We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Taj Exotica Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taj Exotica Goa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Benaulim
Certificate of Excellence
Surat
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wonderful stay nd excellent food, specially at Algeria restaurant for Goan Food @ Taj. Location is perfect, food is good, rooms are nice & tidy, hotel staff very helpfull. Nice place to have vacations

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vmangrola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,352
    499
    92
    35
    23
See reviews for
1,256
981
79
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very attractive low-rise environment set in around 46 hectares of grounds looking over the sea with palm groves, gently undulating lawns and its own stretch of - very clean - beach.
Apparently the extensive gardens are tended by a team of 45 specialists – with beautiful results!
All the accoutrements you would expect from a Taj property – super efficient, fabulous service and everyone is super nice to you all the time without being peritonising – and always really accommodating.
You certainly feel pampered and special and it’s a great place to relax and also to base the office for a while!
It’s would be relatively easy to hide away and not come into contact with the rough and tumble of ‘real’ India which is just outside the gates and the grounds … however, I didn’t do that!
The room décor (I booked a standard deluxe room) is a bit old hat for me to be honest .. but it was liveable with! The room was big enough – ours had a sea view – and I think all of them have a private balcony space. It’s a property where you can have enough privacy if you want it .. and also enjoy the plethora of amenities right there on your doorstep!
Hammocks strung between the palm trees in the garden just outside our balcony were a real hit – the ultimate in relaxation and keeping cool – being that air can easily circulate all around you!
Minor annoyances in the room included not enough hooks on which to hang towels .. or your clothes whilst having a bath (this seems a really common ‘lack’ win hotels – maybe you’re just supposed to throw everything down on the floor, etc.!), and the AC took a bit of mastering to avoid the room turning into a cold storage unit!
The internet was excellent – fast and wide – although it was chargeable – so I made sure out of principal that I gave it a good hammering for the 6 days I was there!
My Mum and I visited Eugenia the coffee shop, the Lobster Pot beach bar and restaurant right on the edge of the sands and also the Bar Adega just off the lobby – all of which were excellent for food, drinks and service. The second visit to Adega, they had put vodka in the freezer for me! Spot on!
It’s ideal to use as a base to explore other parts of southern and central Goa, nothing is very far by car and there’s no shortage of activities and places to visit.
You can either book the hotel cars .. or a more cost-effective option is to walk outside the front gates and cut a deal with one of the drivers on the taxi stand there.
The only thing I was slightly unimpressed with at the Taj one of the travel desk staff who claimed that there was nowhere to go horse-riding in Goa when we asked ….
Of course … there was! There is a stables right next door to Greenlands restaurant in Majorda and the young guy fronting it currently has four horses, one of which is an tall chestnut ex racehorse from Mumbai called King!
In fact, the same Travel Desk staff member had also not heard of Greenlands, which seemed a little odd as according to all the guide books and taxi drivers, it’s been a local landmark for some years!
Maybe I was mumbling! Somehow I expected the Taj Travel Desk staff to be a bit more clued up!
Apart from that the service was absolutely exemplary - stunningly Tajesque!
The pool was good – I didn’t use it, but my Mum did – it was big enough not to be on top of other people … even so, the best times were first thing in the morning to get more space! There’s also a 9 hole golf course, giant chess set, cycling and various other activities going on inside the resort if you want to stay there and seek alternatives from basting on the beach!
I’d definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone wanting tip-top service in the area!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are part of the main hotel, Private Villas - some with pools - are distributed arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Taj exotica is a wonderful resort. charming people will welcome you and pampered you for the rest of toiur stay. Pool and seaside are magnificent. Some more bed is the beach would improve a bit. Several restaurenats with different options from spicy to italian or just international burger.
You can even play golf in the resort. Do not miss the SPA and the ayurvedic experience.
All in all good value for money for a 5-start hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjfm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I know it would be a while since i wrote a review for this hotel , after my amazing one of the most memorable , unforgettable loving honeymoon . The way they greeted us , with an early check in , the wonderful welcome drink , the amazing Spa , the outstanding buffet , every person from Freddie , to Prassana , to the GM ... the love that my family recieved was out of this world . carrying a Baby was never so simple . The Milk bottles were there when we needed them , the milk was made to perfection , the golf cart was there always in no time .. it was simply the stay i wished ... Thank you Taj Exotica as i would never forget every minute of my lavish wonderful stay at your outstanding resort . I would give you 7 stars for the service and shall always stay with you if i am traveling to GOA .

Room Tip: Plunge pool ... take the plunge pool ... take the private plunge pool .. its worth it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptUnmeshD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I spent some time at Taj exotica as part of Deccan Odyssey trip. The location and the property are just awesome with lovely beach and green spaces. The service though was pathetic, it took them 45 mins to get a one-dinet drink. There were limited options for vegetarians, and whatever was there was also inaccessible. There are absolute chaos at the buffet. This could be one off day when service was bad, to give them the benefit of doubt.

Room Tip: If you cab get beach view rooms, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnuradhaGoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great Place to stay - very courteous staff and cosy rooms.
Get a beach facing suite, it makes it just perfect. The restaurants are good. The choice with food could be better though. You have a cafe and couple of restaurants.

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms - you can sit in Balconies and enjoy the sea breeze and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karthik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great hotel and staff. Excellent property. Great maintenance of gardens. Exceptional restaurants especially Li Bai, the chinese restaurant. We were skeptical of a Chinese restaurant and tried it only on our third night. But then got hooked and ate for the rest of 4 nights at the same place. Of all the restaurants here, this offers great value. Even though they are costly, I found them worth the money and didn't dare to eat outside.

The pool, children's slide are very good and well maintained. The sunscreen lotion and other accessories are kept free which is a nice touch.

Their spa is excellent.

Room Tip: The villas outside main building offer quiet time but might need a buggy during hot days to reach lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmmurali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaulim
6.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,250 reviews
18.4 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
20.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,228 reviews
21.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 65 in Candolim
249 reviews
18.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Exotica Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Exotica Goa

Property: Taj Exotica Goa
Address: Benaulim 403 716, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Benaulim
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Exotica Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south coast of Goa on the Benaulim beach, a mere 27 km from the airport, this 56 acre 140 room resort has a 700 meter beach frontage and a lovely view of the sea. With 3 specialty restaurants, a beach front seasonal seafood shack, a 24 hour all day diner, 2 bars, 2 spas and a seasonal outdoor spa pavilion, this resort is a popular haunt for the international as well as domestic travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Exotica Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Exotica Goa Benaulim
Taj Exotica Goa Hotel Benaulim
Taj Exotica Hotel Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing