We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure delight!”
Review of Taj Exotica Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Exotica Goa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Benaulim
Certificate of Excellence
Dhanbad, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pure delight!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

An absolute delight. The food at Eugene is amazing, but what takes this place to a different level is the amazing, personalised and "generous" service. Met a manager called "Kampala" who offered his assistance. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vagabondsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajExoticaGoa, Manager at Taj Exotica Goa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your words of praise for the personalized service received as well as the food at the Eugenia We look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Exotica Goa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,255
    497
    90
    35
    23
See reviews for
1,183
971
76
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi (Delhi), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The property is really beautiful - right on the beach. Had a wonderful overall experience as the food, rooms and all facilities were very good. This is what you actually expect from a Taj property.

The resort is right on the beach and one can easily walk down from their room. There is also a 3 -hole and a 9-hole golf range. The swimming pool was very nice with water temp and air temp displayed outside the pool. The staff was friendly and courteous.

We only had one negative experience at time of check-in. As we went during pre-season period - some maintenance work was going on. We faced a problem with our room, i.e. muddy water in the taps. It took the hotel 1 hour to get us a replacement room at 11:30 in the night.

Other than this the overall experience was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harsh_Dhanuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajExoticaGoa, Manager at Taj Exotica Goa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
At the onset we would like to thank you for your feedback. We have made a note of your adverse experience during check in as well as the delay in allotting you a new room. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. We would request you to treat this as a one of aberration and give us another opportunity to be of value to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Exotica Goa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent four nights at the Exotica property on my very first visit to Goa last week. Needless to say we experienced top-notch customer service and luxury par excellence throughout our stay. We were offered an upgrade to a larger room facing the ocean which made our stay much more pleasant although I am sure the other rooms are quite nice too.

The hotel grounds are well maintained and ideal for a leisurely walk or bike ride in the evenings. The beach is a stone's throw away from the hotel and is the cleanest stretch of sand that I have seen in India so far. The beach area right in front of the Taj is also relatively less crowded so it is ideal for spending quality time with family with activities like beach volley ball or building sand castles with the younger ones.

With regards to activities organized by the hotel they are varied and enough to keep you within the resort for a whole week. Most of these are complementary. There is pottery making, seashell art and bamboo craft for the arty types and archery, golf, tennis, swimming for the sporty ones. The hotel also organizes shows every evening. We saw fire-eaters, hoop dancing and magic shows while we were there. The children's centre also organized fish feeding at the fish pond (yes they have a little pond within the property)- our son had a blast feeding the ducks and fish. If you do get bored there is a good DVD and book library on site.

With regards to food the Taj does very well again, with the sumptuous breakfast buffet spread at the all-day dining as well as fine dining at the Italian place Miguel Aranjco.

The best part of our stay at the Taj was that our 2-year old enjoyed it much more than we did. Friendly staff thoroughly indulged our hard-to-please toddler throughout with personalized treats and gifts. They have an excellent childcare centre called Tex which is stocked with toys, books and lots more with a couple of caregivers present all the time. Older kids (3+) can be left at this centre while parents enjoy a swim or a game of tennis. Also there is so much space for kids to run around or ride a bike and its all green and clean so no worries there. They have a little kiddy pool with a water slide which is awesome for the older kids.

Perhaps the only downside we felt was that the Taj Exotica is not in the more touristy part of town which means you cannot walk out and find a good restaurant. However this encouraged us to rent a scooter and try out some great restaurants at a distance, so I won't complain. There are a couple of supermarkets near the Taj which took care of our daily needs.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay and hope to visit again. I highly recommend this property especially for families visiting Goa on longer trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SindyVish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajExoticaGoa, Manager at Taj Exotica Goa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to note that you had a comfortable stay with your family especially the small child, and the services and facilities measured up to your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you all back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Exotica - a synonym for Luxury, Comfort and Pampering. The hotel takes care of your every need right from the moment you land to Goa Airport. The welcome is warm as always with Taj. The rooms are neat and tidy. Bed is cozy and comfortable. The property is very well maintained. It hosts a lot of activities for kids and adults. The swimming pool is very clean and the facilities are excellent. Spa is another jewel in the crown. Beach is neat and also have water sports. The restaurants are nice and the taste is very well served as per the guests need. The hotel does not provide a free wifi which I think is good otherwise guest would be busy socializing even on a holiday in such a nice resort.
The amount the hotel charges seems too much at the time of booking but when you depart you feel that every penny spent was worth.

Room Tip: Go for Villas on the 3rd Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harshkrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I spent three nights at this Taj property in Sept 2013. It was my son's birthday and the staff made all efforts to make it special for us. The property itself is very nice and this is a very child-friendly place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportsandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Taj Exotica is brilliant at pampering – right from the check in point where we were ushered to a plush couch and offered cold towels and kokum drinks while the check in got magically done in the background. Our daughter was already being fussed over by a couple of staff members with gift-boxed chocolate and activity sheets. We upgraded to a pool villa when we discovered that it was not a room by a pool, but a room WITH a pool! They took us to the room by buggy – the room was huge – not modern state of the art like Hyatt, but more of the traditional luxury type - spacious, with a porch overlooking our very own pool and hammock and the well-appointed bathroom has a bathtub.

For kids, there are plenty of activities ranging from pottery to cookie baking to archery to movies. For adults, there's a nine-hole golf course and the Jiva spa for men and women - the ultimate in luxury care - I recommend the spa highly. The breakfast buffet was quite good. But the best thing about the Taj is that they are absolutely mad about kids. Every evening, they sent a plate of cookies and sweets in the evening with my daughter's name inscribed on a gift card. Every morning, they gave her a gift chocolate box after the buffet. . Every evening, even on weekdays, the lobby is a venue for an act – magic show, juggling show, hula hoop dancing show – so basically, my daughter wasn’t bored for a minute. And the kids centre staff is good too.

On our last morning, at breakfast, the restaurant manager came and chatted for a bit. When we said we were driving back to Mumbai, he brought us a food packet for my daughter with fruits, croissants, donuts, banana bread, etc. Such a lovely gesture!

Location-wise, it's next to a great beach which is almost empty in the mornings. There aren't too many dining options nearby, but if you don’t mind a 20 minute drive, Jaimie’s at Colva and Fisherman’s Wharf are great places to eat. We went to Martin’s Corner too but the food there didn’t live up to the hype.

The Taj Exotica doesn't come cheap and the rooms don't have that state-of-the-art finish or modern feel like Grand Hyatt but for luxury service and child care, they are simply unbeatable. Go ahead and book here - I cannot imagine anyone leaving unsatisfied.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with kids, go for the pool villa - each room comes with an outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveljunkie_Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was the last little gem of our tour of india and we saved the best until last. Three days here washed away the dust of the cities and allowed us to immerse in some luxuary. The spa facilities was fabulous and we were well looked after. We ate at the italian as well as the chinese restaurant saving their indian restaurant for the last night - exquisite food. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaulim
6.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
20.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
18.4 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
4.3 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 38 in Salcette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
18.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Exotica Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Exotica Goa

Property: Taj Exotica Goa
Address: Benaulim 403 716, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Benaulim
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Exotica Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south coast of Goa on the Benaulim beach, a mere 27 km from the airport, this 56 acre 140 room resort has a 700 meter beach frontage and a lovely view of the sea. With 3 specialty restaurants, a beach front seasonal seafood shack, a 24 hour all day diner, 2 bars, 2 spas and a seasonal outdoor spa pavilion, this resort is a popular haunt for the international as well as domestic travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Exotica Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Exotica Goa Benaulim
Taj Exotica Goa Hotel Benaulim
Taj Exotica Hotel Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing