wonderful hosts in a quiter part of Goa but still with close access to the beach(& beach shacks), shops, ATMs & village communities - Heaven Goa is the place for you. Its address is Ambeaxir, Sernabatim Beach Road, Colva, Salcette 403708. [--] In fact it is close to Benaulim village – a 10 min walk & 10min to the nearest beach (&20min walk to Colva Beach). Our hosts Karin & Sunil, a Swiss/Indian couple are cheerful, kind and very helpful - nothing is too much trouble.They have spotless rooms (8) with fans, mosquito nets, nice furniture & large clean bathrooms –all rooms facing onto a rice paddy with balcony + wicker chairs. Great breakfast -bread, cereal, fruit, tea/coffee & ask for eggs. Good beach – even by Aussie standards. Try beach shacks Anthy’s & Camillsons for fish curry/chps &cold beer for lunch or dinner. – very good value. Hosts will source car and drivers with integrity for day trips or to airport. Aaaah take me back now

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Just come back from a two week trip to India that started with a couple of days in Benaulim. We stayed at Heaven Goa and I can't recommend it highly enough. We were looking for a quiet place to relax after a long journey and before a heavy two weeks, and we found it here. The rooms are big, bright and spacious and come with a mosquito net. No breakfast or other meals, but they weren't really missed by us.

The owner, Sunil, was very kind and helpful, giving us excellent recommendations of where to eat on the beach (Anthy's) and the best person to drive us to Old Goa. He also sorted us out an early morning car to take us to the train station. It was a pleasure to stay with him, and his two lovely dogs.

The only possible downside is that some people might mind that it's a 10 minute walk to the beach, but this didn't bother us at all and we felt quite safe on the walk, even in the dark. I think for the quality of the accomodation you get it's worth the walk as the places on the beach don't look like they'd meet the same standards. Just take a torch for walking back at night so you're very visible to the speeding cars as there's no pavement.

One last tip - if you arrive by plane to Goa, you can take a pre-paid taxi to Benaulim where Heaven Goa is. If you do this, take the Rough Guide to South India with you and point out where you want to go on the map. It's an easy journey and we were lucky, when we showed the taxi driver the map he knew the guest house, but I think some people have had problems finding it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetterOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2009

We stayed at Heaven Goa for 3 days in December 2008. It's a small guest house in a very tranquille setting overlooking a beautiful wetland. The rooms were very clean and well laid out with storage shelves, a comfortable bed with a mosquito net, and a spotless bathroom. The building is two stories high, with all the rooms facing the wetland. We stayed on the ground floor, with a nice verandah. There was no AC, but the room stayed cool with just the fan. Great value for Rs 750.

They serve breakfast in the garden for a small extra charge. Breakfast was good, with cereal, fruit, toast, and eggs.

The guesthouse is about a 10 minute walk down a quiet country road to the beautiful white sandy beach. The countryside is beautiful, and we always enjoyed the walk to and from the beach. If you want, there are also autorickshaws that you can take, but we were always comfortable walking, even at night.

We had a very relaxing and enoyable stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garryoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
724 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

First a cautionary tale! We booked two weeks with Karin via email and arrived in Goa from Mumbai on a (surprisingly wet!) March afternoon. We picked up a pre-paid taxi (Rs. 600) from Goa's airport and headed for Benaulim. It was obvious that the taxi driver had no idea where to go and had to stop for directions a number of times. He eventually called the guest house (three times!) and eventually we arrived ad a grotty guest house buried in the middle of nowhere. It was nothing like the photos on the website, but we figured we'd just picked a bum guest house. So we agreed to find somewhere else the next day. After dinner though we could not find our way back in the dark and when we asked people, they told us that the street where Heaven Goa was listed was around 3km away. Eventually we believed them and arrived at the right guest house! Our taxi driver had taken us to the wrong guest house!

Thankfully Heaven Goa really is a fantastic place to stay. We paid only Rs. 400 per night plus Rs. 150 for breakfast for two people. The breakfast is a choice of eggs, cereal, fruit and bread with tea/coffee. Prices rise in high season and fall off from April.

Despite what's advertised on the website and listed in the Rough Guide, there are no massages at the moment (seems like some kind of run in with the authorities - probably not enough bribes!) Anyway, there are plenty of places locally to get a massage if that's your thing. Heaven Goa plans new massage rooms as soon as it gets planning permission for some new rooms on the site. As for the pizza that's mentioned in the Rough Guide: next year 'perhaps'. Other niggles are the lack of any hot water (solar heating planned to be installed this year) and fairly hard beds (an Indian speciality I feel). That said, at the end of a hot day, a shower in water that is tepid and not cold is actually just what you want.

Those small things aside, what you get for very little money indeed is a spotlessly clean room with plenty of space for hanging clothes, a large clean bathroom with a sink, toilet and shower and a bed with a good mosquito net. All rooms have a balcony or verandah that overlooks a paddy field and the coast beyond. Benaulim village is a 10 minute walk away, as is the beach. An auto rickshaw over that distance is Rs. 10-50 depending upon how good you are at haggling and how much you feel you need to pay tuk tuk drivers on dreadfully low pay. The beach nearest Heaven Goa is exceptionally quiet (at least in March) and stunningly pretty.

Karin and Sunil, who run the guest house, are very friendly and we were able to arrange everything beforehand by email. Whilst we were staying a number of people arrived to see whether rooms were available and it seemed like it was a bit of a 50/50 shot in March, so I figure that in peak season, pre-booking will be a must.

All in all, the small niggles of not having some of the additional features that are touted in the Rough Guide and cold showers are for me at least, inconsequential and I would happily go back to Heaven Goa.

  • Liked — Very clean and outstanding value for money.
  • Disliked — Nothing major, but beds were a bid hard.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank masaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2007

We stayed a week here, and it's great. The rooms are simply furnished and kept spotlessly clean, but its the view from your balcony over the water meadow that really elevates this place.
Its nicely located, about 10 minutes stroll from the town and the beach, and the staff there couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. They've got a small eating area, and serve the usual range of hot and cold drinks. In all this is one of the nicest places we've stayed in Goa, and an absolute bargain at R500.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaulim
1.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,995 reviews
1.4 mi away
Joecons Beach Resort
Joecons Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Benaulim
586 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baywatch Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Carina Beach Resort
Carina Beach Resort
#5 of 14 in Benaulim
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven Goa Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven Goa Guesthouse

Property: Heaven Goa Guesthouse
Address: H.No. 104/3 Ambeaxir Sernabatim | Sernabatim, Benaulim 403708, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette > Benaulim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Heaven Goa Guesthouse Hotel Benaulim
Heaven Goa Guesthouse Benaulim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing