We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderstruck by Taj hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Exotica Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taj Exotica Goa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Benaulim
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderstruck by Taj hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at the Taj Exotica for 4 nights in the last week of September. I know it is a late review but I wanted to check out for myself whether I can recollect the names of the people who made our stay a memorable one. And would you believe, I can :-) Starting from Melroy & Anil the Kitchen Champions, to Manoj (F&B Champion), Ashok (Housekeeping Champion), Laveen and Dhiraj in the Miguel Arcanjo and Narayana in the coffee shop, they made our holiday feel very special. We had taken two rooms (Deluxe Sea Facing) and had insisted during reservations, that we wanted a clear sea facing room. We were thrilled to find a room which had a clear view of the sea and during the early morning and night, you could as well as hear the song sung by the sea waves. At the time of reservation, I had mentioned that our our 6 months old son will be with us . My wife was very concerned before the trip and reminded me several times to check with the hotel if they are geared up to handle the special needs that might be required. When I called up the hotel, they replied saying that they specialised in 'Infant services' which I had initially thought is another gimmick. However post check in we realised that it was not a thoughtless statement that they had made. Ashok who handles the Housekeeping of the floor where we were put up, came up with a baby cot with pillows, blanket, mattresses and ofcourse a cute bunny for my Son. We were promptly provided with a baby bath tub and a small stool and to be honest we had not expected that a hotel would keep this provision. Each day our son would get sweet compliments from the team, which unfortunately he could not have as he was too small. The room was a very spacious one and had all the luxuries that you could ask for. A big LCD television, study table with chair, tea and coffee maker, sofa, balcony with two bamboo chairs and table, steam iron with ironing table, wardrobes. They have an elaborate pillow menu. You could also request for Room freshners should you like ( I would suggest that they install a automatic room freshner in all rooms). By the way there was no bad odour in the rooms that we requested for room freshners. The bathroom is very spacious and they have separate sectins for the loo, bath tub & shower area. We requested for bath salts and bubble bath and we got it. There was a problem in our room, and it was that the floors were getting moist and that made the floors wet and slippery. On informing them , they promptly acted. Finally they put a machine which absorbed all the moisture. The machine was with us for the entire stay. Miguel Arcanjo, the Italian restaurant is a must visit. Laveena used to additionally take care of our son while we used to dine. I had shown my desire to eat a crab and Melroy not only procurred that specially for us from the local market but also cooked a excellent dish of our choice. On learning that we were epicurean, and that my wife loved cooking, he provided us with a lot of local recipes alongwith some local spices and paste (thank you so much Mellroy for the beautiful experience). The JIva spa is a must visit. They have a section where they take care to entertain the toddles and little angels. The section is managed by an Child expert. Each day they used to provide us with a one page activity sheet which used to inform us about all the planned events for the day. The first time, I came to know of an IT Butler too. This person would download a movie that you wish to watch incase that was not available in their video library. Only the newly screened movies were out of the list. The property is huge (probably 53 acres) and has a beautiful pond. We fed the geese and the fish out there ( they give you free bread to feed the fish and geese should you want to). They have their own private beach. Unfortunately there were no beach chairs during the time we visited and the famous lobster shack which we had heard so much was also not operational. I can go on and on talking about the experiences which made our stay memorable. Nonetheless please feel free to contact me if you have a specific question and I will be happy to answer, should I know about it.

Room Tip: Should you want a room with a clear sea view please mention that while you make the reservations. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SudeeptoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajExoticaGoa, Manager at Taj Exotica Goa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
At the outset I would like to thank you very much for your feedback posted on trip advisor.

I have conveyed your gracious words of appreciation to all my team members which I am certain will be a source of motivation for each one of us to further excel in our journey to delight our esteemed guests.

Guest feedback is a pre-eminent barometer for us to measure our performance and in this instance I am pleased to note that we met and surpassed your expectations. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your pleasant experience at Taj Exotica.

Do let me know of your future travel plans and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Taj Exotica.

Thanking you and assuring you of our best of attention and services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,167
    487
    88
    35
    23
See reviews for
1,135
938
73
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Taj Exotica for 4 days of luxury at the end of month long India trip. We loved the beach (so clean and warm) as well the breakfasts. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff are friendly and the gardens and golf course are all well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajExoticaGoa, Manager at Taj Exotica Goa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback . We are pleased to note you had an enjoyable 4 day stay at the hotel and enjoyed breakfast, the gardens and the golf greens.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Exotica Goa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Honeymoon experience..it was offseason so got a huge discount on a private plunge pool villa and it included the meals and the airport transfers..did not feel like leaving the hotel to see the city.enjoyed the spa.a total pampering experience

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank floppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajExoticaGoa, Manager at Taj Exotica Goa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback . We are glad to note you had an enjoyable and pampered stay at the hotel and left with a lot of happy memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Exotica Goa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is an ideal place to rekindle the romance if you already have a mate or to start the romance for the newly weds. The property is situated in South Goa, away from the crowded North Goa and Panaji. Property is overlooking the beach (so is kind of private beach) with not much crowd and you will get all the water sports activities (parasailing, banana ride, surfing, water scooter etc.) as well on your door steps.

The hotel staff freindliness was exceptional and its menu was also fantastic. The only flip side is that it is heavier on your pocket but worth the experience!!

Room Tip: Get a Room near the pool as it is a very convinient location to access all hotel facitilies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajExoticaGoa, Manager at Taj Exotica Goa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to note you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and our food and services met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Exotica Goa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Taj Exotica during September 2013 and booked the Garden View Villa with sitting area for our stay. It was a great room with excellent view of the sprawling garden with Squirrels and birds - where I managed to click some awesome photographs.

The experience started right at the gate where we were welcomed by the security staff and drove right into the main lobby greeted by the front office staff. The singers sang for us while our photo was taken - which left me wondering why! The check in procedure was a cake walk, while we had our welcome drink and were shown to our room. The room was lovely with a superb bathroom.

We enjoyed the property and the beach right off the property where we took some great photos of the birds, the sunset and a lot of shells - which are a treat to see in Indian beaches. We then were amazed by the entertainment of the very talented jugglers who struck the guests with awe. We had the prawn curry and rice for dinner and the waiter who served us did his best and we enjoyed the meal and his service.

We slept well on the cosy-est beds ever and I was surprised to see a menu for pillows and the photo they took of us earlier in the day printed on edible chocolate in a chocolate frame! This was personalization at its best.

The next day we cycled across the property and that was amazing - we looked at every corner of the property and enjoyed the koi ponds at several parts and clicked good photos, we also managed to spot and click a kingfisher! We also tried our hand at Archery and the quick magic trick by the Manager of Activities.

On check out, we were presented with a photo frame with our photo by the Taj team, the same photo they took of us during Check in - this was taking our holiday to new heights which was much appreciated. The reception staff also offered to pack a cake or sandwiches for our journey to North Goa, I mean which other hotel does this to make its guests feel over the moon.

We left with very happy memories and a lot of appreciation for the entire Taj Exotica team. We are sure to recommend and come back to stay again!

Room Tip: Choose the Garden Villa rooms, they are the best. Easy on your pocket and have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dev_Ooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajExoticaGoa, Manager at Taj Exotica Goa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and appreciation of the associates at the hotel. We are pleased to note you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and you have left with a lot of happy memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Exotica Goa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumkur, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed for a night at the Taj Exotica and left very unhappy as we couldn't stay longer. 20 hours hardly does justice to this amazing out of the world place!!

We checked in and were greeted very warmly and taken to our villa in a buggy, which was pretty cute! The room was excellent and overlooked a well kept garden. We rested for a little while and went for a stroll around the property and landed on the beach which was super clean and was hardly crowded. There are water sports one can do on the beach too.

We then had a coffee near the swimming pool and went around to explore some more. They have an amazing arrangement for kids with a dedicated teacher and scheduled classes for arts and crafts. One can play pool and table tennis and we played both for an hour each. We got back to the room and got ready for dinner. On our way back to the villa, we found hammocks all around the property, free for everyone to use.

All 4 restaurants serve good food. We wanted a table by the beach but found out one had to intimate the F&B manager a little in advance for them to make the necessary arrangements. There was a live band at dinner and the music was fantastic!! We then were lying on a hammock under the stars for almost 20 minutes with no one disturbing us and that was probably the best time ever!

The property lends you cycles to ride around and we took a couple of them next morning and kept riding through. We went back to the beach and then had breakfast. With a heavy heart we had to check out but are sure we will come back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepthi_284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajExoticaGoa, Manager at Taj Exotica Goa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank You for your feedback. We are glad to note that you enjoyed all the facilities provided by the hotel and had a wonderful stay
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Exotica Goa in the near future for a longer stay at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

One of the Worst Holidays of ours and thanks to Taj Exotica! They ruined our anniversary and we checked out of the hotel before completed our designated stay
This hotels slips down the Hotel bills (totally unasked for) one night before you check out through the Hotel front door. They don’t even call you or hand it over in person.. slip it down.The travel desk doesn’t believe in helping out when you ask a query, bcos she isn’t interested in answering and that too in a rude way. The Housekeeping wants to change the bulb in the bathroom right on your anniversary day and right when you are in the Tub
These are few good ways Taj exotica treats you and especially if you are there for celebrating a special days… They have absolute no sense of courtesy, no sense of service and above all act rude ! they are experts in ruining your well planned holiday and they express no regrets about it
The hotel staff are extremely unresponsive, they have no clue about addressing any issues.
The restaurants staff also follow all other dept people, very unresponsive and least bothered in attending to guests.. Rooms are old, property itself is a old one...
The managers - less said about them the better.. Have never ever seen such a highhanded, bad & Pathetic Taj Service hotel in my life !
Even after mentioning all these to the GM there, he just drops in a courtesy mail and that's it, wants us to forget all about it !! got to know that he is pretty famous for his high handed approach in his earlier stint too...
For all the travelling i have done and numerous Taj properties that i have stayed at, you get such a welcoming feeling in most of the properties.. Exotica you feel the inverse !!
Well my advice is that - THIS HOTEL DOESNT DESERVE ITS TAG OF AN LUXURY PROPERTY !
Its just a Overhyped beach property !

Room Tip: Well simply try some other property !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Srikanth_Iyer1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajExoticaGoa, Manager at Taj Exotica Goa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
“Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay in August – September at Taj Exotica Goa. I regret that your experience did not match up to your expectations.
I apologise on behalf of the hotel and the entire team for your less than satisfactory experience. Kindly allow me to address the specific issues you experienced during the stay.
It is part of our standard operating procedure to provide the preview bill a night prior to checkout to ensure a smooth and fast checkout process for our guests as was indicated in the covering letter attached to the preview bill.
Unfortunately, the services provided by our travel desk do not include hiring a scooter on rent. You will acknowledge however, that the Duty Manager went out of his way to make necessary arrangements for a scooter on rent just for you.
You will also acknowledge that the housekeeping staff attempted to replace the fused bulb above the vanity counter as part of the turndown service and had rung the bell to your room since the privacy lights were not switched on. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused in this regard.
Your comments regarding the demeanour and behaviour of our staff are certainly not typical and this has already been taken up with the concerned team.

You may also recollect that we did not levy a room charge (including meals) to you on 1st September in Vivanta by Taj, Panaji considering your less than satisfactory experience at Taj Exotica. Our team also tried in various small ways to make your experience more memorable. I have also spoken to you personally, apologising for the experience, over phone and I believe our Bangalore sales team has also been in touch with you regarding the same.

I also apologise for our inability to accommodate your request for a complimentary stay for 3 nights at Rambagh Palace, Jaipur in lieu of your experience at Taj Exotica Goa. I would like to thank for your faith in the Taj group and reassure you that we make every effort to uphold our high service standards. I sincerely hope that the few misunderstandings that cropped up during your stay here are now resolved.

I would request you to kindly treat this incident as a one off aberration and give us another opportunity to be of value to you."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaulim
6.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
20.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
18.4 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 38 in Salcette District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
18.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Exotica Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Exotica Goa

Property: Taj Exotica Goa
Address: Benaulim 403 716, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Salcette District > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Benaulim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Exotica Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south coast of Goa on the Benaulim beach, a mere 27 km from the airport, this 56 acre 140 room resort has a 700 meter beach frontage and a lovely view of the sea. With 3 specialty restaurants, a beach front seasonal seafood shack, a 24 hour all day diner, 2 bars, 2 spas and a seasonal outdoor spa pavilion, this resort is a popular haunt for the international as well as domestic travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Exotica Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Exotica Goa Benaulim
Taj Exotica Goa Hotel Benaulim
Taj Exotica Hotel Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing