We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise for Xmas and New Year....”
Review of Taj Exotica Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Exotica Goa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Benaulim
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A paradise for Xmas and New Year....”
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We have spent Xmas and New Year at this hotel regularly for the last 10 years. The location is superb - on a beautiful, clean, sandy stretch of peaceful South Goa. The staff were truely excellent, anticipating our every need, especially in the pool area. The rooms are solidly built and have all necessary amenities. The spa is very good and we had excellent private yoga classes (there are free public ones as well). There is also a popular Ayurvedic Centre which offers a range of treatments. The food had, in our opinion, improved this year but it remains very expensive when compared to what is available locally. We did feel that this hotel was over priced during the peak periods and we particularly resented having to pay a hefty price for the compulsory New Year's Eve Gala event, which we did not feel offered good value for money. We also felt that Internet access should be free in a hotel of this standard - as would be typical in America or Europe. Other than these small points, we had an excellent holiday and intend to return next year for more of the same.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy_moorefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,346
    499
    92
    35
    23
See reviews for
1,254
981
78
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We've been coming here fairly regularly for 10 years and love it but this year the hotel is full (first time in our experience apart from Xmas & New Year) and there are no where near enough sunbeds. This is causing a lot of tension between guests and staff. The hotelline is that the Goan Govt limits the number of beds they can put on the beach but the reality is there are acres of lawns that could accommodate enough beds for everyone. The staff at the coal face are brilliant but the management are clearly sitting on their hands and doing nothing to alleviate the problem. Pity to write a bad report for such a (normally) great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed from 18 December to 4 January 2010/11. I hardly need to add to the comments that have already been posted about how great this hotel is. I have been here three times, though the last time was 5 years ago. I am pleased and delighted that it is even better than before. The key thing is that the staff look after you in a way that I just haven't experienced with any other hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamblebury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

had a fab trip to taj, only spoilt by a 32 hour delay on the way there which meant only 5 nights there not 7. the service is the best i have ever experienced, the staff are so helpful and polite and went out of their way to help us when we had noise issues with our neighbours...
only not given 5 stars due to slightly over-priced drinks - around £5 for a small wine, but there are plenty of beach shacks with cheaper alternatives (sun and moon shack adjacent is very relaxing)
really enjoyed watching the staff cricket match, and the excellent xmas eve buffet was really enjoyable.. meals in both the chinese/thai and the italian restaurants were both excellent...
spa treatments were exceptionally good - fabulous massage

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelb1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Clean Excellent rooms.
Very good food (lunch buffet)
A bit far away from the cities, but manageable.
Did not sample the many facilities, as I was on a thin timeframe.
Would recommend it although it costs a pretty penny :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manuhegde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic 10 day stay at the Taj Exotica. The hotel is set within 56 acres of very well managed gardens, which include a small 9 hole golf course and a short 3 hole pitch and putt - for those who prefer a little action.
The beach area is quite something and stretches, quite literally for miles. We went in November and the sea was very calm and warm - perfect!
We arrived on the day of our 38th wedding anniversary and were pleasantly surprised to find an anniversary cake in our room followed by a presentation of flowers later in the day.
There are 5 restaurants at the hotel and as we were on a half board basis we ate every evening at the hotel. I have to say that the food quality and presentation was excellent in all restaurants. Our particular favourites were the Italian and the sea food restaurants which were excellent. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to ensure that you are comfortable with the service provided, the chef at each place came to speak to us every evening just to make sure things were ok.
During the day we tended to eat lunch at the nearby beach shack and again the food was very good and at an unbelievably low cost.
Both my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Exotica and are already planning to book again in 2011. The staff in particular are worthy of special praise - nothing was too much trouble and you were made to feel a welcome part of the family atmosphere that they promote.
Great hotel, great holiday - we will be back

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

My daughter and I spent a wonderful two week holiday at the Taj in Goa and could not, in all honesty, fault anything about it. The accommodation in a single storey bungalow was beautifully presented, spotless, clean and comfortable. Meals were a revelation with obvious care and attention both in the preparation and service offered. Staff could not do enough for us and nothing was too much trouble from the houseboy, laundry staff, Jiva Spa staff, porters, reception and concierge and restaurant staff. I loved every minute and would love to return again!! The location is perfect with an endless sandy beach (27km long) Marvellous warm sea with a gentle sloping entry to it. Quiet & relaxing...Aaahhhhh!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandieH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaulim
6.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,247 reviews
20.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
18.4 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,220 reviews
21.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 65 in Candolim
247 reviews
18.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Exotica Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Exotica Goa

Property: Taj Exotica Goa
Address: Benaulim 403 716, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Benaulim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Exotica Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south coast of Goa on the Benaulim beach, a mere 27 km from the airport, this 56 acre 140 room resort has a 700 meter beach frontage and a lovely view of the sea. With 3 specialty restaurants, a beach front seasonal seafood shack, a 24 hour all day diner, 2 bars, 2 spas and a seasonal outdoor spa pavilion, this resort is a popular haunt for the international as well as domestic travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Exotica Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Exotica Goa Benaulim
Taj Exotica Goa Hotel Benaulim
Taj Exotica Hotel Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing